We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fantastic experience at La Belle Epoque”
Review of La Belle Epoque

La Belle Epoque
Ranked #5 of 504 Restaurants in Hounslow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: £20 - £60
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Named in retrospect and translated as the "Beautiful Era", our inspiration for this restaurant emerged from the period in European social history during the late 19th century that lasted until World War,It became recognised as the "golden age" - a time when new technologies and medical discoveries were found and when politics, art and literature underwent radical transformation. In Paris, restaurants achieved a new splendour and cachet for one to parade and where fashion began to move in seasonal cycles.In the culinary sense this period is enormously relevant to our philosophy of progression, optimism and very modern.We would like to think this beautiful era is strongly characterised by our cooking which is rarely serious yet rooted in classical French cuisine and have extended our repertoire to embrace some exciting 'outward looking' far eastern variations.
Reviewed 3 June 2016

This was our 2nd visit to this fantastic restaurant and we were not disappointed. Although the menu had changed we were again treated to a visual and flavoursome menu. Every bite was filled with an explosion of flavour and our friends were equally impressed with both the food and the service. We would highly recommend the taster menu and the wine paring, this is a great place to go for celebration or even just a treat!
Well worth the price and the experience is one you will remember!

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank Therapy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CulinaryManager, Manager at La Belle Epoque, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2016

Dear Therapy56,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of such fantastic superlatives.

The tasting menu has some wonderful dishes and, as you stated, a wonderful opportunity to enjoy a variety of flavours you may not otherwise. I'm very glad to hear you enjoyed the tasting menu with wine pairings.

Menus change often and with the season, so when you're ready for your next visit do please give us a call and we'll be happy to welcome you back yet again and thank you once again for recommending La Belle Epoque.

Best regards,

Prakash Hegde
Restaurant Manager
La Belle Époque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (895)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

438 - 442 of 895 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2016 via mobile

General: If you are staying in or near Heathrow and are a foodie then this is the place to go. The name is an indication of its French classic style, but while the venue is dressed to impress for fine dining it is equally comfortable and enjoyed by travellers in casual travel clothes etc. - the food is consistently excellent, and deserves some degree of accolade, so make a point of taking the time to enjoy dinner here if you are nearby or staying in the Sofitel.

Top Tips: (1) book the menu degustation in advance if you love tasting menus, as some nights every cover for this is taken, (2) the bench seats with the mirrors overhead have the best views across the restaurant, (3) the matched wines are excellent but across the 6-7 glasses it gives each person a whole bottle of wine, (4) if a dish is not to your taste they welcome small changes or switches.

Food Quality: truly it compares to Michelin standards for quality, consistency and the food all having divine and balanced flavours - and everything perfectly cooked. If you have the time, you must try the menu degustation, a seven course tasting delight. However - my experience is that any of the tasting dishes serve equally well as a stand alone entree - so go and enjoy as suits.

Dress & Mood: it's a very relaxing place to dine, and while the menu and food quality are high end, it attracts an eclectic mix of diners from business travellers in suits, to casual (I go in denims and t-shirt when staying at the Sofitel), with tables seated with singles travelling, couples, small celebrations (eg small group for birthday) - the place naturally feels comfortable for all as it caters for people travelling, but it's gained a name for itself so people also travel from near and far to enjoy the food here.

Date of visit: May 2016
6  Thank are-u-beingserved
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CulinaryManager, Manager at La Belle Epoque, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2016

Dear John D,

Thank you so much for your wonderful words and compliments. I am so pleased you enjoyed your evening with us. It is always a delight to have such enthusiastic guests and all the more assuring when they enjoy themselves as you did.

The tasting menu has some wonderful dishes and, as you stated, a wonderful opportunity to enjoy a variety of flavours you may not otherwise. I'm very glad to hear you enjoyed the tasting menu with wine pairings.

Menus change often and with the season, so when you're ready for your next visit do please give us a call and we'll be happy to welcome you back yet again and thank you once again for recommending La Belle Epoque.

Best regards

Prakash Hegde
Restaurant Manager
La Belle Époque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2016

What an amazing place to have a perfect fine dining experience. Deserves a Micheline star. Absolutely an amazing time after day out in london.
Warm welcome by Gitana and all other staff members. The food and service was outstanding. They have 7 course tasting menu with wine pairing which tempted me but we had limited time so we decide to go for an A La carte. We will defiantly try tasting menu next time. Extensive and well chosen wine list.
Special thanks to chef, deserves a michelin star. Along with that thank you so much Eva and Steve for looking after us.

Date of visit: May 2016
4  Thank Rishi1512
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CulinaryManager, Manager at La Belle Epoque, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2016

Dear Rish U,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of such fantastic superlatives.

I'm so pleased you enjoyed the entire gamut of your evening with us- from the wine list, to the food and service.

To be compared favourably with Michelin star restaurant is a wonderful compliment and one which I will share with the entire team.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon and thank you once again for taking the time to write.

Best regards

Prakash Hegde
Restaurant Manager
La Belle Époque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2016 via mobile

I'll start by say that it feels odd dining inside a hotel when you're not staying there...but we were close to Heathrow and the choices boiled down to this or a curry. One of the party didn't like spice so La Belle Époque it was.

Yes it's pricey, starters all around £11-13 and mains sitting around the £30 mark. But totally worthwhile and represented good value to my mind.

Service was excellent and without fault, helpful and attentive, taking a moment to speak about each dish presented without being ostentatious etc.

Each dish was refined and intriguing from the first sight to the last bite. Superbly presented and executed with a great deal of care and attention.

I had the scallops to start, a smoked salmon amuse-bouche and the venison for my main course. The venison was cooked perfectly (I'd asked for rare) and stood out particularly for me.

The whole evening was very pleasant and id certainly recommend to anyone considering a visit.

Date of visit: May 2016
5  Thank DazedAndConfused26
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CulinaryManager, Manager at La Belle Epoque, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2016

Dear DazedAndConfused26,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your evening with us, and I'm pleased that you enjoyed it so much.

It is really nice to know that your dining experience was truly memorable due to very well presented smoked salmon, scallops and perfectly cooked venison, It's equally great to hear that you enjoyed the service and found it excellent and attentive.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon and thank you once again for recommending La Belle Époque.

Best regards

Prakash Hegde
Restaurant Manager
La Belle Époque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2016

We were invited to this restuarant to try the taster menu, lot's of different types of food and flavours. Different wine to compliment every dish. Exceptional service and staff knowledge about the wine also made the experience one of a life time, we have a few birthdays coming up in our family so we will be back for sure. Everything was BURSTING WITH FLAVOUR:-)

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank davec1980190742
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CulinaryManager, Manager at La Belle Epoque, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2016

Dear davec1980190742,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your thorough and charming review.

The tasting menu and the matching wine pairings does make for a fantastic and indulgent night, tasting menu has some wonderful dishes and, as you stated, a wonderful opportunity to enjoy a variety of flavours you may not otherwise. I'm very glad to hear you enjoyed the tasting menu - and It's equally great to hear that you enjoyed the exceptional service.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon and thank you once again for recommending La Belle Époque.

Best regards,

Prakash Hegde
Restaurant Manager
La Belle Époque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Belle Epoque also viewed

Hounslow, Greater London
 
Hounslow, Greater London
 

Been to La Belle Epoque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.