We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of AAA Buggy Rides

AAA Buggy Rides
Ranked #3 of 17 things to do in Intercourse
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An amazing Horse and Buggy Ride through Amish Country and a real covered bridge on a back country road. You can also get out of the buggy and tour a private working Amish farm to experience Authentic Amish life first hand.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
376 reviews
120 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Even though this was on our trip itinerary, due to time constraints, we didn't know if we really had the time to take a buggy ride. At 4 p.m., we felt we could afford time-wise a 35 minute ride, paid the fees and waited until 4:30 for the other buggy to return. When we returned at 4:30, our guide, Samuel, a retired Amish farmer, requested we take a 55 minute farm ride with one other couple which we gladly agreed to do. Samuel was wonderful, very informative, and actually humorous, esp. when we got passed up by another smaller buggy. Sam said they follow the same driving etiquette as regular cars. Finally came to a large farm where we witnessed cows getting milked via machine, got to see mules, a garaged personal buggy, and visit the farm's Amish gift shop where we did buy a few things. Wonderful way to experience the Amish farm life. Our return trip included witnessing the landing of a large hot-air balloon. We took pictures with Samuel (he had no problem with this) and all in all had the most fun time. So glad we decided to take this ride. A definite recommendation to all.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank toadsoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    36
    5
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“totally worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

we thought we would see and experience more with a more traditional way of exploring amish county and we were totally right .

we went on a round trip with a buggy for about an hour and got to see farms and schools and people working and the best part was our guide answered really all questiosn we could think of. For someone who has only a vague idea about amish life this is a perfect start.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank nonameavailablehere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northeastern Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
270 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Odd start but worthwhile”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We took the 35 minute tour today. We consider it an odd start because we had a coupon from our hotel for a free 35 minute ride but we really wanted to do the 55 minute ride so we asked if we could use the coupon and just pay the difference and we were told we couldn't because our hotel would want to track what their guests were doing. It wasn't outer hotel that said this, it was the girl at AAA Buggy rides. It didn't make sense to use because AAAB ugly Rides would have made more money but...whatever.

We did go on the 35 minute ride, Henry was our driver and he was amazing. he answered all our questions and gave us so much information.

We highly recommend AAA Buggy Rides.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank justjo008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Our Amish Buggy guide was Henry. We was very knowable and willing to answer any questions that we had. We were with our 2yr old and 7mth old and we kept them entertained.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
625 reviews
129 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Well worth doing very informative”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

My wife and I did the 55 minute trip yesterday. Our driver was Amish and very open to answering all the questions thrown at him which helped to put into perspective the reality of some of the reality tv shows. Definately recommend. Great way to see the simpler life.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank emelian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed AAA Buggy Rides also viewed

Bird in Hand, Lancaster County
Bird in Hand, Lancaster County
 
Intercourse, Lancaster County
Strasburg, Lancaster County
 

Been to AAA Buggy Rides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing