We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Penalty kick away from perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
London Marriott Hotel Twickenham
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Twickenham
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire ,England
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Penalty kick away from perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

Myself, my friend and my son stayed for the opening match of the rugby season. My friend needed to bring the car for work the £35 on site parking was a big plus for this hotel. In fact the parking was right outside and would be perfect if you wanted to do a picnic with friends before a game.
We were offered an upgrade to a suite with pitch view for £200 when we checked in which the receptionist said was down from £500 normally. We declined and were put in room 417 which had two very fluffy double beds. The bathroom was clean although looked a tad small. The room was large and also looked clean although we did find an old m&m under the desk. The room has all the usual stuff plus a fridge (whew, no minibar ) which was handy as we brought our own bubbly.
Breakfast was an excellent choice of buffet hot and cold foods,pasteries, fruit etc etc..
the only disappointment with the hotel was the relentless money grabbing. They insisted that our room only included two breakfasts and wouldn't accept that we had paid for breakfast for my son. This despite the fact that he is only seven and wouldn't be eating a massive full English or anything. The staff were much better when we showed them a print out of the booking - do print one out just in case. We had had room service for supper which looked good value. However the tray charge and a tip (we hadn't realsied there was one) made a £13 burger poor value. My salmon sandwich was lovely at £6 although I had ordered a ham and cheese one. Luckily I had been deciding between the two so top marks for anticipating my indecision!
Other good bits were seeing the players eat lunch in the hotel and drinking in the bar afterwards. Don't know about standing up for the Sarries ,I almost passed out!
All in all a great if slightly pricey stay that really makes a rugby weekend.

Room Tip: Hang on to book a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyEade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    299
    106
    35
    25
See reviews for
187
234
25
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

Arrived from Cornwall to start our holiday to New Zealand to watch the world cup. A lovely way to start our hoilday of a lifetime for a Rugby mad couple will come back again

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dbnbry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey
Level Contributor
384 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 380 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

Stayed earlier thisyear for the England V France 6 nations match.

Wanted to book same room for two nights for the England V Wales game in February 2012.

They have tripled the price of rooms just because there is a high-profile game on.

I will never stay in a Marriott again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GGGSarnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

Travelled with partner and 20 month old son for 3 nights over the August Bank Holiday 2011 when watching a rugby match at Wembley. Good location, and within easy walking, or a short bus ride (bus stop right outside hotel entrance) to the train station for trips into central London. Also, quite quick to drive to Wembley, even on a match day.
Rooms large enough for a small family, and all modern amenities that you would expect of a Marriot hotel. Comfortable large bed, clean rooms, good showers, friendly, helpful staff, and great view of the city from our fifth floor room.
The breakast each day was good quality, with a wide choice of hot and cold breakfast items. Staff at breakfast very attentative and never had to wait to be shown to our table, or for hot drinks. Food from both room service, and in the bar was good quality, and again didnt have to wait long. Concierge even gave my son chocolates and a rugby ball to play with and keep which was a nice, unexpected gesture. He enjoyed both.
Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone, with or without small children, and would return.

Room Tip: High rooms give a good view of the City with full width windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paully28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

This was a typical Marriott in an atypical location. It's actually built into the Twickenham Rugby stadium. As such, it would be a great place to stay if you're planning to go to a rugby match. The service was very friendly and generally very good. The staff was very helpful in arranging transportation to Heathrow, which is no more than a half hour away (at least on a saturday morning). The bar area overlooks the stadium plaza and provides a nice place to have a drink and people watch. The downside to the hotel is that there's not much in the vicinity as far a restaurants, however, the hotel restaurant is quite good. I'd stay here again, especially if there were a rugby game in the offing.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerrymoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

Stayed here for just under a week. We are regular Hotel Stayers and always at A Marriott.
Hotel itself was the normally great Marriott, Room big, Clean and very comfortable, Very friendly Staff in all areas and in a great location for London only 30 Mins comute to London Waterloo.
The only dissapointing issue is that of the leisure facilities and this was explained to me whilst checking in. Children could only use the leisure facilities between 2-3.30 when I questioned this at Reception I was informed that this is clearly explained on booking but I am afraid this is not the case because i originally booked a Marriott more central to London and then rearranged this with Marriott after explaining to them I would prefer to be in a Hotel with a pool for my CHILDREN.
Was the first time after many years I left a Marriott feeling disapointed.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_WelshWestWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
396 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

We are really local to this hotel and took advantage of a last minute bank holiday cheap deal to stay here. We were really impressed.

We arrived a bit early but check in was no problem and the friendly girl on front desk upgraded us to a superior room on the fifth floor with far reaching views over SW London and even to the City beyond. The hotel is only two years old and everything felt very new and polished and extremely clean.

We did the stadium tour which was great, and watched a bit the England game over a Guinness and sarnies in the bar - very good quality. Dinner in the chophouse was also excellent and good value again with such friendly and engaging staff.

We used the gym literally next door which is a Virgin active with a fab huge gym, weights area and pool/steam room. A great bonus for guests and a huge cut above normal hotel gyms.

Finally, we were rewarded with a late check out so we could enjoy the gym again in the morning after the usual Marriott fabulous breakfast. We had a great time here and can highly recommend it.

A few local tips - this is literally part of Twickenham stadium. If you want peace, don't come on a match day where you'll be ten deep at the bar though I think the hotel above would still be a haven of tranquility. If you want the match, this could not be better placed as it's built into the stadium and the Twickers theme runs throughout the place. We were shown the match view suites by the Concierge and these are amazing - full dining facilities for 10-12 plus a balcony with outdoor seats in the stadium for 12. Stunning. Apart from local attractions like Hampton Court, Windsor and Richmond, you can walk to the station in ten mins (or get the 281 if you're feeling lazy!) then Waterloo in central London is a 20 min train ride away. Again on match days time this carefully or else you'll be sharing your ride with 80,000 fans - luckily always good humoured and welcoming, albeit often the worse for a few ales! We highly recommend this place

Room Tip: ask for a high floor if you want far reaching views over London
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twickenham
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn London Twickenham Stadium Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Alexander Pope
The Alexander Pope
#2 of 6 in Twickenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Lensbury
The Lensbury
#2 of 3 in Teddington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Richmond Hill Hotel
Richmond Hill Hotel
#3 of 12 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn London Twickenham East Hotel
1.9 mi away
Richmond Gate Hotel
Richmond Gate Hotel
#4 of 12 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Marriott Hotel Twickenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Marriott Hotel Twickenham

Property: London Marriott Hotel Twickenham
Address: 198 Whitton Road, Twickenham TW2 7BA, England (Formerly Twickenham Marriott Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Twickenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Twickenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — London Marriott Hotel Twickenham 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a blend of stylish comfort and modern convenience at the London Marriott Hotel Twickenham. Located inside the world-famous Twickenham Stadium, we offer an unparalleled location to the home of England Rugby. Our hotel features spacious rooms and an array of amenities to make your visit to England comfortable and effortless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your London Marriott Hotel Twickenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing