We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Village Hotel Liverpool

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Village Hotel Liverpool
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whiston
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awful”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Only staying one night , it wasn't good. The beer in the pub was truly AWFUL, I was told that glass washer was broken and had been for some time and the management had no intention of fixing it.i would have thought that if you are paying up to 5 pounds for one drink you would expect clean glasses. The staff could only apologise. A clear case of very very poor management. Dirty glasses meant I went elsewhere for food, didn't trust the kitchen !

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bellyfull001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    245
    245
    157
    143
See reviews for
182
422
41
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

This is the second time we've stayed at the De Vere Village Hotel.
The staff are very friendly and professional. The evening meal we had in the restaurant was very good and breakfast the following morning likewise. Not keen on buffet type breakfasts but understand the business model. All the hot items were fresh, good quality and well cooked.
The accommodation is standard budget hotel, we were in room 219, but very comfortable, clean, spacious and provided all that was required. The free WiFi is an added plus. We would return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

16 of us attended this restaurant recently for a family meal, the girls serving were excellent, but the food was not, I had a Butchers choice steak, which was cremated and tough, it arrived on a large plate with a small cone of what were described as skinny chips, I was extremely dissapointed by this meal, this restaurant is trying to be fine dining and failing to acheive that, the other members of my party were equally dissapointed, and I think in future we will go to J.D.Wetherspoons where I have had superior quality of food at a more realistic price.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

My best friend booked this break as a chance for us to have a catch up as we both work and have families. It was a Groupon deal and so we thought it was really good value.

Room - standard hotel fare. Double bed rather than the twin we ordered. Clean and everything worked as it should so we were happy.

Food - good quality. We both really enjoyed our evening meal and breakfast was great too. No complaints.

Staff - the one thing that stood out in our trip. From reception to the restaurant the staff were excellent. Very welcoming and professional. A special mention to lovely Amy who had worked all evening til 1am but was there smiling (in spite of a full restaurant and an absent manager) to welcome us to breakfast. She deserves recognition for her fabulous attitude.

Would definitely return. Thank you all.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
89 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Stayed overnight after buying a deal on Groupon for 3 course evening meal, room with bed and breakfast for £69. Had stayed here previously over a year ago as a couple.
The hotel is situated next to a junction on the m62 about 20 minute drive from liverpool city centre. Ample free parking.
Checkin was good and the room was very comfortable and pleasant. Bed was comfy.
I note on some trip advisor reviews that some reviewers pay attention to detail in rooms such as cracks in tiles, etc and this make a big difference to some people. If you are this type of person you would have probably been a bit annoyed by a crack in the sink and a few marks on the table in the room and cupboard - the room could probably do with a refurbishment. However this type of minor thing did not affect my experience and considering what you pay I would never complain!
There is a lovely reception area with comfy seating, nice bar for drinks.
The restaurant was pleasant - not very intimate but the set menu was good and very tasty for the deal that we had. Service was good.
The following day we hadf breakfast which was a buffet all you can eat of good standard.
We made use of the gym, swimming pool , sauna and steam room which were a pleasant experience.
I recommend this hotel for a pleasant overnight break if you want a premier inn standard hotel with all the extras of a swimming pool and gym............

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ATM_Liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level Contributor
388 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

This is my 2nd time of staying here (business). Nice BIG carpark though be prepared to walk as most spaces taken up from gym members. Checkin on both occasions was efficent and friendly. Rooms are of a decent size and tbh in ok condition, though there was a foisty smell on both occasions. For a room where I'll sleep and relax....its ok. First time I ate in the restaurant and it was very nice. Quiet atmosphere. 2nd time I ate in the adjacent bar and again, the food (burger & chips) was respectable. Both sites had Wifi access so I could work at same time. Breakfast and in particular the girls waiting on were superb. Efficent and friendly. Breakfast (cooked English) was a good 7/10.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Crazysurfkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
232 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

This is a cheap hotel, by a motorway, on the outskirts of Liverpool so expectations were low. On arrival to the hotel the staff at the front desk were welcoming, charming and helpful. Our room was spacious, clean, light and airy. The bathroom however was absolutely disgusting. A wall of mildew and damp stench hit you on entry, towels had 'brown' stains and the tub tiles were caked in mould. The shower head wasn't touchable due to mould spores covering the entirety of it! The longer we were in the room the worse the bathroom began to smell. There was a large orange coloured stain in the centre of the bath and wife found a pubic hair on her towel.
I would neither stay here again or recommend anyone else to stay here in the future.

Disgusting.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Amaka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whiston
8.2 mi away
Village Hotel Wirral
Village Hotel Wirral
#1 of 3 in Bromborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
17.8 mi away
Village Hotel Chester St David's
5.0 mi away
Suites Hotel & Spa -  Knowsley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Liverpool (Roby) Hotel
9.0 mi away
Village Hotel Warrington
Village Hotel Warrington
#11 of 21 in Warrington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,511 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Liverpool (Tarbock) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Liverpool

Property: Village Hotel Liverpool
Address: Fallows Way, Whiston, Knowsley L35 1RZ, England (Formerly De Vere Village Hotel, Liverpool)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Knowsley > Whiston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whiston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Liverpool 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Liverpool is situated just 400 yards from the main junction of the M57and M62 motorways and is a great base for exploring the busy centres of Liverpool and Warrington. Located near to Whiston and Lime Street Stations it is ideal for quick access to Liverpool City Centre and Liverpool John Lennon Airport is just 8 miles away. Village Hotel Liverpool has 63 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, a cafe, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Squash Court, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Village Hotel Liverpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Village Hotel, Liverpool Hotel Whiston
Village Hotel Leisure Liverpool
Village Hotel Whiston
Village Hotel Liverpool Whiston, Merseyside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing