We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only if I was stuck for somewhere to stay”
Review of The Anchor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Anchor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shepperton
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Only if I was stuck for somewhere to stay”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The Room was tiny, I was in a single room but I could touch the walls on opposite sides of my room while lying in my bed. The room was ensuite but it looked like a larger room that was decided in two as the bathroom window seemed like it was shared with next door. There was no shower curtain when I arrived but that evening there was a brand new one. The shower strength was poor and there was awful mould and mildew all around the shower basin.
The bed was hard and there was no mattress protector under the sheet. The mattress was very stained.
There was a desk in the room and as it barely fit in the room it was obviously too difficult to clean around as the dirt and dust gathered under it was appalling.
The bedroom window was above a smoking area at the rear of the hotels staff area and cigarette smoke filled the room when there was a smoker on their break. Thankfully I was working and shattered every night and too tired to care.
Would I stay here again, only if I was very stuck.

I will say the staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was good. There was an amazing full English breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P.J. Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    88
    39
    19
    16
See reviews for
57
82
31
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
midlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I stayed in this hotel for one night during last weekend and as there was a wedding party there it was very busy and we had difficulty finding a parking space. The single room was very clean and there were very thick white towels in the bathroom. The dining room was full at breakfast time but we soon got a table and I couldn't believe the big breakfast you could have. This was very good for the money paid and I would definitely visit again. All the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jean 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Two terrible nights sleep had here. Asked to swap rooms due to loud generator noise only to find the next room stank of cigarettes and had a broken tv. Second visit due to other hotels being full was just as awful. I could hear the man in the next room breathing the walls were so thin. He decided to watch tv until gone midnight on a week night when I was up at 6am the following day - I could hear everything! Had to resort to making ear plugs out of loo roll. Another thing is that when next door turns their tv on it causes yours to turn off. There are a lot of men drinking downstairs in the bar at this hotel. Would discourage anyone from staying here unless they really had to.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank businessdays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I was looking for a hotel local to some friends/business during a brief visit and found the hotel on booking.com.
I was only staying for two nights and was on a self imposed budget so booked a single room which for it's size was clean, functional and comfortable. feather duvet and pillows with immaculately presented cotton covers.
The bar and restaurant area were charmin, friendly staff, and a hearty breakfast to set you up for the days travails.

All in all a good stay and at a very reasonable price considering the area and high level of demand.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 75ADH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The Anchor Hotel, a 400 year old building in Olde Shepperton. This hotel oozes charisma of days gone by. If it's fresh and modern you want then this place is not for you.
So what do you get if you stay at the Anchor?
Well she's an old ship with modest rooms, but she has a solid committed crew that work hard and make this place a delight to stay.
Captain Garrett and First Mate Emma are very welcoming hosts who endeavour to make your stay most pleasant. Holding the bar/restaurant are deckhands Eileen, Samantha and Remi all very helpful and eager to provide great customer service. Even the night staff of Michal, Filip and Leigh are top blokes. The staff in the kitchen do a great job preparing some good homemade food. All in all I have very much enjoyed my stay here and would like to thank all the staff because they have made my stay most enjoyable. Thank You All.
So why not drop anchor for the night and give The Anchor a stay over.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Went with the family for a quick Friday dinner. Waited a long time for food, with no explanation or apology. Not good. Trying one of the huge chips, I found myself wondering if the inside of my sofa would taste any better once it had been sliced and fried. Burgers were tough, liver and bacon thin and chewy. Service was erratic. One member of staff asked to borrow another's order-pad, and as she passed it over the 2nd waitress commented bitterly "Next time get your own". Not great for the customer to witness. I have heard the breakfasts are good, but can't say either way. Not going back to eat there

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wormhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Nice location out of town, great sleep and good food.

The burgers on Thursday are excellent and the breakfast is one of the best I have eaten.

Very cheap for couples, a bit more expensive for a single room but still good value.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnIrelan-Hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shepperton
0.0 mi away
The Warren Lodge Hotel
The Warren Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Shepperton
578 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western The Ship Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Bridge Hotel
The Bridge Hotel
#3 of 4 in Chertsey
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Shepperton
1.0 mi away
Oatlands Park Hotel
Oatlands Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Weybridge
924 reviews
2.5 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
2,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchor Hotel

Property: The Anchor Hotel
Address: Church Square, Shepperton TW17 9JZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Shepperton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shepperton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Anchor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing