We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding August 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tottington Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Edburton
East Sussex
1 review
“Wedding August 2012”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

We held our wedding at Tottington Manor Hotel, such a beautiful setting. We fell in love with it the first time we saw it. All of the staff were very helpful and efficient, and couldn't do enough for us. We had the most perfect day, the food, drink and staff were all great. All of the hotel rooms are lovely, all of our guests said how lovely they were. We all had breakfast the following morning and reflected on our beautiful wedding day. The food is amazing, we will definately be visiting to eat and hope to stay every year to celebrate our wedding anniversary! Such a lovely day, Sammie was amazing throughout all of the planning, the day could not have been better! You must visit this gem nestled in the sussex Downs!
Lauren&Russ

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauren480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    16
    11
    10
    2
See reviews for
30
41
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

Stayed here for a wedding, which was great & very good meal. Have eaten in restaurant before & have always enjoyed it. However, the bedroom & bathroom need a bit of attention. Couldn't shower as hot tap didn't work, dim lighting too. Lovely towels & toiletries though. Also walls are paper thin! no hairdryer or tissues in room which would have been useful. When a few things were pointed out when paying the bill, the lady made a note (hopefully maintenance will sort them) but no discount was offered which would have been a nice gesture. Will go again to eat but not to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillyfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Wow!!!!!!! What a day, we had an amazing day of our wedding, the staff were excellent and could not do enough for us, they worked there socks off, nothing was to much trouble for them, our wedding breakfast was excellent and left everyone talking about it the next day, we opted for the melon, followed by roast beef with all the trimming and then the famous chocolate brownie WOW again as it was superb, we had children there and Sara and Sam catered for there needs serving there food first and making them feel very special, we had a beautiful sunny day and the views in our pictures are stunning, not like many hotel our guest were able to get access to there rooms prior to the wedding to allow them to change etc, all the rooms were clean and the bridal suite was gorgeous, I must say Sara guided us through the day and made myself feel so special, Sam is very creative and made the room look a million dollar, I dont know how the staff do this as the very next day they were there serving us breakfast and again treating us with the upmost respect, I just wish I could do it all again, Hats off to Tottington Manor I would recommend this venue for anyone who is thinking of getting married, or thinking of having a party/anniversary etc.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

We had our wedding at Tottington Manor in early June 2012 and it couldn't have gone any better.

We had a few important factors that we really cared about for our wedding. Firstly we wanted to make sure that our guests would enjoy good food; we wanted a relaxed, pretty area outdoors for people to enjoy; we wanted to be able to have the ceremony and reception in the same place for convenience; and we wanted somewhere that the family could all stay together and that people could slip off upstairs to bed as and when they needed to if the festivities got too much!

We visited the venue a few times for lunch as food was really top of the list in terms of importance and we weren't disappointed. We clearly weren't the only ones who enjoyed it as each time we've been there it's been busy.

Sarah, who runs the venue, was always a gracious, friendly but not over the top host, and the waiting staff we found always to be discreet, switched on and very charming. When we came to deciding on booking the venue for our wedding, Sarah and her kitchen team adapted to all our various tweaks to the menu - as we had quite a few allergy requests etc - with good humour and we never felt that we were over stepping the mark or that anything was too much trouble. In the lead up to the big day it was nice to feel that we could really rely on Sarah to make sure that everything would run smoothly and all we had to worry about was enjoying the day.

The venue is stunning, the ceremony room is beautiful and the several double doors open out onto the lovely Sussex Downs and throughout the service, wedding breakfast and party in the evening, were very much enjoyed by all who attended and all commented on what a wonderful venue we'd chosen. We had a mariachi band play in the garden after our ceremony, which was brilliant and the garden party was just as we'd imagined. By the time we went back into the ceremony room, the Tottington team had transformed it into impeccable breakfast dining room.

The food and subtle but diligent service was fantastic. The waitresses were always hovering and keeping things running smoothly but at the same time were very discreet and polite and helped add to the fun but reassuringly well catered for atmosphere that we wanted.

Finishing things off, all the bedrooms (11 I think) provided a lovely mix of sizes of room to perfectly accommodate the different family members and the breakfast the morning after was fantastic in the lovely smaller, more intimate breakfast dining room.

We had an amazing day and, although being extremely lucky with the weather obviously helped, Tottington was just the perfect venue for all sorts of reasons and we can't thank Sarah and her team enough.

We have already been back for lunch and will continue to do so as it's so nice to be able to re-visit the venue we got married and have such great memories of.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012 via mobile

My wife and I held our wedding reception at Tottington Manor on the 10th August. Right from when we first met Sammie months ago she has done nothing but help us achieve our perfect day. Sammie listened to everything that Sarah and I wanted and put it all into place, exceeding our expectations. The afternoon was perfect, with champagne served on arrival before tucking into the lovely food. As well as the lovely food, the scenery around the venue is beautiful, our photos look great and this place will always be in our memories. All of the staff at Tottington are lovely and inviting, catering to our every need and I have no hesitation in recommending this place as somewhere to hold an event, or just to relax in the garden with a beer. We also stayed the night as well as the majority of our family, the rooms are nicely decorated and comfortable, wakin up to the rolling South Downs was also another big hit with the family. Thanks again everyone at Tottington, we will be back!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrandmrsdodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
267 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

We have been occasional visitors to Tottington Manor since the 1980s.
We like the large car park and the extensive outside terrace and garden - the views to the Downs are outstanding.
We normally visit at lunchtime and enjoy the bar menu so I cannot comment on the restaurant or rooms.
Yesterday we had the toasted ciabattas - roast beef for my wife and bacon & brie for me - both excellent. The wine was nice and the beer was OK (not much choice - as far as I can remember there has only ever been one draught ale available).
This a first class place on a sunny day so well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyinbrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

Arrived on the morning of my sisters wedding only to find no hot water in our room, this was not sorted out all the time I was there. And it was sorted then we probably couldn't have seen to wash anyway as bathroom really dim. We had to use another guests bathroom!!!!! Not good. Went to have a cup of tea in the morning and the milk in our room had gone off a week before hand, yuk! This is one of the best rooms at the place, at £108 pounds a night you expect more for your money. Will not be returning.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RC1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edburton
2.2 mi away
The Castle Inn Hotel
The Castle Inn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bramber
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel
6.5 mi away
Findon Manor Hotel
Findon Manor Hotel
#4 of 11 in Worthing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
The Hickstead
The Hickstead
#1 of 1 in Bolney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
2.8 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Henfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
8.7 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tottington Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tottington Manor Hotel

Property: Tottington Manor Hotel
Address: Tottington Manor Farm Edburton Road, Edburton BN5 9LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Edburton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Edburton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tottington Manor Hotel is only 8 miles from Brighton, set within the heart of the Sussex countryside. All rooms have countryside views and peace and quiet. A fabulous location for shopping in Brighton, visiting the many surrounding villages or walking along the Downs.Our rooms are well equipped with comfortable beds and thoughtful decor. We have an excellent restaurant offering delicious menus featuring local produce and dishes are freshly prepared daily. Menus are changed regularly and you can choose from lunch, a la Carte, bar snacks, afternoon tea or traditional Sunday lunch. Reasonably priced from £7- £27. An excellent choice of wines is also available from our well stocked cellar. Breakfast is included in the room rate and offers a full choice of cereals & toast through to full english breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Tottington Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing