We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”
Review of The Lensbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lensbury
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Teddington
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I have stayed at the Lensbury on a number of occasions for short breaks and think it is a great place to stay. The staff are always friendly and efficient and the rooms although not always very large are clean and comfortable with all the necessary extras. I've always found the food very good. The setting just close to the Thames and grounds that you can walk around add that extra touch. The Lensbury is used for weddings and conferences etc so often quite busy. The sports bar shows all the main sporting events on a TV and there is plenty of room to sit. You have the option of eating in the restaurant or in the bar. If I'm in the area visiting friends this is always the place I stay. It isn't exclusively a hotel as local people can take out some sort of membership to use the sports facilities, bars, restaurant etc.

Room Tip: I have stayed in a number of different rooms some better than others as far as size is concerned. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgesT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kathyslambert, Sales Coordinator at The Lensbury, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The Lensbury following your recent stay with us. It is nice to get good feedback and we appreciate your kind comments. We are very proud of our beautiful riverside location and the wealth of facilities we have on offer here. It is a good option for visiting the local area with comfortable, clean accomodation, leisure club and friendly helpful staff.

We hope to see you again soon at The Lensbury.

Best regards

Kathy Lambert
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    189
    89
    27
    17
See reviews for
96
145
16
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Initial caveat : I'm a member at the Lensbury, so this review is not from the perspective of a hotel guest.

Overall the club is excellent - there's a good-sized gym that never gets packed in the same way some of the commercial gyms do. The newly-refurbished terrace area and the outdoor seating areas are an oasis of peace and quiet - the nosiest interruption is the river going over the weir. The food at the club is possibly its only weak point - it's certainly not poor, but sometimes lacks sophistication. There are good facilities for kids for both hotel guests and members, which can give bored offspring something to amuse them if necessary. The bar area is very conservative, bordering on old-fashioned. The location is a little out-of the-way : Teddington high street and the station are about 10 mins slow walk, but there is a shuttle bus at peak times to/from the station, mainly used by conference delegates. The Spa area is somewhat utilitarian, but the treatments are good value and professionally delivered. The club has a refurbishment strategy over the next few years which will improve some of the weaker points, but as it stands today the Lensbury is still an attractive option.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gflyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kathyslambert, Sales Coordinator at The Lensbury, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Thank you for your review of The Lensbury. It is always great to have feedback especially from our valued members. We are always striving to improve what we offer here and as you mentioned we have a programme of improvements and refurbishment which is ongoing.
We balance the requirements of a premium leisure club, 4 star hotel and conference centre in this unique setting and it is nice to hear that we are managing this well. We believe one of our strengths at The Lensbury is the caring, friendly staff which gives the place its special feel.

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and we hope to see you again soon.

Best regards

Kathy Lambert
Sales Coodinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Lensbury for a weekend in September to spend a day at Sandown races. We had a great stay. A beautiful setting beside the Thames with plenty of bars and cafes nearby. Breakfast was lovely, excellent service and friendly staff. We would definitely stay at the Lensbury again

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebMat1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kathyslambert, Sales Coordinator at The Lensbury, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Thank you for your kind comments about The Lensbury following your recent stay with us. I am pleased you enjoyed your visit for the Sandown races. The Lensbury is ideally placed for visiting the attractions of Hampton Court, Richmond, Twickenham and Esher with plenty of local bars and restaurants nearby too as you mentioned. We are fortunate to have a beautiful riverside location which is especially enjoyable in the summer when you can sit outside for meals and drinks.

We do hope you will be back to visit us again soon.

Best regards

Kathy Lambert
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Food average and bad value for the price - better food and value up the high street.
Staff pretty good but let down by the menu which is less than sparkling.
Could be a gold mine and once was but need to up their game as the competition has.
Sports facilities are excellent but main sports bar lacks any atmosphere - like a dressed up lounge

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vortex2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kathyslambert, Sales Coordinator at The Lensbury, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you for your recent review of The Lensbury following your stay. We are delighted to announce that we have just launched a great new menu so we do hope you will come back to experience it.
We are thrilled that you liked our sports facilities. The all weather rugby pitch will be launched soon if you are interested?
Plans are in place for a new sports bar in 2014. We will keep you posted………………

Come back soon etc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I have been there several times for business meetings. It is a relaxing place at a short drive from London Hathrow ( 20 mins ) and half an hour train journey from Central London. Ideal for business meetings and conferences.
Rooms are very small but with all comforts, clean and well decorated. Free wi fi everywhere.
Park and sport facilities are excellent.
Food is very basic - but this may depend from the event organiser budget.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pereppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kathyslambert, Sales Coordinator at The Lensbury, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank you for your review of The Lensbury following your recent stay with us. We are very proud of our conference facilities and have just been officially recognised with an AIM Gold award for excellence in meetings. We know that some of our bedrooms are a little on the small size compared with some you have stayed in, but we believe they are comfortable, clean and convenient especially when attending a conference.
Our leisure facilities which include pool, gym, watersports and tennis, make us a very popular destination for sports fans. I hope you managed to make use of them whilst you were here.

We do hope you visit us again soon and look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards

Kathy Lambert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Lovely room with a generous bathroom. Wonderful coffee machine and fabulous shower!
Bed was comfortable, and we had access to extra cushions and pillows.
We will be returning to use the facilities here as we did not have enough time during our stay this time around.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BradlingtonMcCormack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kathyslambert, Sales Coordinator at The Lensbury, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you for your reveiw of The Lensbury following your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit and that you will be returning to make us of our leisure facilities. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards

Kathy Lambert
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Arrived late (12.45am) and was warmly greeted by a (German?) lady receptionist who was efficient at booking me in and directing me to the room. Breakfast in the conservatory was delicious and the business centre was really impressive- modern, facilities excellent and service fabulous. A really great place for a stay and a meeting with all of the facilities you would expect from a 4* hotel.

Room Tip: Booked a room late and had a single but even this was plenty big enough for one occupancy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie0501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Teddington
0.6 mi away
Travelodge London Teddington
0.7 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#3 of 3 in Teddington
514 reviews
1.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton London Kingston Upon Thames
Doubletree by Hilton London King...
#4 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Richmond Hill Hotel
Richmond Hill Hotel
#3 of 14 in Richmond
1,470 reviews
1.2 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
1,031 reviews
2.1 mi away
London Marriott Hotel Twickenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lensbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lensbury

Property: The Lensbury
Address: Broom Road, Teddington, Richmond TW11 9NU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Richmond > Teddington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Teddington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lensbury 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lensbury is a 4 star hotel and conference centre located on the banks of the River Thames at Teddington in South West London. Conveniently close to major attractions such as Hampton Court Palace, Kew Gardens and Twickenham Rugby Stadium, The Lensbury offers a good standard of accommodation, extensive leisure facilities and quality dining. The Lensbury is just 20 minutes by train from central London and 25 minutes by car from London Heathrow Airport and close to links for the M3 and M4 motorways.The property has its own car parking for 200 cars, complimentary WiFi throughout and 25 acres of grounds and gardens for you to enjoy.It truely is London's hidden gem on the Thames. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Lensbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lensbury Hotel Teddington
The Lensbury Teddington, Greater London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing