We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely family run pub”
Review of Red Lion

Red Lion
Ranked #1 of 27 Restaurants in Shepperton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$19
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Red Lion Pubis one of the oldest established riverside pubs in Shepperton, situated between Sunbury and Chertsey, on what was, for many years the road in the Parish. This was the building occupied by the first known licensee, Robert Reed, between 1722 and 1730. From our bar to our Restaurant- whether you are coming in for a pint, coffee or a business meeting we will cater for all of your needs in a very professional but relaxed style.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely family run pub”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Myself and.the family decided.to head to the red lion friday night as we have heard good things about the new owners and the new menu when we arrived we were.greated.by the wonderful smell of the bbq the chef had made a variety of flavoured burgers which looked amazing but we were starving so decided to have the chicken and bacon salad and the king prawns which were deliscious it was so good to see a locally run pub so full of smiles and happy customers
We will see you again ren lion !

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank smithfamily123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    72
    37
    19
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We'd seen an article in a local brochure about this pub and the fact that it was under new management. Although not a regular, we'd been there a few times for either a beer (generally sitting across the road by the river) or for something to eat. Since the article stated there was a free small glass of wine with every main course we thought we'd give it another go. There was a barbecue in full flow when we arrived but we decided to have a beer first and then go through to the restaurant. Probably should have gone with the barbie! The food was ok-ish. Ham, egg and chips was good (what could go wrong?), salads were disappointing and the salmon fillet a bit anaemic and bland. What disappointed us most was the service. I'll use the word 'disinterested' to be polite. The free glass of wine never turned up so it was lucky we'd brought our drinks from the bar through with us. Then, to finish us off nicely, the waitress tipped a glass of water over one of us but never noticed until we pointed it out!
I hate to criticise local places as they are the life blood of the community but The Red Lion really needs to up its game if it genuinely wants return customers.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Blackcountry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Third time lucky!!!”
Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

My last two visits to the Red Lion pub were very disappointing but we thought we' d try again as it is under new management and I'd read recent reviews which said the food was good. Went with my family and have to say we weren't disappointed. The landlady was really friendly and helpful. It wasn't very busy so we didn't wait long for our food. My king prawn and chorizo starter was lovely-now that's what I call a king prawn, they were huge! We also had a platter to share which was good. We had scampi for main, fish and chips, chicken Kiev and egg and chips and it was all really good. Thought it was good value too. So it looks like The Red Lion has its mojo back & we'll definitely be returning.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank louiseh39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billingham, Teesside
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pub with a view”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The pub is a quaint riverside pub. It serves good food and fine ales. The staff are friendly and the clientel are friendly too.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Smoggies_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A pub with refined class”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

I spent a thoroughly enjoyable afternoon here with friends. We started off in the riverside beer garden with great views up and down the Thames. Very relaxing watching the boats go by. Later we headed inside and were greeted by the friendly landlord and landlady. They explained their vision for the pub, (which they have owned since April) which will include a coffee lounge.

The pub itself has an old fashioned quirky charm to it, with many different rooms and styles. You can imagine it in old times as a stop off for thirsty travellers and stagecoaches. It is currently undergoing a refit, but one which enhances it's character and does not spoil it. There are several different bars from lounge to saloon and a restaurant bar where we decided to eat. The food was fresh and top notch, myself and a friend had the home made chicken kiev with mashed potato and another had the burger which he assured us was outstanding.

In summary, a great little find of a pub, great views, great atmosphere, good food, good service and a friendly welcome from the owners. It won't be long before I'll be back again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marky061273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Lion also viewed

 
Shepperton, Surrey
 

Been to Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing