We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“TV over the bath.... but it didn't work”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel London Heathrow
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Hounslow
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“TV over the bath.... but it didn't work”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

we stayed here for 2 nights after a holiday to Italy, left the luggage and headed on the underground into central London before our flight to Manchester. Lovely large room, with very comfortable bed and chair. the shower was great, the bath was fine, although the fact it had a tv over it got my wife rather excited, especially as our infant son was staying with us, so I ran her a bath so she could relax and watch x factor, whilst he slept.... however we could not get it to work, it turned on but that was it, and despite trying to call reception (no answer) and ever heading down to the concierge desk, for a solution, In the end after trying for an age to get it sorted we gave up. so no x factor final! only a small issue but It wasn't dealt with great. we could have had 'maintenance' sort it if it didn't take so long and we had to put our son to bed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilandSteph2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.
Please accept my sincere apologies for the TV issue, I was sorry to hear that your son did not get to watch his favorite program.
I shall share your comments with our Maintenance Manager to avoid any re-occurrence of this inconvenience and with our Front of House Manager to be efficient in answering every call we receive.
I apologise that this situation wasn't resolved as efficiently as it should have been and will ensure that steps are put in place to deal with these issues promptly in the future.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Heathrow in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,
Anna-Marie Dowling – General Manager
Sofitel London Heathrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10,345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,721
    2,672
    620
    209
    123
See reviews for
1,591
4,282
1,266
2,533
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,458)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

i had a short stopover trip to London and stayed at the Sofitel for one night. The overall service was excellent but there was a young man working in the breakfast section called Oskar that really stood out. he was extremely helpful and more importantly seemed genuinely interested in making people feel welcome.
I travel a lot and often feel that sometimes the staff are nice because they have to be. He was great and deserved to be recognized for it. I will probably stay there again because of the service he provided.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MAECHIEBO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.
I am delighted that you enjoyed the breakfast in our Vivre Restaurant, I will share your positive comments with Oskar, who will be very proud for the service he provided.
We look forward to welcoming you back when you are flying to Heathrow Terminal 5 again and to enjoy another memorable experience with us.
Yours Sincerely,

Anna-Marie Dowling – General Manager
Sofitel London Heathrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
89 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is very convenient and is attached to Terminal 5 in LHR. It is a bit on the expensive side but then again you are paying for convenience. You can get to the lobby using the luggage carts from arrivals baggage claim.

Good room service and spa.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Hani A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.

I was delighted to read your feedback regarding our convenient location; as we are connected via a covered link bridge to Terminal 5.
I am pleased that you found our 'Room Service' and 'Spa' to be good facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to the Sofitel London Heathrow.

Yours Sincerely,

Anna-Marie Dowling – General Manager
Sofitel London Heathrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaucluse France
Level Contributor
80 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

This is our second stay here. First time we had a problem with a missed wake-up call. This time we were to meet up with other family members who were travelling to join us to fly out the next day on holiday.

They were due in at a certain time and we had arranged to eat together but the traffic between Gatwick and Heathrow was horrendous, their plane was late and by the time we got together there seemed to be no chance of a table in either restaurant before silly o'clock.

We were eventually seated but the service was so incredibly slow that it was, in fact even sillier o'clock before we got any food which, in any case, was not worth waiting for. The service in the restaurant was poor at best.

The rooms, as ever were comfortable but next morning it took a very long time to have our luggage brought down. However the convenience of the location is so very good that we would probably use it again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.
Please accept my sincere apologies for the shortcomings in service that you received during your dinner experience and I totally understand your frustration with having to wait for a free table to be available in our restaurants.
Due to a high volume of guests, we suggest to our guests to make a reservation in advance to have a table available at their disposal. I can appreciate that this was very difficult for you on this occasion.
Please contact our Food and Beverage manager, Globy Ouseph on globy.ouseph@sofitelheathrow.com prior to a future booking so he may ensure that you experience the 5 star service that we are proud of at the Sofitel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Heathrow in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Anna-Marie Dowling – General Manager
Sofitel London Heathrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

I am an ongoing fan of the Sofitel brand. The quality of the rooms, with the nice baths & beds is
something I look forward to. --- An overnight at Heathrow (easy bus transfer from the Terminal 5
location to flight out of Terminal 4) was convenient. --- The soundproofing is really good! And the
key card is required at the elevators for security. (A mention by the desk staff would eliminate that confusion.) ---- The only negative is that the restaurant must be a concession operation.
Expensive with dismal service for a captive audience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GRD1834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.
Please accept my apologies for the use of the key cards in the lifts not being explained to you upon checkin. The Front Office Manager will share your comments with his team during the daily handovers to ensure that this information is passed on to all guests whilst checking in.
I was disappointed to read your feedback on our restaurants; pleasecould you email our Food and Beverage Manager Globy Ouseph on globy.ouseph@sofitelheathrow.com to discuss further details.
I hope you will choose to come back to the Sofitel London Heathrow in thenear future and experience the 5 star service in our restaurants that we are so proud of.

Yours Sincerely,

Anna-Marie Dowling – General Manager
Sofitel London Heathrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acushnet, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

I came from America for a meeting in Devon before returning to Heathrow and continuing on to other places. I arrived on a Thursday morning and left my large checked piece of luggage with the Sofitel for my return on Friday evening and subsequent departure from Terminal 5 very early on Saturday morning. The location made this a very easy way to travel. I wish that I had more time in the room because it was extremely comfortable. The lounge area was pleasant enough but they seemed to be training wait staff at the time. To their credit, the woman who seemed to manage the lounge noticed that my service wasn't up to standard and quickly stepped in personally took over. The restaurant, on the other hand, had excellent service and good food.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.
Please accept my sincere apologies for the poor service you received in our Club Millesime, Training new starters into the business should not affect the service you receive and I am sorry for this shortcoming.
However I am pleased to read of your pleasurable experience in our restaurantsand we look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Heathrow in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Anna-Marie Dowling – General Manager
Sofitel London Heathrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Sofitel Heathrow before starting our honeymoon adventure in September 2013. The hotel is very nicely decorated and the reception we received upon entering and checking in was very good.
Our room was upgraded free of charge which was a nice little extra. The room itself was spacious and the shower was amazing. There was also a television in the bathroom but ours appeared to be out of use, which was fine as I'm not sure how much use it would have had anyway. The hotel restaurant lacked ambience and was a little overpriced for the quality of food received. The bread for the table was somewhat stale and the lady that welcomed us was not very welcoming. Overall it was an OK meal but we've had better quality of food at more reasonable prices. However, the breakfast in the morning was very nice with a vast array of choices on offer. We also had a couple of night caps in the hotel bar. The staff were friendly but again it lacked ambience, the chairs were very uncomfortable and the decor felt very cold. I had heard positive things about this hotel and would agree the bedroom was very comfortable, however I do feel it may be somwehat over rated.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BBoatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.
I was concerned to read your comments and I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations and make your stay memorable. Please contact our Food and Beverage Manager on your next stay at globy.ouseph@sofitelheathrow.com, so he may ensure your dining experience is first class.
I shall take your feedback onboard regarding the decor and share with our Rooms Division Manager to check where improvements can be made to better express the Magnifique Sofitel culture.
I hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Sofitel London Heathrow in the future.
Yours Sincerely,

Anna-Marie Dowling – General Manager
Sofitel London Heathrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hounslow
2.4 mi away
Hilton London Heathrow Airport
2.1 mi away
Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport (Bath Road) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn London Heathrow Airport
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport Terminal 5 Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place London Heathrow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London Heathrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Heathrow

Property: Sofitel London Heathrow
Address: | Terminal 5, London Heathrow Airport, Hounslow TW6 2GD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Hounslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Spa Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Business Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hounslow
#2 Green Hotel in Hounslow
#2 Family Hotel in Hounslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London Heathrow 5*
Number of rooms: 605
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only Heathrow Airport hotel with direct access to Terminal 5 via a covered walkway and Terminals 1, 2, 3 / Terminal 4 via courtesy Heathrow Express / Connect rail connection and only 21 minutes from Central London by train. Sofitel London Heathrow boasts 605 non-smoking bedrooms including 27 suites. All rooms include the famous Sofitel MyBed, plasma screen TV and double glazed windows (rooms facing outside have triple glazing). All bathrooms include separate walk-in shower and bath. For your meetings and events, the hotel's conference centre boasts 45 meeting rooms including three executive boardrooms, a tiered theatre and a main room for up to 1,300 delegates. The hotel food and beverage outlets include: La Belle Epoque - 3AA Rosette restaurant serving gourmet French cuisine with contemporary world influences; Vivre - with its open theatre kitchens, Sphere Bar, the Le Bar Parisien invites you to experience classic and trendy cocktails, as well as Champagne selection, and the Tea 5 salon serves delicious cakes and lunch options. Leisure facilities include the hotel's Zen Garden, a 24-hour gym as well as a hydro suite with vitality pool, sauna and steam room (chargeable). A hair salon is located on the ground floor. For travellers arriving by car, the hotel offers on-site underground car park as well as Park & Fly packages for up to 15 days. We do also offer transportation to and from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel London Heathrow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Heathrow Hotel Hounslow
Sofitel Hotel London Heathrow
Sofitel Hotel Hounslow
London Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing