We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable”
Review of The Lensbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lensbury
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Teddington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Excellent setting by the Themes, surrounded by grounds leading to the river. Good outdoor terrace, but no waiter service you have to order at the bar.
Good gym and spa available, the rooms are well appointed, with Nespresso coffee and Fridge.
Clean and comfortable, usual full English breakfast a must!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kathyslambert, Sales Coordinator at The Lensbury, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Thank you for your review of The Lensbury following your recent stay. The Lensbury is a lovely hotel and leisure club with lots to offer the visitor. I am glad you enjoyed the location, facilities and the breakfast in particular. We do now offer a table service in our Dunbar Restaurant during the evenings, so if you come back again, please bear it in mind if you prefer waiter service.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (514)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 514 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed at the lensbury during a 3 day trip to London..I believe in giving an accurate account so firstly I have to say the good points are..first impressions are as lovely hotel set in beautifully manicured gardens with mature trees bordered by the locks at teddington on the Thames. The whole hotel was nicely presented, especially the bar/eating restaurant areas. The rooms were modern and very clean and reception staff were good.but from here on in the stay was not a great experience. Firstly the breakfast staff seemed moody and the food was not anything to write home about...we then booked a table in the main restaurant and were very disappointed by the whole evening. We invited 2 other couples, both close friends to join us for dinner. They were staying at lesser hotels and we thought if looks were anything to go by, eating here would be a lovely experience. Nearly 2 hours after we sat down we received our dinner, one wrong order, 4 cold dinners, one half cooked piece of chicken and one nice meal.portions were small and overpriced. Cheapest wine was £32 per bottle. There was some kind of upset going on in the kitchen, all waiting staff seemed embarrassed at the bad service and restaurant manager was out of his depth..to be honest the worst dining experience I have had....would I stay here again? Yes but only on a room only basis, I certainly wouldn't eat here again as there a many more places to eat in the locality that are better priced and service/quality of food much better. PS. I notice the PR manager replies... Hope this happens to this report.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
2  Thank skierpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kathyslambert, Sales Coordinator at The Lensbury, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review The Lensbury following your recent visit.

I am sorry to hear that you did not have a good meal experience for which we are sincerely sorry. It seems that particular evening was very busy and owing to staff illness we were working with a different team of chefs. This is by no means an excuse and it should not have affected your meal service. I have been assured that all problems have now been sorted out and this will not happen again. You should also have been offered a second wine list if there was nothing on the first list which appealed. We would urge you to come back to The Lensbury and give us another try soon. Many thanks for giving your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

We met friends who were staying at the hotel for dinner - do not do this. Some had starters which were mediocre and then we waited and waited and waited for our mains. We arrived at 8 and at 9 were told the meal would arrive in minutes and were given a round of drinks. At 920 we were told they had run out of one of the mains and two of our party had to reorder. When all the food eventually arrived they were all cold and one meal inedible.
I felt sorry for the waiters who we could see arguing with the chef. No we didn't have to pay but does that make up for a ruined evening?

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kathyslambert, Sales Coordinator at The Lensbury, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Thank you for your review of The Lensbury following your recent visit. I am sorry to hear you had such a disappointing experience with your meal and I can only apologise for the poor service you received. It was a very busy evening for us and there were some supervision problems in the kitchen due to staff illness. This should not have spoiled your meal and I am sorry that it did so. I note that you were not charged for the meals and I hope you will forgive this slip-up in our usually good service and food offering. We have sorted the problems with supervision and have taken steps to ensure this does not happen again. Please come back to The Lensbury again and give us another try. We would be delighted to welcome you back for a much better evening.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in a standard room, yes it was on the small side but that's normal for a London hotel. It was spotlessly clean with a lovely view over the grounds and the river. As stated in previous reviews the windows do open only a small amount unless you unclip the catch at the side which has to be there for health and safety. breakfast was served in the conservatory and was plentiful and service good. we also ate in the restaurant one evening and had a really lovely meal that was very good value. This is bar far the best hotel in Teddington and definitely the best value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TC_82_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kathyslambert, Front Office Manager at The Lensbury, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review. We are pleased you had a lovely stay with us. Thanks for your comments regarding the restaurant and the quality of food. I am glad you enjoyed your river & garden view bedroom.

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and we look forward to welcoming you to the Lensbury Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Noel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

late booking via booking.com and late check in at 2300 and out for 0830 so difficult to give it a complete review.
check in very smooth. Standard room on the small side. with floor boards creaking. felt guilty going to the bathroom. Room also very warm. window only opens about 2 inch so no chance of a breeze. needless to say didn't sleep well. Breakfast good. Served in conservatory. hot and cold buffet type with usual choice of fare. Coffee actually tastes like coffee so a definite plus.
Checkout very smooth. Unfortunately didn't have time tibsample the leisure facilities. overall OK would book again but possibly only at a lower rate.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kathyslambert, Sales Coordinator at The Lensbury, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for your review of The Lensbury following your recent stay. Although it was only a brief visit, we appreciate you taking the time to forward your comments. It is nice to know you found the check in and check out procedure easy and efficient and that you enjoyed the breakfast in particular. I am sorry if you found the bedroom to be uncomfortably hot. The windows cannot be opened wide for health and safety reasons, however we do provide an electric fan which you could have used. Alternatively, our superior bedrooms do have air conditioning so another time it might be worth paying a little extra and upgrading to a room with air conditioning. We do hope you will come back to the Lensbury again and perhaps next time you will have the chance to try our leisure facilities. Many thanks again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel has everything that would be required for a relaxing stay ie spa, restaurants and idyllic setting, unfortunately it also has rooms that are hotter than the sun !! We couldn't open our window much more than an inch and spent an evening gasping for breath whilst lip reading over the noise of a fan louder than a aeroplane turbine ! Avoid room 229 unless your on a crash diet or can't make the weight for a boxing bout !

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Leesidcup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kathyslambert, Sales Coordinator at The Lensbury, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for your review of The Lensbury following your recent stay. I am sorry you found your room unbearably hot. The standard rooms are not equipped with air conditioning which is not usually too much of an issue for us in the UK, but when the weather is warm, admittedly the rooms can get hot. We do provide an electric fan, which you did make use of, but another time if you stay at The Lensbury you could pay a little extra and upgrade to one of our superior or executive bedrooms which do have air conditioning.

Apart from the temperature of your room I hope you did enjoy your stay and perhaps had the opportunity to cool off in the swimming pool or with a motor boat trip perhaps from our watersports centre. We do hope you will be back to stay with us again.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

I'd not heard of this place before but met some friends that are members on a Friday night. This therefore is a review of the bar and restaurant area both of which had been refurbed recently.

I quite like the decor to be honest although I see others don't. Nice relaxed tables and chairs in the bar area on a fairly busy might with people spread over the bar, inside and outside restaurants.

For eats I had the crab starter which had a deep fried coating, it was quite fiddly to eat but ok all the same. After this a sirloin with Lensbury sauce which consisted of red wine, shallots and had a spicy taste - I liked it.

Anyway, good night, nothing to moan about and service was good.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kathyslambert, Sales Coordinator at The Lensbury, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for your review of The Lensbury following your recent visit. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed the experience especially the bar, restaurant, food and staff. We are very pleased with our newly refurbished bar and lounge areas and new Dunbar table service restaurant. We have gone to considerable lengths to incorporate the requirements and wishes of our members and guests so thank you for appreciating it. I do hope you will be back to visit us again soon. Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Teddington
1.9 mi away
Richmond Hill Hotel
Richmond Hill Hotel
#3 of 14 in Richmond
1,553 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Petersham Hotel
The Petersham Hotel
#4 of 14 in Richmond
686 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#3 of 3 in Teddington
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Travelodge London Teddington
1.9 mi away
Richmond Gate Hotel
Richmond Gate Hotel
#8 of 14 in Richmond
1,025 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Coach and Horses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lensbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lensbury

Address: Broom Road, Teddington, Richmond TW11 9NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Richmond > Teddington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Teddington
Price Range: £93 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lensbury 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lensbury is a 4 star hotel and conference centre located on the banks of the River Thames at Teddington in South West London. Conveniently close to major attractions such as Hampton Court Palace, Kew Gardens and Twickenham Rugby Stadium, The Lensbury offers a good standard of accommodation, extensive leisure facilities and quality dining. The Lensbury is just 20 minutes by train from central London and 25 minutes by car from London Heathrow Airport and close to links for the M3 and M4 motorways.The property has its own car parking for 200 cars, complimentary WiFi throughout and 25 acres of grounds and gardens for you to enjoy.It truely is London's hidden gem on the Thames. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Lensbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lensbury Hotel Teddington
The Lensbury Teddington, Greater London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing