We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic team. Thank you!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of London Marriott Hotel Twickenham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
London Marriott Hotel Twickenham
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Twickenham
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic team. Thank you!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed here for the England vs the Barbarians game in May. It is not the cheapest place to stay when you are in Twickenham, but the convenience and location are well worth the money.

From check in to check out the team were fabulous and went out of their way to make sure we had an excellent stay. Even though the hotel was busy, nothing was too much trouble and there was a real genuine feel of hospitality.

Prices and amenities as expected for a London Marriot hotel. Staying here on a match day is a great experience and well worth a try!! (hope you got that!)

Room Tip: The rooms over the pitch are to die for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank silversams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    294
    104
    34
    24
See reviews for
182
229
25
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stayed for one night after a business meeting. I'm not a rugby fan but you can't help but be impressed at this hotels' location! Plenty of free car parking (but I believe it's charged for on match days). Impressive reception with friendly checking- in staff. The drinks in the bar are pricey but then they usually are, the guys serving were lovely, very friendly and helpful. I ate with a colleague in the restaurant and was pleasantly surprised and both the prices and the quality of food. I was given an oversized room with King size bed which was extremely comfortable so had a great nights sleep. The room was clean and very spacious. Overall a very pleasant stay, would definitely recommend and would stay again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judeeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

I have stayed at this hotel many times and it is comfortable and efficient as you would expect from a Marriott. It is not a hive of social activity but the majority of users are business people so that's not too much of a problem. Complimentary use of the Virgin gym is handy and being in the home of England Rugby a real bonus

Room Tip: Ask for one with an outward facing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gavuk1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire ,England
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed here for the last five premiership rugby finals. It appears to go from bad to worse. The rooms are comfortable as are the beds but they simply can't cope with being busy.
Despite booking nine months in advance and with a young child we couldn't get a room earlier than 3pm (kick off).
After a wander round the rugby village we escape the crowds to order beers and snacks on the second floor. It's waiter service and whilst they are polite service is slow. So slow we didn't even get our food before we had to get back into the stadium.
When we get back to the hotel our bags are still left in reception. The game went into extra time as well so really no reason not to have them in the room.
So one lift was broken when we arrived at 12.30 pm. The other breaks down whilst we are in it after the game. Cue to be walked all the way out of the building and up many emergency stairs to the fifth floor. Nothing offered to compensate despite paying twice the normal room rate for a match day.
On our floor the corridor is littered with trays left over from breakfast. It's now 6pm!The room is dusty and our room for 3 only has towels for 2.
I would have made a fuss but checkout was busy. I have since complained and Marriott have offered me an unspecified preferential rate if I stay again. What I what is better service and complaints handling there and then when I've already paid for it. . I am looking forward to seeing what they consider a preferential rate.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyEade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

I stayed with my family and we really enjoyed our stay. We were a bit disappointed about the family swim times - however this is not the hotels fault. The staff is EXCELLENT! Tanja and Gordon went out of their way to joke with my kids, myself and my husband. They went out of their way to make sure our stay was good. I cannot phrase them enough. The breakfast is good, but very overpriced. Stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Came all the way from Aust., all persons at the hotel were the best, very helpful with the International Sevens Tournament, my sister said the bed & pillows were of the highest quality, will come again.

Room Tip: Parking is not easy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Having lunch - whilst the food is excellent the service is woefully lacking. Three separate waitress/waiters came to confirm our order!!! 30 mins from ordering to service with an apology for lateness as they were busy (only four tables being used). On paying they ignored me took my money and did not offer up my change. Bad bad Marriott.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magdalena E, Director of Operations at London Marriott Hotel Twickenham, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Denise H,
Thank you for your review.
I am sorry to hear we let you down with the level of service we provided during your recent visit. We normally aim to deliver the food within 20 minutes, and I am sorry this was not the case on the day you dined with us. I also would like to appologise for the fact your change was not brought to you in a timely manner. Please be assured I did share this feedback with our team to ensure we can improve in this area.
Denise H, I am glad to hear you enjoyed the quality of the food and I do hope we will have opportunity to welcome you back and create more positive experience.
Warmest regards
Magdalena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twickenham
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Twickenham Stadium Hotel
2.1 mi away
The Lensbury
The Lensbury
#1 of 3 in Teddington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Alexander Pope
The Alexander Pope
#2 of 6 in Twickenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Twickenham
Travelodge Twickenham
#5 of 6 in Twickenham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
1.8 mi away
Richmond Hill Hotel
Richmond Hill Hotel
#3 of 12 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Twickenham East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Marriott Hotel Twickenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Marriott Hotel Twickenham

Property: London Marriott Hotel Twickenham
Address: 198 Whitton Road, Twickenham TW2 7BA, England (Formerly Twickenham Marriott Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Twickenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Twickenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — London Marriott Hotel Twickenham 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a blend of stylish comfort and modern convenience at the London Marriott Hotel Twickenham. Located inside the world-famous Twickenham Stadium, we offer an unparalleled location to the home of England Rugby. Our hotel features spacious rooms and an array of amenities to make your visit to England comfortable and effortless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Superbreak UK and Odigeo so you can book your London Marriott Hotel Twickenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing