We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best Heathrow Airport by a mile”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel London Heathrow
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Hounslow
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The best Heathrow Airport by a mile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

I recently spent two nights at the Sofitel at Terminal 5, Heathrow for a work conference before flying back home.

Without doubt this is the best Heathrow hotel by some considerable distance. There are a few things that really made this hotel stand out:

1) Its accessible by foot from Terminal 5. Even though I was travelling in / out of Terminal 3 the terminals are so well connected via the free train that it is no hardship at all getting from the hotel to the terminal.
2) Its so new and up-to-date in terms of beds, bathrooms, amenities, technology and connectivity etc that it really was the ideal start to a long-haul flight.

I can’t recommend this hotel enough if you need to use a hotel in Heathrow before / after a flight.

Room Tip: I stayed in an inward facing room and didn't hear a single plane. I can't comment on the out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petrina v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10,368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,740
    2,673
    622
    209
    124
See reviews for
1,597
4,291
1,268
2,539
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,462)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

This is an excellent hotel which is very convenient for Heathrow T5. Leaving a car here was also very easy and the introduction of low speed internet, which is fine for e-mail and basic searches, is the last issue that has been addressed. It still remains a bit pricy but the location etc. still makes it an excellent choice.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidg708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

Unlike some properties advertising themselves at Heathrow Terminal 5, this one is actually at Terminal 5. Rooms are high quality, but on the usual Heathrow smallish side. Unlike some rooms in other top level Heathrow hotels, there was, however, adequate space for open luggage. Services were reasonably prompt. Most rooms face rooms in other wings of the hotel so there is not much to see out of windows. For an overnight stay and convenience, it is hard to beat, but comes at top price. It is a little walk through corridors and a down escalator to the desk, but if you have rolling luggage it is easy. I certainly found prices much cheaper on independent websites in comparison to the hotel site.

Room Tip: Check multiple websites for varying prices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelteam69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

We had booked a junior suite with Club Millesieme access. We had a stopover between flights for about 20 hours and wanted to use this to visit London's Christmasmarkets. But the weather was typically British, very rainy! So we decided to stay in the hotel with our daughter (5 years). But at check in us was told she was not allowed into the Club Lounge. This was a big surprise for us and asked to cancel the reservation and wanted to go to a Marriott Hotel at Heathrow (Marriott Platinum members) Then a supervisor came and told us we could use their lounge and sit outside with the little one and get drinks and snacks from their food presentations. We took a look and said ok. I am not sure if we still regret our decision because we had fun after all but the presentations where not good. There should lunch presentation, we never saw, the scones for tea never showed up, only some sweaty cheeseboard. Soft drinks on closed fridges. Things started improving with their evening drinks and food. Some sushi, some nuts and wines and beers. But we had to go trough the doors of the lounge all the time which we found very disturbing for the 2 other guest using the lounge. Very nice chat with the staff member here. And some gift for our litlle one. Nice touches. Room clean, changed room without any cost into a airport view. Sofabed for our daughter was made up already on arrival. If we ever have to have a stop at LHR this could be a good choice again, because of their nice, clean rooms, friendly staff and location. Other than that a bit boring! And for all the other airport hotels you need the Hoppa-bus to get there (5 ponds per person, each way...)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koala2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

This is a superb hotel connected directly to Terminal 5,Widely used by Aircrew & stranded passengers.
It is simply of the highest standard and has prices to match but for airport convenience and quality it can't be matched. Well done Sofitel.

Lower cost meals can be found in a couple of pleasant landside restaurants in the terminal building.

Room Tip: Little difference beteween rooms. Quieter at end of corridors
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buckfast39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

The room was nice and the bed was comfortable. I enjoyed the breakfast which had a lot of great options, but my issue was the price (which may be good for the area I am not sure) and the location. I figured being at the terminal it would be easy to find, but I guess the combination of me being tried and it being late I just could not find this place, finally I ran into someone who guided me to the right combination of elevators and found the entrance. It was a bit annoying after a day of travel. I probably would have been better off staying at a place right off the airport and using the shuttles. It was nice in the morning when heading to my next flight so that was nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston area, MA
Level Contributor
122 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

I had two last-minute meetings, one in an area near Heathrow and the other in London, and had to get back to the US. So, I reserved for Sunday and Monday night at the Sofitel. I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the room -- I presented an Amex Platinum card and was upgraded and given complimentary breakfast -- and the breakfast. Room service dinner was mediocre. But, this is one of the nicer airport hotels I've stayed in. And, perhaps because it was a Sunday and Monday, the price was surprisingly low. The staff was helpful. Overall a great stay. I imagine I'll be back if I have meetings in the Heathrow area. It was great to just walk in to the terminal to fly home.

Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank letsmakeadeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hounslow
2.4 mi away
Hilton London Heathrow Airport
2.0 mi away
Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport (Bath Road) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn London Heathrow Airport
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport Terminal 5 Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place London Heathrow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London Heathrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Heathrow

Property: Sofitel London Heathrow
Address: | Terminal 5, London Heathrow Airport, Hounslow TW6 2GD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Hounslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Business Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Spa Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hounslow
#2 Green Hotel in Hounslow
#2 Family Hotel in Hounslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London Heathrow 5*
Number of rooms: 605
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only Heathrow Airport hotel with direct access to Terminal 5 via a covered walkway and Terminals 1, 2, 3 / Terminal 4 via courtesy Heathrow Express / Connect rail connection and only 21 minutes from Central London by train. Sofitel London Heathrow boasts 605 non-smoking bedrooms including 27 suites. All rooms include the famous Sofitel MyBed, plasma screen TV and double glazed windows (rooms facing outside have triple glazing). All bathrooms include separate walk-in shower and bath. For your meetings and events, the hotel's conference centre boasts 45 meeting rooms including three executive boardrooms, a tiered theatre and a main room for up to 1,300 delegates. The hotel food and beverage outlets include: La Belle Epoque - 3AA Rosette restaurant serving gourmet French cuisine with contemporary world influences; Vivre - with its open theatre kitchens, Sphere Bar, the Le Bar Parisien invites you to experience classic and trendy cocktails, as well as Champagne selection, and the Tea 5 salon serves delicious cakes and lunch options. Leisure facilities include the hotel's Zen Garden, a 24-hour gym as well as a hydro suite with vitality pool, sauna and steam room (chargeable). A hair salon is located on the ground floor. For travellers arriving by car, the hotel offers on-site underground car park as well as Park & Fly packages for up to 15 days. We do also offer transportation to and from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Priceline, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel London Heathrow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Heathrow Hotel Hounslow
Sofitel Hotel London Heathrow
Sofitel Hotel Hounslow
London Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing