We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Festive meal”
Review of Thames Court

Thames Court
Ranked #20 of 27 Restaurants in Shepperton
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Thames Court in Shepperton is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Festive meal”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

9 of us work colleagues went to Thames Court for our Christmas get together. We chose from the festive menu which gives 3 courses for under £20 and a free cracker each!!

There was a good choice of starters, mains and desserts and everyone could find 3 courses that they liked.

All courses chosen were enjoyed by us and staff even changed the stilton board for a cheddar board for me.

Only complaint was that the service was very slow, but then it did give us more chance to chat I guess!

Some of our ladies complained about the route march through the restaurant and up the stairs to find the ladies toilets too.

Would we go again - most definitely yes!

There is a lot of outside seating so I should imagine that in the Summer it would be really nice to sit on the patio and watch the world go by - that is the world of boating along the Thames.

This restaurant has a large carpark, which is handy as it would be a long walk down Ferry Lane to find the restaurant!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oldbiddySurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    174
    147
    147
    145
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Impressed”
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Excellent food.. I had the chicken forrestiere .. Crispy skin lovely mash and good veg .. Hit the spot and very well cooked.. For £11 it was good value .. My partner had a steak sandwich and he was full and happy.. Service non descript but ok .. Lovely venue and decor .. The star for me was the crispy skin.. Well done chef we shall come back !

Helpful?
Thank RestaurantAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good value, friendly service”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I have visited this restaurant many times. It offers pleasant surroundings adjacent to the river Thames. We have noticed that the prices have been creeping up and the portion sizes and items included have been declining. At times it becomes a victim of its own success and it can be difficult to get seated at busy times.

Staff are hard working, helpful and friendly. Good value still but they have to keep an eye on the new competition. There are a few new kids on the block offering better value now. The do win on location though. Especially in the summer months.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank slagiatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely setting BUT don't use at busy times-or ever?”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We booked a table for 3pm Sunday When we arrived we had to wait 25 mins. to be seated at a table which wasn't clean and lots of detritus on the floor from previous occupants, when we pointed this out the 'manageress' got down on the floor and picked food up. Had 2 shared starters which were poor quality and overpriced and didn't arrive for 45 mins. We ordered beef for the main course which was overcooked, veg were sparse as was gravy. All meals were very disappointing as was service, when this was pointed out to manageress the response was 'yea'
So not somewhere I would recommend!!!!.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maap1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepperton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely place with lovely setting”
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Lovely pub in an even lovelier setting. Judy the manager is always around and available should you need her. The staff are young and vibrant. Sometimes there's a long wait for food, especially periods over the summer but always presented nice....

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TinyDeeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thames Court also viewed

Westerham, Sevenoaks District
Shepperton, Surrey
 

Been to Thames Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing