We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!”
Review of The Lensbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lensbury
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Teddington
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Lovely room with a generous bathroom. Wonderful coffee machine and fabulous shower!
Bed was comfortable, and we had access to extra cushions and pillows.
We will be returning to use the facilities here as we did not have enough time during our stay this time around.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BradlingtonMcCormack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kathyslambert, Sales Coordinator at The Lensbury, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you for your reveiw of The Lensbury following your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit and that you will be returning to make us of our leisure facilities. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards

Kathy Lambert
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    180
    86
    26
    15
See reviews for
88
133
16
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Arrived late (12.45am) and was warmly greeted by a (German?) lady receptionist who was efficient at booking me in and directing me to the room. Breakfast in the conservatory was delicious and the business centre was really impressive- modern, facilities excellent and service fabulous. A really great place for a stay and a meeting with all of the facilities you would expect from a 4* hotel.

Room Tip: Booked a room late and had a single but even this was plenty big enough for one occupancy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie0501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here after our nephews wedding. It's in a nice spot near Teddington Lock, lovely grounds and excellent sports facilities. The breakfast was really good. In particular the staff at this hotel were excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kathyslambert, Sales Coordinator at The Lensbury, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you for your recent review of The Lensbury, following your nephew's wedding. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit, particularly the breakfasts. It is always nice to hear that our staff are providing a good service too.

We look forward to welcoming you to The Lensbury again soon.

Best regards

Kathy Lambert
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White River, South Africa
Level Contributor
150 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We wanted to have a quiet, relaxed three days with our son and his wife, and our daughter, so we booked three rooms at the Lensbury in July/August. It was the perfect venue. The value for money was excellent - beautiful gardens, a lovely building, lots to do, excellent breakfast, and lots more. Our executive room was spacious and I loved the Nespresso machine and complimentary capsules. The bed was very comfortable although I thought at first that it would be too soft (I have severely herniated discs). I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PageandPaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kathyslambert, Sales Coordinator at The Lensbury, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you for your kind comments about The Lensbury following your recent stay. We are delighted to hear that you liked the Nespresso coffee machine in your room and found the beds comfortable. It always nice to hear the particular details that guests appreciate.

We do hope you will be back to stay with us soon.

Best regards

Kathy Lambert
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Stayed a second time for a family/friends get together. This time we had a room in the main building - it was better than the previous one in the annex but it was still really a decent 3 star than a 4 star quality room. Made extensive use of the leisure facilities this time and they were very good, which reinforced our first visit's opinion that members rather than hotel guests are the priority, and that it is the leisure facilities and extensive grounds that deliver the 4 star badge rather than the accommodation itself. Breakfasts and light bites etc were good enough but we had dinner out (try 'The Old Goat', a Belgian beer themed pub, 10 minute taxi ride away, with excellent food, great staff and an extensive beer and wine menu). The hotel bar itself was ok - good beers / ales on offer and enough space to cater for those watching football and those not. Unlike some have commented on here, hotel staff were generally very good and very helpful at all times. All in all a better stay, helped by leisure use and a couple of days sunshine spent on the tennis court and relaxing in the gardens. I'd go back happily but I'd bear in mind that it's really a quite grand 3 star (or 3.5 star if they existed) hotel with very good leisure facilities and lovely grounds so don't expect the 4 star rooms' quality of some of the more prominent chains.

Room Tip: Stay on the left hand side of the main building as you face it - much quieter in the mornings becaus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BernardBurnard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
116 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I stay at this club regularly as part of several conferences / meetings that my organisation keeps having it there. I enjoy staying here specially during summer as there is a nice ambiance to the place with good open places and enough sports facilities. The rooms are decent - cannot say that this is their best point though. Location is outside of London but closer to Heathrow.

Room Tip: During summer time it gets very hot and they donot have few rooms with airconditoiners - so ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shishir_ag1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kathyslambert, Sales Coordinator at The Lensbury, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you for your kind comments following your recent stay at The Lensbury. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the open space and made use of the sports facilities.

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and we hope you will be back to stay with us again soon.

Regards
Kathy Lambert
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I stayed here for a week from business reasons. Dirty rooms, smell of dust everywhere. It is the worst hotel in England I have ever been. Single rooms are very small. Reception is very polite but it can not improve the overall impression. I would never recommend this place. The only advantage are the sport related facilities.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kathyslambert, Sales Coordinator at The Lensbury, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear KK,

Thank you for your comments following your stay at The Lensbury recently. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the experience and found the rooms to be “dirty with a smell of dust.” We are surprised you did not mention this to hotel reception over the 5 day period you stayed with us. We would have dealt with your concerns immediately and ensured your stay was comfortable. We shall be addressing these issues with our housekeeping team. We would have liked the opportunity of speaking to you and perhaps you would give us the courtesy of contacting the Hotel General Manager so he can follow up in person.
Our single rooms are a little on the small side if you are used to large hotel rooms, however we believe they are adequately comfortable for a business stay and the beds are extra wide. I am pleased to hear that you found the reception staff to be polite, we do try to create a good impression for all our guests. The sport facilities at The Lensbury are excellent with a wide range of activities available and I hope you were able to take advantage of these during your visit.

Thank you for taking the time to send us your thoughts.

Regards

Ivor Turner
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Teddington
0.6 mi away
Travelodge London Teddington
0.7 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#3 of 3 in Teddington
504 reviews
1.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton London Kingston Upon Thames
Doubletree by Hilton London King...
#4 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Alexander Pope
The Alexander Pope
#3 of 6 in Twickenham
371 reviews
2.1 mi away
London Marriott Hotel Twickenham
1.9 mi away
Richmond Hill Hotel
Richmond Hill Hotel
#3 of 11 in Richmond
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lensbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lensbury

Property: The Lensbury
Address: Broom Road, Teddington TW11 9NU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Teddington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Teddington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lensbury 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lensbury is a 4 star hotel and conference centre located on the banks of the River Thames at Teddington in South West London. Conveniently close to major attractions such as Hampton Court Palace, Kew Gardens and Twickenham Rugby Stadium, The Lensbury offers a good standard of accommodation, extensive leisure facilities and quality dining. The Lensbury is just 20 minutes by train from central London and 25 minutes by car from London Heathrow Airport and close to links for the M3 and M4 motorways.The property has its own car parking for 200 cars, complimentary WiFi throughout and 25 acres of grounds and gardens for you to enjoy.It truely is London's hidden gem on the Thames. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your The Lensbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lensbury Hotel Teddington
The Lensbury Teddington, Greater London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing