We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Crap :-(” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Village Hotel Liverpool

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Village Hotel Liverpool
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whiston
South Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Crap :-(”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed with work for 1 night.
Rooms hot, stuffy and dated.
No bottled water or biscuits in the room.
Broken hairdryer.
We ate in the restaurant and the food was terrible. I went to bed hungry and skipped breakfast as I could face another rubbish meal.
Won't ever stay again

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank Luluboo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike D, General Manager at Village Hotel Liverpool, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Geminizc,

Thank you for your feedback.

Please accept my apologies that your recent stay was not up to standard. We would like to discuss this further with you and hopefully rectify these problems. If possible could you please contact Kayleigh on 0151 449 2341.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    244
    245
    157
    143
See reviews for
182
420
41
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

I attended a party night here this week with a group of ten girls with a range of ages the food was ok but not amazing the entertainment was fantastic though, the staff where very helpful and bar staff where very good the dj definitely rocked the place .

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dawnie2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike D, General Manager at Village Hotel Liverpool, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Dawnie2502,

Thank you for taking the time to write such kind feedback.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed the tribute night and hope to see you again in the future!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
271 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Whilst I would not say the restaurant food was exceptional it was a lot better than many hotels of this type. The rooms were very clean and had everything you could expect the staff in particular were very helpful and friendly and nothing was to much trouble. There is a lot going on here with party night etc so not necessarily a place to choose if you want a quiet weekend away. The location however is superb minutes off the motorway and no trouble to find despite what previous reviews have said. Receptionist told us of the rail service from Whiston a couple of minutes up the road into Liverpool Lime street which we used both days we stayed cheap and efficient . Would return if only for the staff alone thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike D, General Manager at Village Hotel Liverpool, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Gary C,

Thank you for such kind feedback, we are glad to hear you had a great stay!

I will ensure all of your comments are passed onto the team.

We hope to see you again soon at Village Liverpool.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights in June 2014 on business.

The bed itself is very comfy, but aside from this the restaurant service is very poor and the food is of poor quality also.

Worst still was my room was directly above a major boiler which blew most of the day and night.

I would not stay again honestly.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank garryturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike D, General Manager at Village Hotel Liverpool, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear garryturner,

Thank you for your feedback.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the incidents which occured during your stay, this is not indicative of the usual standards at Village Liverpool. Should you wish to discuss this matter further please call Kayleigh on 0151 449 2341.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Although it should have been a 10 minute journey for me it took 1.5 hours to find this hotel, apparently sat nav's cannot locate by using the postcode you need to put Fallows Way into them! On arriving in my room, the toilet had been used and not flushed and contained no toilet roll, I was moved to an adjacent room which was okay, apart from no matter how long it ran the shower remained cold. The rooms are extremely hot and couldn't find a way to turn on the aircon, because of the noise and the proximity to the M62 it is not possible to sleep with the window open. The tables in the restaurant are old and worn and the glass wear very dirty and encrusted with insects, the food leaves a lot to be desired. I had made a block blocking for 13 rooms, none of us got a good nights sleep or had positive feedback to give on this hotel. After eating an evening meal that took a long while to serve, we retired into the bar, which shut promptly at 11pm and we were advised there was no drinks service available for residents.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike D, General Manager at Village Hotel Liverpool, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear 10ChrisO,

Thank you for taking the time to write feedback regarding your recent stay at Village Liverpool.

Please accepy my sincere apologies that your stay was not up to standard. We would like to discuss these problems further with you, could you please contact Kayleigh on 0151 449 2341.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

I visited the hotel yesterday evening for their 80's evening at £18.95 a head I didn't expect smoked Salmon and Caviar but I did expect edible food. The starters was melon and orange upon a bed of rocket and onion .. Now I know I'm pregnant but even that's a bit strange of a craving even for me.. Even more baffling was the accompanying bread roll ! Melon sandwich anyone ? the vegetarian option of sodden rice and I think it was supposed to be mushroom stroganoff ! Although it had no taste what's so ever I had to send back as did two other members of our party of 34 the other two vegetarians left it. It was replaced with a plate of hard dried out vegetables and then eventually some cold gnocchi ! In a side dish.

I asked to speak to the manger and was told the general manager wasn't in but the young waiter said that he would go and get the duty manager... The young man then came back to tell me that the manager was too busy to deal with complaints but we could have a complimentary round of drinks ... I then questioned was this for all 35 people he said no just the vegetarians. !! I said this wasn't acceptable and Infact an insult ... What type of business does a supervisor not come out and speak to a customer with a complaint ! Obviously one that doesn't care. I was also informed that in cases where food is mass catered things slip through !! I'm glad it wasn't my wedding they had catered then... I have been to theme nights elsewhere before and never had a problem.. But this should be avoided unless your that drunk you can't tell what your eating or you really really don't care.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike D, General Manager at Village Hotel Liverpool, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Sue W,

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback.

Please accept my sincere apologies for any problems caused during the tribute night.

I was wondering if you could please contact our Meetings and Events Manager Peter on 0151 449 2341 to discuss this further.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I took my partner here for his birthday! The staff were amazingly helpful and there was a bottle of champagne placed in our hotel on arrival for the occasion which we found lovely. The room was a good size with a 32" working LCD. The breakfast in the mornings were beautiful & Unlimited which my partner loved! There was something for everyone too, Full breakfast, Continental, Cereals & Fruit with Yogurt which i thought was amazing! When we returned to our room after the day out in Liverpool on Saturday our room had been neatened up and tea/coffee facilities were replaced which was good for us bru drinkers :D. All in all the entire weekend in the hotel was amazing, with incredible staff!!! :D

Room Tip: King rooms are amazing!! Beds are incredible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike D, General Manager at Village Hotel Liverpool, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Emily B,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such positive feedback.

I am glad to hear you had such a great stay and your comments will be passed on to the Village Liverpool team.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whiston
8.2 mi away
Village Hotel Wirral
Village Hotel Wirral
#1 of 3 in Bromborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
17.8 mi away
Village Hotel Chester St David's
5.0 mi away
Suites Hotel & Spa -  Knowsley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Liverpool (Roby) Hotel
9.0 mi away
Village Hotel Warrington
Village Hotel Warrington
#11 of 21 in Warrington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,511 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Liverpool (Tarbock) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Liverpool

Property: Village Hotel Liverpool
Address: Fallows Way, Whiston, Knowsley L35 1RZ, England (Formerly De Vere Village Hotel, Liverpool)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Knowsley > Whiston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whiston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Liverpool 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Liverpool is situated just 400 yards from the main junction of the M57and M62 motorways and is a great base for exploring the busy centres of Liverpool and Warrington. Located near to Whiston and Lime Street Stations it is ideal for quick access to Liverpool City Centre and Liverpool John Lennon Airport is just 8 miles away. Village Hotel Liverpool has 63 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, a cafe, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Squash Court, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Village Hotel Liverpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Village Hotel, Liverpool Hotel Whiston
Village Hotel Leisure Liverpool
Village Hotel Whiston
Village Hotel Liverpool Whiston, Merseyside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing