We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother”

Halliford Mere Lakes & Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 27 Restaurants in Shepperton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$27 - US$35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, View, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: We are always happy to see nice people who would enjoy what we have to offer. So whether it's for a meal in our waterside restaurant, a quiet drink, to enjoy some fly fishing, or just a stroll around the lakes, why not give us a ring or just drop in and see us. Our aim is to provide a happy and relaxed atmosphere where you can enjoy good food and wine at a leisurely pace amongst amiable company.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We went on a Friday night and there was a large party who had arrived at 7.30 and a few other tables, by 8.00 we had our starter and main course and by 8.30 we asked for the bill and ready to leave. As we were leaving We couldn't help notice that the party hadn't even been serve any food, obviously this place has issues.
All the above aside, I wonder if maybe this could of been a one off for the restaurant because they had a large table in, though, as we thought the food was really poor. Quality bad, frozen tiger prawns cooked badly had raw garlic on the prawns and very dry, no butter. I had the duck salad which was just okay.
We both had the fillet steak which was tiny cut of meat and which you pay a supplement of £6.00 each for. We both were very disappointed, just not good quality and was dry and overlooked as if they were finished cooking in the microwave, the sauce had no body to it and certainly never tasted as if it had any cheese in the sauce. Would never go back to thus place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank stanleym822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARBWDB, Owner at Halliford Mere Lakes & Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 November 2014
Thank you and your friends for your comments which have gone into our file.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    13
    8
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Dreadful customer service”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Positives- setting around beautiful lake lovely.
Negatives- Customer service and greeting when we arrived awful, they had a large group and where not in the least interested in serving us, we had booked this meal for our anniversary four weeks prior we were told to order our meal in the next 3 minutes as they had to deal with a large group. Food mediocre have had alot better for the price.
Such a shame we will not be returning.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynne00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARBWDB, Owner at Halliford Mere Lakes & Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 November 2014
We thank you and your friends for your comments which have gone into our file.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
100 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“.... hard to imagine anywhere nicer.”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

There surely cannot be many restaurants in England that are better located than this one.

Set in an extensive, manicured parkland next to a series of fishing lakes, between Shepperton and Chertsey, every aspect of our visit there for lunch was pretty close to perfection.

The food was wonderful, well presented and well cooked, the service attentive and friendly, and the wine list sensible.

We had melon and Parma ham to start, veal in a Marsala sauce for mains, served with ratatouille and rosemary potatoes and a typical ornate Italian ice cream for after. All were very good indeed.

But it is the extraordinary location which will for sure give me, at least, any flimsy excuse to return there again and again. You sit outside under a large open sided marquee overlooking the lakes and parkland. The tables are well spaced and the feeling of relaxation is palpable. You can even go for a walk between courses ….. heaven!

I managed to have a long chat with the owners and it is easy to see why this place is so good. Firstly, they have been doing it for years, secondly they know exactly what they are doing and how they want it done and most importantly they are on hand to make sure everything goes well. Oh, and fourthly they are darned friendly! No wonder this place is so good.

Go there - if you don't, you are really missing out on something quite special. Oh, and well behaved pets are allowed in and get a free drink!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peterkirchem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARBWDB, Owner at Halliford Mere Lakes & Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 November 2014
We are so pleased that what we try to achieve here has hit the mark with you.
Your kind comments are much appreciated and we will continue in the same fashion regardless of the odd adverse review, we know that we can't please everybody - If we tried to you probably would no longer like it here. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Halliford Mere Lakes & Restaurant also viewed

 
Shepperton, Surrey
Shepperton, Surrey
 
Shepperton, Surrey
 

Been to Halliford Mere Lakes & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing