We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelers Rest Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Intercourse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Just got back from a 3 night stay at this motel and enjoyed everything about it! Our breakfast hostess, Linda, was the nicest person ever. The rooms are clean, the breakfast is wonderful, and the free tour is amazing.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fromGeorgiaGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin S, Manager at Travelers Rest Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2013

Thank you for your review of our motel. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us and that you received great service from our staff. Our farmland tour is a nice way to get into some unique areas of Lancaster County, it is great to hear you were able to do this while staying with us. We really encourage our guests to take this tour, we believe it helps give people a good perspective of the Amish and Mennonite culture here in Lancaster. Thank You for staying with us--we hope to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (511)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

464 - 470 of 511 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2013

I thoroughly enjoy every time we stay at any of the hotels owned by the Bird in Hand corporation! I enjoy the continental breakfast, and that we can still enjoy the pools at the family inn! I think the best thing though is in the evening sitting out on the lawn chairs and listening to the occasional buggy pass by. One night my family and I even heard a softball game nearby! Its also within walking distance of Kitchen Kettle Village, Stolzfuts restaurant and meat market, and a host of other fun attractions! If you're looking for a nice quiet vacation in the heart of Amish county, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin S, Manager at Travelers Rest Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2013

Thank You for writing a review of our property on Trip Advisor. We are excited to hear that you enjoy Travelers Rest and our other family owned properties. We work hard at providing a home away from home for the guests that come to stay with us. So, thank you for trusting us with your vacation to Amish Country in the heart of Lancaster County PA.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

First time staying at this motel even though we visit Lancaster about twice a year. We were pleasantly surprised at the comfort of the room, parking, breakfast, location, convenience, etc. Oh and did i mention the reasonable price!!??? The room was spotless and contained everything we needed. The heat worked perfectly and was toasty warm (sometimes not so much at other motels in that area in the winter) lol- It was located AWAY from Rt. 30 but not too far away and the traffic was light in the evening when you want quiet! I was happy about our fellow senior neighbors, also. I think in the summer when families stay there, there will be more noise but with no pool there for the kids, maybe more seniors will stay there, rather than large families. I hope this is the case, because we will be returning there on our next trip to Lancaster!

Room Tip: ask for an end unit or around people your own age
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judihoude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin S, Manager at Travelers Rest Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Thank You for posting a review of our motel. We are delighted that you found us and that you enjoyed our property and the services we have to offer. We look forward to serving you again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

just spent another great weekend in the Amish country. spent two nights at Travelers Rest. Imho...still the best value in the area. as usual, clean comfortable rooms, friendly service and a nice breakfast. we generally go to this area twice a year and always stay at this motel. very affordable. right in the middle of Amish country. nice update to LG flat screens with many cable channels. cant wait to return in the fall.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oriole82001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin S, Manager at Travelers Rest Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Thank You for taking the time to post a review of our motel. It is good to hear you had an enjoyable time staying with us. We continue to work at improving our rooms with items such as flat screen TV's. Currently half of our rooms have the flat screen TV's, we are working towards having all rooms with flat screen TV's. When making a reservation with us feel free to request a room with a flat screen TV and we will do our best to accomodate.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us in Amish Country and look forward to serving you again in the fall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

This was such a pleasant stay! What a great area to have a motel. We usually don't stay at motels...but I loved parking right by your door. We could hear the buggies go by from our room...and we really enjoyed that. Just a few tips if you plan to stay here:

-Definately bring earplugs. We didn't have any problem with noise at night...but we wanted to sleep in until 9 or so...and people were already up and moving by then, if you are early risers...this probably wouldn't be an issue. We brought along earplugs and we were fine.
-Bring a night light or flashlight... if you need to get up during the night and go to the bathroom...the room is very dark...and if you turn on the bathroom light once you get there...it has a fan attached, which might wake other people in your group up.
-The room smelled a little musty at first...but I had some room spray and that took care of it.
-If you plan on using your iPad/iPhone with the updated sotware 6.0.1, please ask before you book if they have the wireless fix yet from Apple. (If this is important to you). Evidently there is some problem with their wireless and the new software.
-Go on the bus tour...this was a highlight! The hot pretzels at one of the stops were the best I have ever had, and melted in your mouth.

We would go back again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ohiosmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin S, Manager at Travelers Rest Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2012

Thank You for taking the time to post a review of our motel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are replacing some of the older heat lamps with new ones that have a quieter fan. This is taking place in the month of January. Next time your with us we hope you won't have a problem with this.

We work hard at keeping our rooms clean and smelling clean. If you ever run into this problem of a musty smell we are always willing do what it takes to make it right.

Thank you for sharing about the wireless internet. We were not aware of this issue and will look into getting this fixed. Also, we are so glad you took our complimentary farmland tour, it is a nice way to see some of the less traveled roads and Amish Farms.

Thank You for your review and tips for our future guests. We hope to see you again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We have stayed in the Lancaster area many times, and have used the Smucker Family chain of hotels every time. This was our first time staying at the Travelers Rest, and we were not disappointed. The staff is so friendly, and the room we stayed in was just a basic room with 2 double beds and bath..but it was spotless. The outside of the hotel was decorated for autumn with pumpkins, mums and cornstalks..very quaint. The price of the hotel also included a delicious "continental" breakfast, but in reality it was bagels, fruit, waffles, eggs, and several other items.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loriner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by this old-fashioned motel. It was clean, the staff was very nice, the place is well taken care of and the room was up to date. The breakfast was more than satisfactory, and nicer than some we've had in higher priced motels or hotels. There is a clean and working waffle maker that's quick, a choice of pastries, cereal, oatmeal, bagels, hard-boiled eggs, biscuits with gravy, fruit and yogurt, juices, milk, coffee and teas. You're not going to get much more than that anywhere else!! The breakfast area is small, but pleasant, and staff kept everything stocked and clean. The shower in our room had a new, curved shower curtain, and something new to me - a shampoo dispenser! Great idea. The room had a small coffee maker, a mini- fridge, and a large tv.

Now, the downside. The folks in the neighboring room stayed up late and we could hear them pretty clearly. Especially their coughing. It's not the motel's fault if people are noisy, but beware the walls are not thick. Also, the beds are hard. One or the other would have been ok, but together they made me not get as much sleep as I wanted. I was worried about the traffic noise, since the road is so close and people park right outside the doors of each motel room, but this really wasn't a problem, fortunately.

The problem with any accomodations in this area, is that there tend to be groups of people staying in one room, because they are touring or, gulp, shopping! They tend to stay up late and get up early and if you're a light sleeper and in a room next to them - well, you need thicker walls. Or I guess we should have asked for an end unit.

Two other issues: the bathroom door was very creaky and so if you get up in the night to go, you wake every one up. And the rooms are non-smoking, but in the morning our room began to reek of cigarette smoke. Apparently, the folks in the room next door were smokers and smoked right outside their door or something, and it came into our room, and our car. Yuck! Maybe a designated smoking area away from the rooms.

All in all I really wanted to love this motel, but we were there mainly to sleep, so I can't give it a higher rating since I didn't get a good night's sleep. A newer pillow-top mattress and an end unit would have done the trick I think. It was worth the rate we paid, though. Maybe we should just always travel with our own mattress topper :-)

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin S, Manager at Travelers Rest Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2012

We thank Michelle for taking the time to write this review. We’re so glad she discovered Travelers Rest. Still, we’re sorry her first visit wasn’t a total, five star experience. We’ve already rectified that creaky bathroom door in her room and have checked our other rooms for squeaky hinges. For Michelle’s next stay we suggest she make two special requests that should take care of her other issues. First, she would probably find one of our end rooms extra-quiet and smoke-free inside and out. We would also be happy to install foam mattress inserts for any guest who prefers a softer bed. We offer both options at no charge to any guest. Michelle, we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Intercourse
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Intercourse Village Inn & Suites
2.1 mi away
AmishView Inn & Suites
AmishView Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Bird in Hand
1,258 reviews
1.1 mi away
Harvest Drive Family Inn
Harvest Drive Family Inn
#3 of 3 in Intercourse
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#1 of 40 in Lancaster
1,973 reviews
3.9 mi away
Bird-In-Hand Family Inn
Bird-In-Hand Family Inn
#3 of 3 in Bird in Hand
500 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Revere Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelers Rest Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelers Rest Motel

Address: 3701 Old Philadelphia Pike, Intercourse, PA 17534-7011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Intercourse
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Intercourse
Price Range: £63 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelers Rest Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 40 room motel in is located at the edge of the picturesque village of Intercouse, PA and is just minutes from farmers markets, antique shops, museums, outlet shopping and theaters. Kitchen Kettle Village and the charming shops and eateries of Intercouse are all located within walking distance.Each morning start your day with a delicous complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast featuring a variety of pastries, muffins, bagels, fruits, yogurt, hot gravy over biscuits, waffles, cold cereals, juices and hot drinks. During your stay experience the back roads and people of Lancaster County in our climate-controlled tour bus as we wind through the scenic farmlands, making several stops along the way. Our knowledgeable tour guides will tell you the history of the Amish and Mennonites as well as their traditions of schools, churches, marriages, funerals, dress and transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Travelers Rest Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelers Rest Hotel Intercourse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing