We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just right!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Intercourse
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amish Guest House and Cottage
Ranked #4 of 4 Intercourse B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed in the Dawdi Haus at the Amish Guest House and Cottage, and it was perfect! Clean, cozy and comfortable. Beautiful landscaping, horses clip-clopping by, friendly neighbors. Mr. Stoltzfus was so very kind and helpful- you don't get theses amenities at the big hotels! The homemade bread and strawberry jam was delicious. We felt cared for and welcomed. Location is great- close enough to attractions that you don't have to go too far, but far enough away from the hustle and bustle to really relax after a long day. Thank you, and we will be back!

Room Tip: Take advantage of Mr. Stoltzfus' guided tour, or at least follow his directions sheet on the sel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (12)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 12 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights. The Dawdi house is set up very nicely. It sleeps 6 , but I think it's best for 2 or 4. It's 2 beds and a pull out sofa, and a kitchen table. My complaints are very small tv, and small bathroom, with cramped stand up shower.. The Dawdi house is spotless, and decorated very nicely. The owner is wonderful and welcoming. I would not hesitate to stay here again . There is a fridge, microwave, toaster oven and coffee pot. The owner leaves coffee, milk, bread , jam and paper goods for you. The bathroom is stocked with towels soap, etc. This is not a motel, so there is no maid service. If you need something else, call John. We were there in winter, so could not take advantage of the beautiful swing on the lawn, or the chairs on our porch. Very peaceful and beautiful grounds. This cottage is a converted garage. The actual house is the other guest house.That is a 2 bedroom. I did not go into the guest house. I've been coming here for years, and didn't know of this place. We will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mittmott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

... we had the good sense to stay two nights in this lovely cottage. We were visiting Dutch Pennsylvania during a searing heat wave (it was 105 degrees outside on Saturday, July 7) and this cottage was a godsend. Our hosts were friendly, courteous, very knowledgeable and most helpful. Horse-drawn buggies trot continuously up and down the street in front of this, Intercourse's very first rental cottage. It is within walking distance of numerous stores and restaurants, deep within the heart of historic Dutch Pennsylvania.

The cottage is immaculate and comfortable, the price is right, and best of all, the air conditioner worked flawlessly. Absolutely no complaints! (Except, perhaps, for the slightly embarrassing name of this town!)

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
6  Thank shortsinwoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2010

Charming 2BR, 1 bath home - absolutely spotless. Not luxurious (it is Amish country!) but extremely comfortable - lots of rockers inside and out. Much of the decor and furniture is "genuine Amish", as both owners grew up in the Amish faith. Bedrooms have 1Queen and 1 Twin in each. Full kitchen - a continentental breakfast of homemade jam and Amish baked bread greet you upon arrival. Yum! Horse and buggies pass often - watch from the covered front porch. Beautiful yard with gardens, and a glider from which to enjoy them. Located in the dowtown area, lots of stores and restaurants within walking distance. In the back is the Dawdi cottage (Dawdi is Grandmother in Amish) - a studio with kitchenette, bath, and 2Queen beds that rents separately from the main house. This is a wonderful set-up for friends or families traveling together. - affordable with lots of space. Very friendly owners were born and raised in the area, and can recommend wonderful scenic drives, local restaurants, etc. Hershey, Lancaster, Philadelphia and Reading are all an easy drive from here. A relaxing way to experience this wonderful community - we come to the area often, but have never stayed here. Our mistake, and we will return!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank sophiegirl04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2010

Have stayed here numerous times. The owners couldn't be any nicer. Excellent customer service and spotless accomodations. Location close to town. This is our home away from home. Will be returning for the mud sales in feb.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank NewyorkChubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2005

If you are planning a trip to Lancaster, Strasburg, Intercourse, etc., you should try and stay in the Amish Guest Guest House and Cottage. My husband,myself and our two kids just spent three nights there and it was wonderful. The house is fully equipped with anything you may need. For babies there was a pack n play and high chair. It is a two bedroom, one bath brick house with fenced back yard. You can walk to anything you can imagine in Intercourse. Our kids are young and we were able to walk to a wonderful playground two blocks away. Amish buggies pass the house all day long! Great experience and so close to everything. Best of all it is very reasonably priced. They have their own web address you can look up.

15  Thank LisaCGivens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnnRuthie, Owner at Amish Guest House and Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2013

Our goal is to have our guests as comfortable as possible so they can be refreshed and relaxed when they leave for home. We want this to be a (home away from home) and a place they want to come back to. We try to make it as clean and attractive as we can. We believe in the Golden Rule, To Do Unto Others As We Want Others To Do Unto Us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Intercourse hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Intercourse Village Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
The Inn & Spa at Intercourse Village
0.8 mi away
Harvest Drive Family Inn
Harvest Drive Family Inn
#3 of 3 in Intercourse
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Inn at Kitchen Kettle Village
0.3 mi away
Travelers Rest Motel
Travelers Rest Motel
#1 of 3 in Intercourse
511 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carriage Corner Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amish Guest House and Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amish Guest House and Cottage

Address: 3625 Newport Road, Intercourse, PA 17534
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Intercourse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Intercourse
Price Range: £96 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amish Guest House and Cottage is located in the village of Intercourse, Pa. in the center of Lancaster County's Amish Country. We are within walking distance of approx. fifty shops, three restaurants, library, grocery store and also a Amish grocery store. Our Guest House has two bedrooms, bathroom with bathtub and shower, living room, dining room and furnished kitchen. The House also has a washer and dryer. The House can accommodate 6-8 people, each bedroom has a queen and single bed and a sleeper sofa in the living room. There is a porch with porch furniture.The Cottage or (Dawdi Haus) is a great room with two queen beds and a sleeper sofa. The bathroom has a shower only. There is a sitting area with table and chairs, microwave, refrigerator, toaster oven and coffee pot. It has a porch with chairs and a swing.We have WiFi, AC, TV and DVD in the House and Cottage. Bed sheets and towels are provided. We also provide a loaf of homemade bread and homemade jam, one quart milk and cereal.The beautiful countryside is there to explore and see the Amish farmers at work and also frequent there roadside stands where they sell there fresh produce, homemade baked goods and jams plus a lot more. Everyday you will see horse and buggy's going buy and if you don't see them you can hear the clip clop of the horses hoofs.I, John also give some Private Tours in your vehicle to Amish gift shops, craft shops and farms, I will design it for your interests. Contact me for more details. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing