We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel London Heathrow
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Hounslow
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 7 May 2013

When we fly BA we usually book a night before the flight at the Sofitel primarily because it is attached to Terminal 5, BA's terminal. In some ways convenience of location is the primary reason, but the experience is worth the visit. The place is grand. The rooms are extremely nice, the staff is extraordinarily helpful, the breakfast buffet is second to none and the atmosphere for cocktails later is simply terrific. It is by no means inexpensive, but it is well worth that splurge on our last evening in Europe. We have enjoyed it immensely and have booked it again for an upcoming stay. We have stayed at other hotels at and close to the airport, but this is undoubtedly our favorite. Would we book it again? We already have.

Room Tip: We haven't found the bad room yet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChathamTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and found our location, rooms, staff and food wonderful!

We look forward to welcoming you back on your already booked next visit.

Anna Marie Dowling – General Manager
Sofitel London Heathrow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (12,167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9,418 - 9,424 of 12,167 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for one night after our BA flight was cancelled. We were flying business class so BA chose this hotel as it is listed as 5* and we were not disappointed.
We had been travelling all day - we took off, got part way across the Atlantic and then turned back. As a consequence we were both very tired.
We checked in with no hassle, went to our room and dropped our bags before heading to the restaurant. The food was excellent - even if we did just have a burger and a beer - and the staff were eager to please.
The room was well furnished, very clean and the bed was super comfortable - just what you need after a long day.
Breakfast the following morning was just as good - smiling staff who were happy to get you extra coffee, juice and toast without even being asked.
Check out was smooth too.
Location of the hotel is great - the connection via a walkway to Terminal 5 takes just a few minutes to navigate and the directional signs are easy to follow.
The stay was unexpected but if we had an early morning flight we'd definitely use this hotel the night before. The only downside then will be that we'll have to pick up the bill!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeAlisonB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

It is wonderful to read that the staff has met your expectations in terms of level of service.

I will ensure that our Food and Beverage manager gets a copy of your review, we love knowing that our food is well appreciated.

Although not planned I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and left rested,
we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Anna Marie Dowling – General Manager
Sofitel London Heathrow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I staid there on business since i had to catch an early flight from T5 on the next day. Service was really good and staff very friendly.
The Wifi in my room was too weak to work and the USB charger (socket) on the wall was not working, which is a bit bad to get some work done.

But very convenient location and good hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Bnd75003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

I am pleased to read that you were happy with our service and you benefited from our convenient location.

I am sorry you found our internet connection slow. Our complimentary internet is designed for emails and light browsing, if you require to download a large file or document we do recommend purchasing the High-Speed option. This option costs £15 unless it is included in your room (Superior and Luxury rooms include the High-Speed internet) or you are enjoying the executive lounge. However we are in the process of undertaking a review of all our internet services to improve the connectivity and speed in the future.

I apologise that the USB socket was not in working order, please do let reception know in the future as we endeavour to correct such faults as soon as possible for our guests.


We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel London Heathrow very soon.

Anna Marie Dowling – General Manager
Sofitel London Heathrow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Stayed at this hotel again end of March - first time November - and it was just as good as before. So handy for overnight stay at T5. Room was very pleasant and comfortable with everything that we needed. This time we had inward view over the hotel entrance and didn't mind that at all. We were only staying overnight after all. Staff are exceptionally efficient, polite and helpful. We visit family in USA now and, being in an older age bracket, find splitting the outward journey means that we don't need a very early morning flight to make our connection by travelling to T5 the day before. Couldn't be more relaxed given that air travel can be time consuming before making it on to the plane. Will stay there next time too.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blueanne17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay at our hotel.

I am delighted that you had a comfortable nights stay before your flight to the USA and you found the hotels location convienant.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Anna Marie Dowling – General Manager
Sofitel London Heathrow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

Pull up at the entrance, and everything is taken care off. Car & cases sorted by the attentive staff. Later check out - no problem. Room was spotless again and beds very comfy. All aspects of the hotel are spotless

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Dear Guest,

I took great pleasure in reading your wonderful positive review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and you were pleased with our hospitality.

I will ensure that your comments are passed over to the relevant teams, it is always nice to receive good feedback.

We hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Anna Marie Dowling – General Manager
Sofitel London Heathrow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

As we were flying from T5 the following day and this was a special trip for us, we decided to stay at the Heathrow Sofitel. At the time of booking, this was the most expensive hotel around the airport, but we decided to go ahead as it was the only hotel that benefited from direct access (via a walkway) to the terminal. We also included a parking package, as despite this being for a minimum of 8 days (and we only needed 5), this worked out cheaper and more convenient than the nearby business car park.

On arrival, we were very impressed. The hotel car park was easily sign-posted from the M25 and we were soon parked up with plenty of space around us (unlike some of the other car parks around the terminal, where you can barely open the car doors). Unfortunately we didn’t have a BMW and therefore couldn’t take advantage of the ‘BMW only’ spaces.

The staff at reception greeted us very professionally and we were very impressed with the general quality of the hotel (having a gift shop, hair salon, a large bar and two restaurants). It felt very luxurious and it didn’t feel like you were surrounded by busy roads and an entire airport. There did seem to be a BMW theme going on, as there were several models on display around the hotel.

Our room was OK (just OK and in my opinion and not quite up to the standard of the rest of the hotel). We had an inward facing window that was slightly lower than the pathway above that headed towards the terminal, so we just saw people’s legs go by from inside. Although we knew beforehand that many of the rooms were inward facing, we didn’t realise it would feel so dark with the lights off. (Turning the lights on meant that you needed to close the curtains, as if not people could see in). The view aside, the quality of the room was good, being very spacious with a very comfortable bed. Also, it was extremely quiet and we didn’t hear any of the traffic or nearby planes.

We drank at the bar and ate at the cheaper of the two restaurants – both of which were excellent and I didn’t feel that the prices were too bad considering the fact that this is a top end hotel connected to London Heathrow’s main airport terminal.

Overall, we had a good stay and I would recommend it to others (especially if you can request an outward facing room) – however I do believe you pay a premium for being so close to the terminal and this doesn’t necessarily get you the best hotel for your money. If you are happy to be a few minutes away from the terminal in a cab, then some of the other top end chains such as the Renaissance were considerably cheaper (and possibly better?).

Room Tip: Ask for an outward facing room, or at the very least a room on one of the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glencdawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

I am pleased to read that you were impressed by our level of service, restaurants, direct access to Terminal 5 and easily accessible parking.

We do have a marketing agreement with BMW therefore you will see a few BMW vehicles displayed around the hotel, we also as you mentioned have approximately 25 parking spaces in our car park allocated to BWM drivers only but as you have mentioned in your review there are always enough spaces for all our guests.

I will ensure that I make our Food and Beverage manager aware of the “excellent” status that you have marked them with.


I am sorry that you felt the room you were allocated was only “OK”. The majority of our rooms do look into internal atriums all of which are decorated and designed in different themes. Undoubtedly light levels in these rooms may be slightly lower than external rooms especially as you will need to use the net and curtains (which are a total blackout designed) to provide you with more privacy.

Can I ask that on the occasion of your next stay, you contact our Guest Relations Manager (Dallas) directly on H6214-AM@soiftel.com and he will do his utmost to ensure that the room allocated to you will be an outward facing room or a higher floor.

We do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.


Anna Marie Dowling – General Manager
Sofitel London Heathrow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Checked into the Heathrow Sofitel for convenience (as we had flown in from Hong Kong via a shopping day in Zurich and were just too exhausted to 'shop around' as we'd planned) and it is actually attached to terminal 5. Stylish, with exceptional service and delicious breakfast. The only negative was the price for a suite, which I found high, as having a young adult daughter, and two of our grandchildren travelling with my husband and I n our party, making 5, we were considered an unusual sized group. In the end though, I was too tired to care unduly, and I offset it with no further travel expense, time or trouble.

Room Tip: We had a suite, so we had a lot of room and excellent facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaureenJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

Dear Guest,

I thank you for such positive feedback.

Our aim is to meet and exceed our guests' expectations especially with our levels of service and I am pleased to hear that we have achieved our goal.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Anna Marie Dowling – General Manager
Sofitel London Heathrow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hounslow
2.4 mi away
Hilton London Heathrow Airport
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn London Heathrow Airport
2 mi away
Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport Terminal 4
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport (Bath Road) Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place London Heathrow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London Heathrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Heathrow

Address: | Terminal 5, London Heathrow Airport, Hounslow TW6 2GD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Hounslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Business Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hounslow
#2 Green Hotel in Hounslow
#2 Family Hotel in Hounslow
Price Range: £131 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London Heathrow 5*
Number of rooms: 605
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only Heathrow Airport hotel with direct access to Terminal 5 via a covered walkway and Terminals 1, 2, 3 / Terminal 4 via courtesy Heathrow Express / Connect rail connection and only 21 minutes from Central London by train. Sofitel London Heathrow boasts 605 non-smoking bedrooms including 27 suites. All rooms include the famous Sofitel MyBed, plasma screen TV and double glazed windows (rooms facing outside have triple glazing). All bathrooms include separate walk-in shower and bath. For your meetings and events, the hotel's conference centre boasts 45 meeting rooms including three executive boardrooms, a tiered theatre and a main room for up to 1,300 delegates. The hotel food and beverage outlets include: La Belle Epoque - 3AA Rosette restaurant serving gourmet French cuisine with contemporary world influences; Vivre - with its open theatre kitchens, Sphere Bar, the Le Bar Parisien invites you to experience classic and trendy cocktails, as well as Champagne selection, and the Tea 5 salon serves delicious cakes and lunch options. Leisure facilities include the hotel's Zen Garden, a 24-hour gym as well as a hydro suite with vitality pool, sauna and steam room (chargeable). A hair salon is located on the ground floor. For travellers arriving by car, the hotel offers on-site underground car park as well as Park & Fly packages for up to 15 days. We do also offer transportation to and from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel London Heathrow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Heathrow Hotel Hounslow
Sofitel Hotel London Heathrow
Sofitel Hotel Hounslow
London Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing