We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect setting and amazing food to match” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Halliford Mere Lakes & Restaurant

Halliford Mere Lakes & Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 26 Restaurants in Shepperton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$26 - US$34
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, View, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: We are always happy to see nice people who would enjoy what we have to offer. So whether it's for a meal in our waterside restaurant, a quiet drink, to enjoy some fly fishing, or just a stroll around the lakes, why not give us a ring or just drop in and see us. Our aim is to provide a happy and relaxed atmosphere where you can enjoy good food and wine at a leisurely pace amongst amiable company.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The perfect setting and amazing food to match”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

To think I've driven past this restaurant countless times and not stopped! We had a superb meal here and the panoramic lakeside view was by far the best I've ever seen. So, so beautiful! We sat outside on the terrace surrounded by nature. With hardly a soul in the restaurant we were wondering what to expect with the food, but we were not disappointed. It was all very fresh and delicious. Just perfect in fact! The restaurant itself had a very charming homely feel and service was very friendly.
I loved the weather forecast stone outside - though this restaurant would be perfect in all weathers as you can sit out or go inside.
What a hidden gem, and I'm so pleased to have found it. I hope to be returning again very soon.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARBWDB, Owner at Halliford Mere Lakes & Restaurant, responded to this review, 26 November 2014
Thank you so much for so many kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    12
    8
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“brilliant setting, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

I had to think twice about writing a review as it was so good I wanted to keep it a secret,
The location is great overlooking a large lake with well maintained borders. The service was just right not over attentive but always timely. The best thing however was the food . it tasted lovely and the portions were generous but not too much.
I thought it was good value for money. I've spent more in prezzos.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank calenfant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARBWDB, Owner at Halliford Mere Lakes & Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 November 2014
We are very pleased that our restaurant suits you so well and thank you for all the complements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Had an amazing dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Such a beautiful pleace, very friendly stuff (even the chef came out in one point to check if everything was good) the most delicious Italian cuisine I ever tried in UK.
Portion just right and nicely presented Hardly recommend to everybody.

Helpful?
Thank Kostadin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARBWDB, Owner at Halliford Mere Lakes & Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 November 2014
A lovely review, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Near Heathrow
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice food, vastly overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

It was a Friday lunchtime and we were the only customers there. We asked for two teas and ordered our food, we wanted to order an item from the specials board and was told the specials were not available on Friday because they were still awaiting deliveries. The tea came in a small stainless steel flip lid pot (usually used for coffee or hot water), this was for two, it was so weak it was more like hot water. We managed to just get one small cup each and drank this before any food arrived and ordered another, stronger pot.

The food arrived, very small portions and, believe it or not, half a warm roll each! Perhaps the rolls hadn't been delivered either?????

The food was cooked well but, as I say, very small portions and far too expensive for what we got.

To top it all, when the bill arrived we found we had been charged £8.40 for 4 small cups of weak tea and even then we'd had to ask for extra milk!

Would we go there again? Only if someone else was paying.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chrissie1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARBWDB, Owner at Halliford Mere Lakes & Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 November 2014
We are sorry the tea was not to your liking and you found it expensive. However, we are a restaurant and do not think that £14.75 for a main course is "vastly overpriced", but thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

This place was suggested on a beautiful Sunday where everywhere else was overly busy.
A rarity. Its a fabulously peaceful location and there were only a few people around. We sat out by the lake under the trees and had our drink before eating indoors.The staff were friendly and helpful.The food was a little overpriced for the quality and presentation, but it was well cooked.There are plenty of cheaper options and menu was simple. The location, charming lodge-like building, and house wine were excellent and I would definatley return. Great find.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Celia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARBWDB, Owner at Halliford Mere Lakes & Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 November 2014
Thank you very much for your review we are pleased you found us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Halliford Mere Lakes & Restaurant also viewed

Shepperton, Surrey
Shepperton, Surrey
 
Shepperton, Surrey
Shepperton, Surrey
 
Shepperton, Surrey
 

Been to Halliford Mere Lakes & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing