We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty,pricey and small portions”

Gordon Ramsay Plane Food Restaurant
Price range: US$16 - US$65
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Please note: This spring we will be making some changes to bring you a new look Plane Food and so will not be open until mid-July. Join us in Summer 2017 for first-class dining at Heathrow Airport Terminal 5. The signature menu of Gordon Ramsay and an exclusive picnic offering ensures that Plane Food offers innovative food concepts to passengers travelling through Heathrow Airport Terminal 5. Located airside, after you pass through security, Gordon Ramsay's Plane Food easily stands out. Architects Bentel & Bentel have crafted the aerodynamic lines of the restaurant's unique decor to conjure up a range of shapes associated with flying. The menu offers a range of pasta and risotto dishes, as well as grain-fed 28 day aged steaks and exclusive Plane Good picnic hampers, perfect for when you're in a hurry and ideal for enjoying on the plane at your leisure. Diners can also have their meal at the elegant bar whilst they enjoy great views of the Plane Food open plan kitchen and their choice of irresistible cocktails.
Pershore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Tasty,pricey and small portions”
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Nicely styled restaurant in T5, efficient friendly service. Very tasty food just a real shame the portions are smaller than you'd find on board your plane! A good achievement to provide decent food in a British airport,just give us a bit more please!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DJL73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

2,186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    482
    797
    425
    298
    184
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Anything but plain.”
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Having a short time to kill before our departure, we decided to have a meal at Gordon Ramsey's rather than the 'fast food' alternatives in Terminal 5. A good choice.
The staff were attentive and polite, the food was excellent if expensive, the wine way over priced.
The restaurant which was clean and spacious was also surprisingly quiet too, considering the hustle and bustle going on all around.
A pleasant meal overall and would consider another visit should we have the time and a little cash spare.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lolhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taupo
Level Contributor
128 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Delivers what it says on the label, Good Plane Food”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Simple excellent food. Good wine. Service very friendly but people fly because they are in a hurry, Service needs to be much quicker. Really great carry on picnics which easily beats Club food on BA pity you can't carry on Gordon's wine as its far better than anything BA carries these days even in First.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Violaferry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottigham, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food and drink, average service”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Had lunch here to start our holiday in style on a saturday lunchtime. We were seated quickly and the table setting altered to accomodate our 1 year old in a high chair. Not sure if they don't appreciate young children but our waiter appeared slightly off with us and not interested in giving us his best efforts. Bread was offered to adjacent tables, but not us. The food came quickly and was delicious. We both had the burger and chips which were juicy and tender and cooked to our liking. The service level just left us feeling slightly disappointed with the whole experience, but the food was great.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheHusk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Perfect Pre Flight Meal”
Reviewed 4 November 2012

I knew this place was in the terminal, and I'm glad we found it. A little tucked away but worth the find, quiet atmosphere great food and I was so happy as I knew I wasn't going to be able to eat on the flight, so a big juicy burger It was with some wonderful fries and a cold beer. My wife enjoyed a crispy duck salad (hope I got that right) and some very good Gordon Ramsay approved risotto. Very good great views, find it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gordon Ramsay Plane Food Restaurant also viewed

 
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing