We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of The Anchor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Anchor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shepperton
Certificate of Excellence
kent
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I stayed here for the night, very friendly staff, clean hotel.
A good price. Clean, comfortable room. Plenty of hot water. Tea and coffee making facilities
Great view. Excellent breakfast, I would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentJulieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    89
    43
    21
    16
See reviews for
59
87
32
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We stopped off today for a light snack only to find all you could have was a full meal, so we decided on two nachos. What can I say, but this had to be the smallest and worst tasting nachos we have ever experienced. Made twice as bad when you consider £5.75 each. The cheese was bland and very sparse, guacamole tasted as if it had been previously frozen and the salsa tasted of tomato puree with onions and large chunks of peppers added as a last thought. The waitress who delivered the food did not offer any serviettes so we had to remove some from another near by table, the table was not checked during our lunch nor when the table was cleared, the plates were just removed without a word being spoken by her. Such a shame as the Lady behind the bar was excellent. Unless things change I will not return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBH-FBII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This is a beautiful place to have something to eat , and as being a pub landlord myself I am hard to please. The food was excellent and the prices very reasonable and the service from sam was second to none.I was watching from the table she does the work of two people and shame my staff are not the same.Its a thumbs up from me Overall a very good place to eat and drink.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this quaint hotel, for a family party. The rooms were a little tierd but very clean.The service was exceptional, nothing seemed to be too much for the manager. Bundles of atmosphere and quality hospitality. We will be going back, seems the manager has plans for a refurb! This is one to try if in the area! :-))

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank pachapink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addlestone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Attended a private function here recently. Staff very obliging, function area very comfortable and finger buffet very good and plentiful. Parking can sometimes be difficult but we had no problem on this occasion. Not sure what costs were but would recommend it as a venue.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thing2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed in this hotel in September 2013 for one night only. It was booked in advance by a member of our family and we were told the hotel with breakfast was about £55.

On arrival we were positively surprised as the hotel is nicely kept in its old style. The rooms are ok but nothing more than really average and some facilities require some attention.

The service we received was very good and so was the breakfast with a very good choice of hot and cold options. Full english breakfast was very good.

The disappointment was the final check out when we were charged £71 for one night in a small room. It was not worth this money, plus we were informed that it would be less. After checking with the person who pre-booked the room for us we went back to reception querying this and we were given back the difference between the price of booking and the price we paid.

Overall the hotel is good for a short stay but only if you pay something between £50-60. For more money I would expect more - like cleaned windows for example...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meryl2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed at the anchor august 31/1 (party of four )


We stayed here for 2 nights as it was very convenient for sanddown race course (15mins by car)

Nice location in a small square 1 min walk to the thames , the hotel it self is a bit tired and need some tlc that said the staff were very welcoming and attentive I would suggest asking for a room on the back as it can get a bit noisy on the square . the rooms were a bit dated but very clean ,all in all it was a very pleasant stay and will use again next year .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minijet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shepperton
0.0 mi away
The Warren Lodge Hotel
The Warren Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Shepperton
604 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western The Ship Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Bridge Hotel
The Bridge Hotel
#3 of 4 in Chertsey
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Shepperton
1.0 mi away
Oatlands Park Hotel
Oatlands Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Weybridge
964 reviews
2.5 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
2,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchor Hotel

Property: The Anchor Hotel
Address: Church Square, Shepperton TW17 9JZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Shepperton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shepperton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Anchor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing