We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Its back better than ever. ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Country Store

The Old Country Store
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Intercourse
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Plan to stop by The Old Country Store, the oldest store in the heart of the village of Intercourse, when you visit Amish country in Lancaster, Pennsylvania.Our local Amish and Mennonite craftspersons create thousands of handcrafted items that marry beauty and function. They, too, shop in the same store as you who come to discover their creations. From their homes to your home!
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Stairs / lift, Bathroom facilities
Windham, Maine
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Its back better than ever. ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

The store was sold by the former owner to the former manager. It has reopened better than ever. One of the oldest country stores in the country.
If you are interested in fabric, quilting, gift ideas, info on Amish history. This is a store for you.

Helpful?
2 Thank Elaharndro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    41
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Weedsport, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“If you're a quilter you'll think you're in heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

First of all, there are benches all over so you can leave hubby outside with the bags and he'll enjoy watching the buggies etc. going by. Then go in and walk around a couple times casing the place. There is just so much to take in! The front room is gifts, fat quarter packs, and "things". The large back room is the fabric. One thing I noticed and loved is that it is well-lit so you can really see the colors in the fabrics. My credit card suffers some serious damage when we visit. While there (5/14) I overheard people asking about when it opened. Apparently it was closed but had reopened the day we were there. If you can't find what you're looking for here, you really didn't need it!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rowdyandchloesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Iowa, USA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“I wish we would have bought more!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

This is basically a terrific Amish grocery store. Free samples. Great fruits, vegetables, meats, cheeses, milk, breads--it's basically Amish food shopping heaven. Not far from Lancaster, PA. I would strongly recommend stopping here.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
140 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Eye Candy Everywhere, Quilters Beware”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

This place has it all, gifts, Amish Country souvenirs (not cheap however) handcrafted items and many specialized cooking accessories. And of course quilts. There is a very nice, if somewhat limited quilt gallery on the second floor (not handicapped accessible. Just looking at the quilts is a complete treat and photographs allowed. It is a browsers delight. There is a full shop of quilting fabrics too. Our trip through this very pretty and interesting country was hastened by rain and a tornado warning so we did not make as many stops in other gift and quilt stores, thus cannot compare the prices. But having been there would recommend it not be missed. The staff are very friendly and helpful as well. Many "labors of love" evident.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Norma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
718 reviews
291 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
“Nice shop to visit.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

This is a nice shop to visit while in Amish Country. They have a variety of items. While some many be priced similar to some of the other shops, their quilts are quite expensive.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank RockNCreekGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Country Store also viewed

Intercourse, Lancaster County
Intercourse, Lancaster County
 
Intercourse, Lancaster County
Intercourse, Lancaster County
 

Been to The Old Country Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing