We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpleasant experience”
Review of Three Magpies

Three Magpies
Ranked #5 of 247 Restaurants in Hounslow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$17
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“Unpleasant experience”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Went to this pub for dinner as we were staying at the Park Inn over the road and we had read some good reviews on here - our experience was completely different.
Easy to get a table and bar staff at first seemed nice and friendly. Drinks expensive but food reasonable prices.
When we ordered we were told there was a 30 minute wait, that was fine but after an hour our food still hadn't arrived. My husband went to the bar to ask when we would be served - not to complain - we just thought our order had been lost.
A couple of minutes later a member of the bar staff came storming out of the kitchen and started shouting at us in front of everyone else. She was apparently ' sick of everyone blaming her and should she get the chef out to sort us out instead' - that was appalling!
The food came out a couple of minutes later just as we were about to leave and ask for a refund. As we had waited so long and were starving we decided to stay. Food was average at best and not worth an hours wait and a lecture from an angry foreign bar maid who obviously could not control her temper.
Would absolutely not go there again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank karensolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    284
    104
    25
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Genk, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great pub food, long wait”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We always enjoy going to the Three Magpies when visiting Heathrow for Nine Worlds Geekfest. There is a lot of variety on the menu, although the zaniness we remembered from last year had definitely been toned down. The wait for the food is generally quite long. The starter platter was absolutely excellent. The fish and chips was good too, although the fish was slightly on the bland side, so someone may have forgotten the salt/seasoning :)

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SmuttsMcGoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Welcome one and all”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We have just been to Hounslow for the weekend and discovered the Three Magpies. It is a lovely oldie worldie place, it is quite big inside. We were made very welcome when we walked in, especially by Catherine. The staff are so friendly and efficient, on the Saturday night the place was heaving with only 2 staff on but they were on top of the situation with hardly any waiting time at all. The food was hot and tasty, with very good portions (especially the chicken and mushroom pie, it was about the size of half a house brick). I would certainly go back again when I visit that area again, it was like being in our local

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales.
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Pub Food”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Heathrow Hotel and have had a meal at this pub on two occasions. Good pub grub and far less expensive than eating at Hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was good and served its purpose for just an overnight stay.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystalclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Service with a scowl”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Really awful, sorry but after reading the reviews it was like we were visiting a different place. Many items unavailable on the menu, but worst of all we came away smelling of dirty chip fat. Strange atmosphere, dirty tables and honestly service with a scowl, like we were interrupting their evening. Shame as will not be returning, I would rather pay double and eat In the hotel across the road.

Helpful?
Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Three Magpies also viewed

 
Hayes, Greater London
West Drayton, Greater London
 
Hayes, Greater London
Hayes, Greater London
 

Been to Three Magpies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing