We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again”
Review of The Anchor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Anchor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shepperton
Certificate of Excellence
Beverley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed 16 September 2010

We had previously spent the night at the Harrison Hotel and decided that we would like to stay another night in the area catching up with old friends but unfortunately the Harrison Hotel was full the following night so we booked The Anchor Hotel as it was close by.
On arrival the Manager was friendly and between blasts of the fire alarm being tested he explained breakfast was until 9.30am, checkout was at 11am and said he would give us a bigger room as we had our 1 year old with us so we could fit his cot in. We were quite early (11.30) so unable to check in as our room wouldn't have been ready so we went out for the day and returned at 4pm.
When we went into the room we were disapointed to find that it was nothing more than what you would find in a youth hostel (and dred to think what size the small rooms were if this was a large one!) and there were no towels in the room. We went downstairs and requested towels and then went out for tea. When we came back that night we went straight up to our room to find we only had one bath towel and one hand towel between three of us!
We made a cup of tea and settled in, only to find that what ever the cups had been washed in had left a perfumed, cleaning taste in them so we were unable to drink the tea! We switched on the telly and realised the remote did not work and then closed the dusty old curtains. The floor boards creeked constantly all over the hotel and we could hear everyone and their actions all through the night! The pubs were noisey all night and then there was smashing of glass (which I presume was glass being collected) in the morning and people shouting at about 6.30am.
We washed in the disgusting bathroom which looked liked it had been tiled by our one year old and avoided the loose tiles on the floor and then headed down to breakfast at 9.15. We found the least messiest table and I went to find someone for a highchair and that was when I was told breakfast had finished at 9am (although I had been told the previous day it finished at 9.30)! I then explained we had no food for our son and as everything was still laid out for the buffet part of the breakfast if we could have some toast and we would make do with what was left out. The girl said that was ok and went to get the toast. Then as she brought the toast (four slices between the three of us and no highchair), I requested some milk so we could have some cereal and coffee (which was still out on the side) and on her return with the milk she promptly removed the cereal and other buffet food!!! I understand that we had missed breakfast but when there is already a buffet breakfast laid out what harm would it have done to leave it until we had finished? There was plenty of other things to be done in the restaurant as it looked like a bomb had hit it and no one was rushing to clean the tables up (I say no one but we only saw the one girl downstairs and she was between the restaurant and the check in desk). I was absolutely appalled at the lack of empathy we received and that is why I felt compelled to write a review of our stay. I really would not recomend this hotel, not even if you are desperate!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thecrazymare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    86
    39
    19
    16
See reviews for
55
81
31
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kilkee, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2010

i had read reviews of this hotel but went open minded. i had a single room and in all honesty it was tiny in fact i called the bathroom (a shower room actually) a broom closet. but it was clean and comfy clean towels and sheets every day. this is a hotel you can use as a base. the breakfast included in the price is very very nice and plentyful. the staff are very friendly, helpful, profesional and most of all fun. the food is excelent. i personally would recomend this hotel but you do need a car to get around as there is little to do during the day on site. enjoy. xx

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janetaManchster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villarreal, Spain
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

It looks a very nice hotel, but the rooms are too old.
The breakfast was slow and low

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NachoBroch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clacton essex
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2010

Spent a comfortable night at the Anchor hotel on 13th May 2010. The bed was one of the most comfortable I've slept in. The location was excellant as we had been at Shepperton Studios that day a short Taxi ride away a £5 fare. Hearty breakfast served in the morning. Good value for money and would definately stay there again if we were thet location

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClactonEssexCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2010

I stayed here with 3 colleagues for just one night (midweek). Paying just £45 for bed and breakfast, I thought it was great value for money. My double room on the first floor was small, but adequate. It was clean and had a TV, tea and coffee making etc. En-suite was a walk-in shower, spoilt only by a boring all white décor and couple of loose tiles behind the loo. There was some noise from other guests, mostly squeaky floorboards, but it is a very old building! Public rooms comprised extensive bars, dining room and function rooms. Nice selection of beers. Menu included a wide range of ‘pub grub’, we all had an evening plate meal which we enjoyed. Traditional English Breakfast was very good and freshly cooked, only problem was that the waiter didn’t take down the correct orders and so we didn’t get exactly what we wanted – he did offer to put it right. Staff were all polite and friendly. I would have no hesitation in staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Old_Waspy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2009

My partner & I, and our 7 month old baby, stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. Although the building & the downstairs part of the hotel is very aesthically pleasing, & appears to be well kept, the rest, unfortunately, leaves alot to be desired.

Staffing appeared to be an issue, with only one barman working on a busy friday/saturday night, & the breakfast waiter was busy on reception during breakfast time.

We checked in & went to find our room. There was a disgusting smell in the stair well, which didn't improve over the 3 days we were there. And when we got to our room, the number had fallen off the door. The decor was quite shoddy & tired

Our room was very basic, & the walls were so thin you could hear everything that was going on...I heard other guests snoring, going to the loo, their TV etc, not very pleasant. The floor boards were so creaky, & doors were slamming constantly. It was like being in a cheap student hostel, which we wouldn't have minded, if we'd have paid cheap student hostel prices.

We hardly slept either night, as the pub opposite played music til midnight. (I acknowledge that obviously this is not the hotel's fault, but I am mentioning it incase potential guests are hoping for a quiet get away). At the hotel however, between 2am - 4am both nights, there was some sort of after hours party going on either in the bar, or in another room. But because the walls are so thin, it honestly sounded like there was a bunch of drunk people in our wardrobe (if we had a wardrobe in our room, of course, which we didn't). Our baby is, thankfully, a good sleeper, but if she had been crying at all, I imagine the whole hotel would've been able to hear her. The parties were followed by noisy deliveries at 6am with kegs being rolled in the cellar. We woke up to a smashed wine glass on the landing, & other exhausted looking guests.

The reason I have given the hotel 1 star is because the breakfast was actually quite nice. A good fry up made the experience slightly closer to bearable.

To add insult to injury, we almost had to pay twice, & because my friend who was also staying at the hotel, forgot his receipt, (but did have his advance booking paperwork) he DID have to pay twice. We booked & paid in advance, but there was no record of this on their system, so another payment was deemed neccessary. It's difficult enough coming to terms with the fact that we had to pay once!

I strongly advise not staying here.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esmesma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2009

Our second trip to this little gem of a hotel. The new manager David couldn't have been more welcoming (or worked harder) to ensure our stay was comfortable. We stayed the same weekend as the previous reviewer and have to agree the ONLY downside to this hotel is the Kings head pub over the square (if you're not local, you're not made to feel welcome here !). However this was not enough to deter us and have re-booked already for next year.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffie37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shepperton
0.0 mi away
The Warren Lodge Hotel
The Warren Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Shepperton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western The Ship Hotel
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Shepperton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Bridge Hotel
The Bridge Hotel
#3 of 4 in Chertsey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
1.0 mi away
Oatlands Park Hotel
Oatlands Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Weybridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
2.5 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchor Hotel

Property: The Anchor Hotel
Address: Church Square, Shepperton TW17 9JZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Shepperton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shepperton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Anchor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing