We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but best choice for Heathrow”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel London Heathrow
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Hounslow
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
England
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Expensive but best choice for Heathrow”
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Unlike the T4 Hilton which is a real hike the Sofitel is just around the corner from T5. Close enough not to bother with room service just pick up what you need from the M and S simply food in arrivals. Lovely bed and one very comfy chair - although your significant other would have to make do with the bed or desk chair. Lovely bathroom with L'Occitaine toileteries. All the staff were enormously helpful. Wanted to use the Spa Jaccuzi but there was a cover charge of £25 per room - so I splashed out on a £30 express manicure by a lovely girl who did not make me feel bad about my stumpy nails! - and got to use the Jaccuzi all to myself. A good choice whatever terminal you are flying from as the shuttle is quicker than any hoppa bus.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank celi36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11,098 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7,240
    2,842
    658
    222
    136
See reviews for
1,751
4,612
1,334
2,682
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,571)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

The Sofitel in London Heathrow is very conveniently located just outside of terminal 5. For those who fly into terminal 5, they can be at the reception in less than 5 minutes. Very conveniently located for those who have business travel in the Surrey area. The hotel is beautifully designed, with good taste. There is a cool bar, a beautiful restaurant, and a lounge that you can access for 25 pounds a day. The rates are reasonable for London. The rooms are nice, and the service is good. The only constructive criticism would be the following - internet is free if you are willing to accept very slow connection. For reasonable speed one has to pay around 15 pounds a day, around $25 dollars. That is a pity - one would expect this hotel to offer free internet. The other issue is that my room window looked into a building with limited day light. That made the room look gloomy and a bit depressing - in England you want to get every bit of daylight you can, right?

Room Tip: Try to get a room that actually looks outside with real day light, not one that looks at the inside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobbertOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Connected to T5 by a covered walkway (a five minute walk), the Sofitel really is right at the airport. First impressions were very good as we walked into the connecting atrium. The public areas are scented and this just adds a nice touch. From the walkway atrium we made our way down to reception (escalator or lift) and this was another beautiful area. Staff were very helpful and friendly as they checked us in. On the ground floor alongside the restaurants and bars, there is also a gift shop and a hair salon. Also on the ground floor there is the Club Millsiemme - for those who are eligible. This is a lovely lounge which is very quiet and serves continental breakfast in the morning. Full details on service are given on arrival.

Lifts are operated by key card only after which you choose your floor. Rooms are organised in wings but even the furthest wing is only a minute or so walk from the room.

As for the rooms, we stayed in a Junior Suite which was absolutely beautifully appointed and was very comfortable for us to stay in. Wifi was free for us in our room. There was also a minibar stocked which again for us in a Junior Suite was free to use.

Breakfast was served in one of the restaurants and on the most part was lovely - though the bacon was a bit tough but the choice made up for it - everything from American waffles and pancakes to the Great British Fry Up.

We were using this hotel as our base for the London 2012 Olympic Games due to the price of Central London accommodation. The tube station is about a 7 minute walk from the hotel back across to Terminal 5 and then down the lift or escalators. From here it is a 51 minute journey into Green Park - though it doesn't feel like it particularly once your reach Hammersmith. For us to reach the Olympic Park and North Greenwich Arena it was 75 minutes and 90 minutes respectively. Despite the travel times, this is still a good hotel for central London due to the links available (the underground is in Zone 6). Also, being at the airport, this maximises your time in London if you are travelling back on the same day as you have been in the capital.

The price of the hotel is steep compared to others but at the time of the Olympics offered us a reasonable offer for our accommodation. When hotel rates are at normal levels, it is very expensive compared to other options such as the newly opened Premier Inn on Bath Road but at the same time, you do get much more than a Premier Inn, so you do get a good amount for what you pay for.

I have to say that overall, this was arguably the best hotel I have ever stayed in and do hope to return to soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MusicMaestro95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OC CA
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

This hotel is literally in the terminal, which makes it very convenient if you have an over night connection or an early flight.
The rooms are small but very well done.
Soft beds, lots of lighting options and controls, TV inputs are routed to the desk so you can watch your own videos etc.
You don't hear the airport at all in the hotel.
The bathroom is modern and has separate shower and tub.
What else do you need from an airport hotel?

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoCalJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night before a morning flight to Washington.

Positives:
+Location: easily accessible is T5 via a covered walkway. A 5-10 minute walk. Easy
+Staff: everyone I encountered was helpful & friendly
+Rooms: comfortable bedrooms with large tv and great bathroom (separate, walk in shower. Always great ^)
+Free in-room wifi.
+The price! £130 on a prepaid rate is good value.

Negatives:
-Minibar is empty, save for two bottles of free water! Not really up to scratch for a 5*.
-The menu in the French restaurant has been changed since our last stay, and was somewhat limited & uninspiring. Service was good, though.

Overall- I was impressed and would stay at this property again. The best location for T5, plus a true luxury experience, despite my above niggles.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfan199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Attended a wedding at the Sofitel Heathrow. Excellent facility with the same level of service. Food was great, the service to detail without fault. I have no hesitation in recommending this fine establishment.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle, wa
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

As soon as you leave Terminal 5 customs, it's about a 5 to 8 minute walk to Hotel Reception. The hotel seems to be set up in sections with footpath bridges and connecting walkways. Although all indoors, the light coming in from these open areas reminded me of an open campus concept. Room was spacious, everything worked, excellent water pressure. Room service was fast and breakfast next day was buffet with all the usual items making up the typical english breakfast. The spa was completely booked but they managed to get me in for a manicure. I was disappointed that they don't run a shuttle to the other terminals. Alternatives are to use a car service (was under 20 pounds) or to walk back into Terminal 5 and take the airport train to the other terminals. If you have to spend the night at Heathrow, this is the place to be.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodnamesaretaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hounslow
2.4 mi away
Hilton London Heathrow Airport
2.0 mi away
Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport (Bath Road) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn London Heathrow Airport
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place London Heathrow Airport
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport Terminal 4
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London Heathrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Heathrow

Property: Sofitel London Heathrow
Address: | Terminal 5, London Heathrow Airport, Hounslow TW6 2GD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Hounslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Spa Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hounslow
#2 Family Hotel in Hounslow
#2 Green Hotel in Hounslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London Heathrow 5*
Number of rooms: 605
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only Heathrow Airport hotel with direct access to Terminal 5 via a covered walkway and Terminals 1, 2, 3 / Terminal 4 via courtesy Heathrow Express / Connect rail connection and only 21 minutes from Central London by train. Sofitel London Heathrow boasts 605 non-smoking bedrooms including 27 suites. All rooms include the famous Sofitel MyBed, plasma screen TV and double glazed windows (rooms facing outside have triple glazing). All bathrooms include separate walk-in shower and bath. For your meetings and events, the hotel's conference centre boasts 45 meeting rooms including three executive boardrooms, a tiered theatre and a main room for up to 1,300 delegates. The hotel food and beverage outlets include: La Belle Epoque - 3AA Rosette restaurant serving gourmet French cuisine with contemporary world influences; Vivre - with its open theatre kitchens, Sphere Bar, the Le Bar Parisien invites you to experience classic and trendy cocktails, as well as Champagne selection, and the Tea 5 salon serves delicious cakes and lunch options. Leisure facilities include the hotel's Zen Garden, a 24-hour gym as well as a hydro suite with vitality pool, sauna and steam room (chargeable). A hair salon is located on the ground floor. For travellers arriving by car, the hotel offers on-site underground car park as well as Park & Fly packages for up to 15 days. We do also offer transportation to and from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel London Heathrow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Heathrow Hotel Hounslow
Sofitel Hotel London Heathrow
Sofitel Hotel Hounslow
London Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing