We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“another great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Anchor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Anchor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shepperton
Certificate of Excellence
yorkshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“another great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2009

Our second trip to this little gem of a hotel. The new manager David couldn't have been more welcoming (or worked harder) to ensure our stay was comfortable. We stayed the same weekend as the previous reviewer and have to agree the ONLY downside to this hotel is the Kings head pub over the square (if you're not local, you're not made to feel welcome here !). However this was not enough to deter us and have re-booked already for next year.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffie37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    83
    39
    19
    16
See reviews for
55
79
31
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2009

Stayed with friends for bank holiday weekend. David the manager was eager to please nothing too much trouble, the chef worked his socks off. Along with 26 guest there was also a wedding reception in the hotel. Accommodation value for money only one problem pub over the square not very welcoming & playing loud music until midnight. Apart from pub over road definately retuning next year!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisWakefield56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouth
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2008

Stayed for one night on business so company paying thank goodness as I would have felt ripped off. Creaky noisey hotel walls paper thin could here other guests throughout the night eg. snoring, peeing ,talking even breathing. Church chimes opposite every hour throughout the night. Hard lumpy pillows, smell of stale tobacco, dirty dusty curtains.
Had a salmon meal in pub which was under cooked and cold in the middle, breakfast was dried up and crusty.... All in all would not recommend or stay again even if company was paying.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank argyle089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2007

The Anchor Hotel is on Church Square in the oldest part of Shepperton down by the river Thames. It’s the sister hotel of the Warren Lodge hotel diagonally across the square and related to the Ship Hotel in Weybridge, in which I also stayed while working in the area.

I arrived around 9 at night and the small car park was already full, as were all the spaces on the square outside. I ended up parking in the free public car park about 5 minutes’ walk away.

Reception at the Anchor is integrated with the bar, so the effect is more like a pub with rooms than a traditional hotel. The service was also more pub-like and less formal than your normal hotel check-in.

The bar and the other public rooms downstairs are wood panelled in a Jacobean style with some nice carving and plasterwork. (There’s a meeting room off the corridor to the car park that is particularly fine – take a peek if it’s unoccupied!). The main areas make up the bar and lounge, which in the evenings didn’t seem too crowded; the people were a regular ‘pub crowd’ rather than the usual hotel collection of business people. The outside tables in front of the hotel are also used by the bar guests. The stairs to the bedrooms go up past the dining area where breakfast is served.

Once at the top of the stairs all trace of the 17th century disappears and you are in a typically mediocre English hotel with tired décor and complicated passageways. I had a single room which was very poky and drab, although everything was clean and everything worked. I didn’t see any of the other rooms and in an old building like this it’s not inevitable that they are all the same.

For breakfast there is a fairly small selection of stuff on a buffet, but the staff will happily cook a full English breakfast to order. I saw no sign that the hotel does food in the evenings, although its sister hotel across the square (the Warren Lodge) has a restaurant. Indeed there are several restaurants concentrated in this small historic area of Shepperton. Unfortunately I can’t recommend any of them as I was working late in the week I stayed here and the local restaurants seem to shut very early – I ended up having to walk to the main street of Shepperton which is in a different part of the town. There are recommendations from other Tripadvisor reviewers under the Warren Lodge reviews.

In summary, this hotel is certainly not the equal of the Ship in Weybridge, and its bedrooms don’t live up to the very atmospheric public rooms. But at a price of £65 a night it was less than half the cost of the Ship and very good value for the area. If you come to the Anchor expecting a beautiful pub with some basic but clean rooms attached, you won’t be disappointed.

  • Liked — Very atmospheric downstairs with beams, panelling and old plaster
  • Disliked — Tiny, drab single room
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gebwart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shepperton
0.0 mi away
The Warren Lodge Hotel
The Warren Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Shepperton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ship Hotel Weybridge
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Shepperton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Bridge Hotel
The Bridge Hotel
#3 of 4 in Chertsey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
1.0 mi away
Oatlands Park Hotel
Oatlands Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Weybridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
2.5 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchor Hotel

Property: The Anchor Hotel
Address: Church Square, Shepperton TW17 9JZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Shepperton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shepperton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Anchor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing