We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas lunch at The Anchor” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Anchor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Anchor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shepperton
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Christmas lunch at The Anchor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

The anchor
We had Christmas lunch as a family here in a private room (Oliver Room) which was spacious enough for 17 adults and 7 children. The children had a separate table. The tables were beautifully set out with silver top hats for the men and tiaras for the ladies. The meal which was pre-chosen was delivered with great cheerfulness by the staff and the lemon sorbet between the starter (mine was kipper pate yummy) and the main course was a. Ice touch although most of the children didn't like as it was quite tart but all of the grown ups enjoyed it.

The main meal was delivered hot which is a definite bonus when there are so many people, there were several parties in the hotel, and was lovely and the pudding I had which was panacotta was absolutely delicious.

Father Christmas made an appearance with presents for the children all with their names on and he was a very good Father Christmas too! Unfortunately the youngest member, my granddaughter aged three, had fallen asleep in the corner so missed him but still got her present.

I was worried because the older children were running around a bit but the staff seemed to be fine with it. Some bread rolls turned up between the starter and the main on the children's table. Two of them had been and bought some crisps so I think the staff put the rolls there to stave off hunger pangs.

All in all a very good choice of venue by my dil and a very enjoyable day with excellent service from the staff.

It is true parking is difficult but there is a pay and display car park just a short walk away although I probably wouldn't leave my car there overnight as it is a bit isolated.

My thanks go to the staff of the hotel who worked so hard and made our day really enjoyable.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank bow28t55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    80
    39
    19
    16
See reviews for
55
77
29
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
kent
Level Contributor
245 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

I stayed here for the night, very friendly staff, clean hotel.
A good price. Clean, comfortable room. Plenty of hot water. Tea and coffee making facilities
Great view. Excellent breakfast, I would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KentJulieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

We stopped off today for a light snack only to find all you could have was a full meal, so we decided on two nachos. What can I say, but this had to be the smallest and worst tasting nachos we have ever experienced. Made twice as bad when you consider £5.75 each. The cheese was bland and very sparse, guacamole tasted as if it had been previously frozen and the salsa tasted of tomato puree with onions and large chunks of peppers added as a last thought. The waitress who delivered the food did not offer any serviettes so we had to remove some from another near by table, the table was not checked during our lunch nor when the table was cleared, the plates were just removed without a word being spoken by her. Such a shame as the Lady behind the bar was excellent. Unless things change I will not return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CBH-FBII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

This is a beautiful place to have something to eat , and as being a pub landlord myself I am hard to please. The food was excellent and the prices very reasonable and the service from sam was second to none.I was watching from the table she does the work of two people and shame my staff are not the same.Its a thumbs up from me Overall a very good place to eat and drink.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this quaint hotel, for a family party. The rooms were a little tierd but very clean.The service was exceptional, nothing seemed to be too much for the manager. Bundles of atmosphere and quality hospitality. We will be going back, seems the manager has plans for a refurb! This is one to try if in the area! :-))

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank pachapink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addlestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Attended a private function here recently. Staff very obliging, function area very comfortable and finger buffet very good and plentiful. Parking can sometimes be difficult but we had no problem on this occasion. Not sure what costs were but would recommend it as a venue.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thing2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed in this hotel in September 2013 for one night only. It was booked in advance by a member of our family and we were told the hotel with breakfast was about £55.

On arrival we were positively surprised as the hotel is nicely kept in its old style. The rooms are ok but nothing more than really average and some facilities require some attention.

The service we received was very good and so was the breakfast with a very good choice of hot and cold options. Full english breakfast was very good.

The disappointment was the final check out when we were charged £71 for one night in a small room. It was not worth this money, plus we were informed that it would be less. After checking with the person who pre-booked the room for us we went back to reception querying this and we were given back the difference between the price of booking and the price we paid.

Overall the hotel is good for a short stay but only if you pay something between £50-60. For more money I would expect more - like cleaned windows for example...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meryl2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shepperton
0.0 mi away
The Warren Lodge Hotel
The Warren Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Shepperton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ship Hotel Weybridge
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Shepperton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Bridge Hotel
The Bridge Hotel
#3 of 4 in Chertsey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
1.1 mi away
Oatlands Park Hotel
Oatlands Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Weybridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
2.5 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchor Hotel

Property: The Anchor Hotel
Address: Church Square, Shepperton TW17 9JZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Shepperton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shepperton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Anchor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing