We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed bag”
Review of Thames Court

Thames Court
Ranked #21 of 27 Restaurants in Shepperton
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Thames Court in Shepperton is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Lomdon
Level Contributor
88 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Mixed bag”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Beautiful location right next to the Thames. Drinks are a very reasonable price considering its location. Food though reasonably priced and of good quality the portions were unfortunately on the small side. The one negative. We were there on a warm day it wasn't too busy and the service was atrocious. Took forever to get served. Perhaps they need more bar staff

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mrjayjayjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    165
    142
    143
    136
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice summer meal”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Had meal deal was perfect.a little weight but was perfect and a nice summers day.never had a bad meal her over the last few years.

Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unreasonably long wait for food, in fact we gave up”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Was a lovely evening on Friday so quite busy but not packed. Enough spare tables to be able to find one easily.
Outdoor area could do with a good clean up, table left dirty and the umbrella on our table was broken.
Ordered food and told there would be a 30 min or so wait, after waiting for around an hour I checked in with staff who went to kitchen and said 6 minutes.
10 minutes later, no food has arrived so we just asked for our money back including the drinks that we had drunk since we had been waiting.
Good location, reasonable food all too often let down by the ability to get food out to customers in a reasonable time frame.
Impression is that if you sit in the restaurant inside you get servers much quicker.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank psheen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
157 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good but can be a bit hit and miss”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Food is decent and generous portions. Staff always pleasant and helpful but can let itself down when busy making people queue in a single line for all drinks and food (if not in sit down restaurant area) which would be fine with a few more staff. Should have known it would be busy on. Friday evening with decent weather. Location is lovely but with a few more staff the business could do even better and have more happy customers. We were lucky we were early enough to avoid the long queues others were less lucky, no issue of being a wait for the food (which came within the stated waiting time)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank chris_w01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Peaceful, friendly and great value - great for a quiet lunch if you go at the right time”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I have just had lunch with a few friends at the Thames Court Pub in Shepperton Located on the banks of the Thames, with attractive, large gardens - it is well worth a visit.

The menu for lunch was varied, with something for everyone. Prices were reasonable and the food excellent.

We went on a Tuesday when the pub was not busy...my advice would be to do the same; in peak times the service can suffer and it can be hard to get a table.

There is something rather special about the English summer and a few hours relaxing at the Thames Court is a perfect way to enjoy this magical time of year.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hugh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thames Court also viewed

Westerham, Sevenoaks District
Shepperton, Surrey
 
Warlingham, Surrey
 

Been to Thames Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing