We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Village Hotel Liverpool
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whiston
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“bad experience”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Room cold, window faulty (wouldnt close) room was above function room so very loud music all night. Bath was made for a small child. Double bed was 2 singles pushed together. Room was near the door for the floor so was banging all night. Due to window being broken we could hear the motorway clearly. The only plus point was the restaurant. Good food and excellent staff. Would never stay here agin deeply disappointed.

Room Tip: Dont accept room 211 its terrible
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damien b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    288
    297
    199
    158
See reviews for
215
521
51
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Stayed at the hotel last weekend and had a brilliant time. From the moment we arrived the staff were all extremely helpful and friendly. The room was spacious, spotlessly clean and comfortable. We used the swimming pool, steam room, sauna etc which were all fab. We had dinner which was really tasty. The breakfast was delicious. It was lovely and fresh and freshly cooked food was put out frequently. The only down side was the cost of drink, a glass of wine was over £6! I read a few reviews before we stayed which said the hotel was dated and tired but i would not agree. Parts of the hotel were being painted whilst we were there. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LB1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huyton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Had a meal at the restaurant, after previous visit, but was very disappointed. The steak main course had a weird texture. The steak was the butcher choice "diaphram" steak. We will not be visiting again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Whiston hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night on 22nd of February. Booked a double room at an extortionate £95 per night and arrived at hotel to find we'd been given a twin room with the beds pushed together. I fell through the bed twice during the night, woke up to have a COLD shower and to top it off the cleaners tried to access our room at 10.45 while I'm standing there naked trying to get changed. I stayed in a London hotel just before Christmas and at just £50 more than this dump we had 5 star treatment. Overrated, overpriced and totally unprofessional.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Colledge69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

After realising and accepting that my half term holiday was not going to be spent in some hot tropical location, the family settled on a mini break to Europe's once Capital of Culture, Liverpool.

Whilst I understand and somewhat agree with previous comments about the hotel being tired and not on a par with other De Vere hotels, I think the staff, customer service and all round value for money, more than compensate.

The staff really were amazing and couldn't do enough to help. They switched our rooms on day 2 because our 'family' room was adjacent to the stairwell and lift. They did this willingly without making us feel awkward or uncomfortable. The restaurant and bar staff were brilliant as were the staff in the leisure and pool complex.

The kids loved it, my husband was happy and I was able to relax and enjoy some quality family time.

Room Tip: Request a hotel towards the end of a corridor and therefore further away from the main thoroughfare.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisaullyart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Very friendly staff on reception and in the restaurant. We stayed 2 nights as I was on a course nearby.

Room had an adjoining door, with about a 2 inch gap underneath and the couple next door were having a domestic when we arrived. We could hear every word like they were in the room with us!

Fortunately reception allocate us a different room straight away.

Although no adjoining door, room was dated, bathroom cramped with a very loud extractor. Towels had seen better days and the bed linen smelt damp and musty. Couldn't open window.

Dinner had a reasonable selection of food and although we went to dinner late, the restaurant was nearly closing, staff did not rush us or appear angry. Food was good.
Second night we ate in the bar, similar choice of food to restaurant but cheaper.

Breakfast good choice hot/cold options. Provided adequate selection.

Spa was good with jacuzzi, pool and steam room. Staff on reception were helpful and friendly.

Probably wouldn't stay here again. However it did serve a purpose of being close to the course I was attending.
Very surprised that De Vere put their name to this hotel. This is not a De Vere.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank staremesto7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M, General Manager at Village Hotel Liverpool, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear staremesto7,

Thank you for submitting your feedback following your recent stay at Village Liverpool. I am pleased that overall the staff and food made your experience a positive one, but apologise that you did not feel the hotel itself lived up to expectations.

If you would like to discuss the issues encountered any further, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Kind regards
Sarah McNally
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Had a fantastic night , upon arrival, we where net by a lovely gentleman who showed us through, the food and staff where incredible, the entertainment was the best ever , cannot fault it , and I've booked again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dawnie2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M, General Manager at Village Hotel Liverpool, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Dawnie2502,

Thank you for submitting feedback following your recent stay at Village Liverpool. I am pleased you had such a good evening and we look forward to welcoming you back for your upcoming party night.

Kind regards
Sarah McNally
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whiston
5.1 mi away
Suites Hotel & Spa -  Knowsley
8.1 mi away
Village Hotel Wirral
Village Hotel Wirral
#1 of 3 in Bromborough
1,555 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Village Hotel Warrington
Village Hotel Warrington
#9 of 21 in Warrington
1,783 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Knowsley
4.5 mi away
Mercure St Helens
Mercure St Helens
#3 of 3 in St Helens
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Liverpool

Property: Village Hotel Liverpool
Address: Fallows Way, Whiston, Knowsley L35 1RZ, England (Formerly De Vere Village Hotel, Liverpool)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Knowsley > Whiston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whiston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Liverpool 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Liverpool is situated just 400 yards from the main junction of the M57and M62 motorways and is a great base for exploring the busy centres of Liverpool and Warrington. Located near to Whiston and Lime Street Stations it is ideal for quick access to Liverpool City Centre and Liverpool John Lennon Airport is just 8 miles away. Village Hotel Liverpool has 63 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, a cafe, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Squash Court, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Village Hotel Liverpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Village Hotel, Liverpool Hotel Whiston
Village Hotel Leisure Liverpool
Village Hotel Whiston
Village Hotel Liverpool Whiston, Merseyside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing