We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good brunch place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ahaa Dosa

Ahaa Dosa
Ranked #45 of 241 Restaurants in Hounslow
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sousse, Tunisia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“good brunch place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

It's a cheap working man's caff - allow £8-10 per head at the very maximum.

This is great place to fill your belly from 11.30am to around 5pm when a full blown white table cloth meal is neither necessary nor desirable.

Service is just right - not over-familiar, not uncommited.

Dosas are good, but they all taste the same, implying that the chef could do with some gentle retraining and reminding from some college back home, preferably by a woman who understands subtlety and how not to kill it. At the moment, everything tastes "blokey" - hard and heavily-spiced whereas I know that Tamil food need not be..

Sadly, the rest of the menu items are not a patch on the cheap plastic table SriLankan dosa caffs in places like Dubai where airport staff go to fill up at all hours of the day for £3 quid and appreciate the different aromas and flavours.

However, for what it is - a Tamil version of an egg, beans and chips English caff or a neighbourhood diner in the US, this is just right.

I give it "very good" not "average".

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    32
    20
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Lovely food... couldn't control my appetite seeing all the wonderful food they prepare. I was missing dosa so much for the last 3 years that I have been in UK, but never got a chance to have it, as there are no south Indian restaurants where we live. The decor is very simple but what they score the most is on the authenticity of their food preparation and the vast menu they have. This was the second time I went there and would keep going again. Well done Ahaa Dosa.... Keep up the taste.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Aman K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Good South Indian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

like the restaurant. good food.Good South Indian food.
Good South Indian food
Good South Indian food
Good South Indian food

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Raj N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

I had to this restaurant few times its value for money and quality food. I will recommend but only problem is parking near restaurant

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jay9582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“THALI FULL MEAL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Very y nice Restaurant clean and nice staff are very friendly. Food are ready within a 10 to 15 minis of the our order. My wife like the freshly prepared Onion Rava Masala Dosa. My kids like the kid dosas and friendly staff with the kids sweets. We had good time great family out great value for Money
thank you

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rayan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ahaa Dosa also viewed

Hounslow, Greater London
Hounslow, Greater London
 
Hounslow, Greater London
Hounslow, Greater London
 

Been to Ahaa Dosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing