We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“£85 for that!”
Review of Civic Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Civic Guest House
Ranked #23 of 23 Hotels in Hounslow
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“£85 for that!”
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We stayed for a family wedding. Was shocked at the state of the place. Had to pay before seeing rooms. Beds old and very uncomfortable, smelly drains, mouldy shower didn't even want to use it! One very small towel for a family room not that nice either. Broken sink, curtains falling down window wouldn't shut (room on ground floor) graffiti in wardrobe. Breakfast: got orders wrong, cold baked beans and tinned tomatoes, dry overcooked scrambled and fried eggs, turkey rashers and very strange sausages! The whole place needed renovations! it was only busy due to Olympics and us. Not good.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cbear21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    16
    16
    12
    44
See reviews for
26
10
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Just got home from a wonderful stay in London. But more wonderful was our stay at the Civic Guest House at Hounslow.
But only a 40' relaxed tube to the city.

We enjoyed the rooms, the breakfast and the more than friendly welcome at your place.

Of course when we come back to London we'll book our rooms at the Civic Guest House and recommend this to many friends. And without changing our habbit we usually come to London once a year, meaning next year we'll be back in the Civic Guest House Hounslow.

Many greetings and hope to meet again soon,

Charley Pasteleurs

Actor

Room Tip: this is the place to book your best stay for a London visit : http://www.civicguesthouse.co.uk/
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I brought my family to their first rugby international. This was well located, well priced, simple and the staff were friendly and accommodating. The room was simple but very clean. All we needed for this stay

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benbear8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

The reception/billing staff seem disinterested in the clients. While, the service/waiters are prompt, I think the mgmt seems to have a callous attitude towards clients (or seem to have slipped into a state, where they get a steady stream of customers despite the bad service).
The rooms seem clean, but have a bad odour. It seems to be low on maintenance. There was a lot of noise and smoke-stench at nights.
Please stay here if you dont have other options. Or, if you desperately need a parking, or proximity to heathrow.
It seems the so-called 'new mgmt' has done nothing about the pathetic review.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pritam n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Ives Cornwall
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

I turned up at this hotel and they did not have my booking! The receptionist spent 20 mins trying to find out what had happened and appeared they'd screwed up! This was at 11pm at night.

I was then offered to stay elsewhere and having no choice went along, it seemed to be the owners house. Further out of London, it was horrible and a building site. I cancelled the booking with ---- and the hotel immediately after only to find the hotel had taken the full amount for the 8 nights from my account!

Never stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennyjen1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels / Turku
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

The Civic Guest House was selected for one night before a flight from Heathrow particularly because of its low price. The Guest House is very well located close to the tube station Hounslow Central, from where you get either to the city center or to Heathrow.
The building is old and badly in need of repair but our room was clean. Staff was helpful, e.g. printing boarding passes from PDF files. Easy parking lot.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fyke_Cadet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Very simple do not stay at this guest house, Flith,Grime,doddgy eletrical wiring, un ironed bed sheets, broken beds, i would not stay here again if i was paid! please please stay somewhere else!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smc1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hounslow hotels
0.3 mi away
Crompton Guest House
Crompton Guest House
#14 of 23 in Hounslow
265 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Hounslow - Heathrow East
0.3 mi away
Travelodge London Hounslow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Budget London Hounslow
0.3 mi away
The Continental Hotel
The Continental Hotel
#18 of 23 in Hounslow
82 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn London Heathrow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Civic Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Civic Guest House

Property: Civic Guest House
Address: 87-93 Lampton Road, Hounslow TW3 4DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Hounslow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 23 Hotels in Hounslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Civic Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Civic Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Civic Guest House Hotel Hounslow
Civic Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing