We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Carriage Corner Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 4 Intercourse B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This was our first stay in a B & B and it won't be our last. We will definitely be back to visit the Carriage Corner B & B! Gordon is an excellent host, and a great cook! We stayed in the Strawberry Room and found the accommodations to be very clean and comfortable. We enjoyed spending time relaxing and reading in the common room, and had a wonderful breakfast with the other couples staying there. We are looking forward to a return visit!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WrightFamily2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed at the Carriage Corner B & B over the recent Labor Day weekend and were quite impressed overall. It was a last minute booking so I did not read the fine print carefully. We showed up expecting to pay with credit card. Gordon, the host, prefers cash or check. He was very good about it and said it was fine to pay the next day after we tracked down an ATM. Gordon was very helpful with regards to what to do, where to eat etc. Breakfasts were delicious - even my fussy eater partner enjoyed them. Yes, there is a prayer before breakfast but if you don't want to join in that is fine. We are not particularly religious but it is easy to just sit quietly for the minute it takes to say the prayer. If you find Christian values not to your liking perhaps Lancaster County is not the place for you.We enjoyed meeting the other guests over the breakfast table and got some great tourist tips.

We stayed in the smallest room - the Pineapple Room - which has its bathroom across the hallway. No problem really but if you feel funny about ducking across in your PJs perhaps one of the other rooms would be better for you. Robes are provided for you to put on but we did not bother.

Overall, we enjoyed staying there and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The very first bed and breakfast I ever stayed in...twenty years ago. And when I return it's always familiar and welcoming. Clean, homey, a large breakfast, a well-stocked library in the living room, books about the region in each room, and a host with a booming laugh. If you want a room near the activities, convenient to every thing, to every town, this is the place to try. Prices are among the best that you will find.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loretta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My friends and I have been here several times and never get tired of it. We came down on July 2nd for an overnight stay. We actually came to PA for the 150th Gettysburg anniversary, but instead of driving straight through we decided to stay a night in the Lancaster area. I'm so glad we did! We love staying here. Gordon is the nicest guy you ever want to meet. He always remembers us and welcomes us back in a very friendly matter. After welcoming you in he does ask for payment, but so would any hotel or motel. I don't see it as a big deal. We always pay by personal check as well. We stayed once again in the Plum Room, which is our favorite, and another friend of ours stayed in the Pineapple Room. Seems like Gordon did some updating since last year. New comforters and bedspreads which were just beautiful! The rooms are always immaculate and comfortable. The towels are soft and Gordon always gives us extras if we need them. He does have a few rules in the B&B which are not a big deal to us. He does like guests to keep the downstairs door to the garage closed because of the AC that is on. That is understandable. And yes breakfast is served at 8:30am and he likes everyone to eat together. We actually enjoy this because we love meeting other guests who are staying here. If you can't make it to breakfast then just tell him. Gordon is also a very clean person. He takes pride in keeping his B&B immaculate. I don't see anything wrong with that. We have had snacks in our rooms and it was never a problem as well as bottled water. He does ask that you use coasters since the furniture is new. People need to realize that this is a B&B not a motel room. Innkeepers like to keep things looking nice which is why a lot of times they don't allow children. We have stayed at several different B&Bs over the years and certain rules always apply. We don't have any issues with these rules. The place is clean and the price is right! Not to mention you get a delicious home cooked breakfast. We will continue staying at this B&B everytime we visit Lancaster. :)

Room Tip: The Plum Room is perfect for couples! Nice size bedroom and bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fiestylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Highly recommend if you are on a budget and/or are planning to spend the majority of your time exploring Amish Country but still want the B&B experience.

Carriage Corner is in walking distance of all the shops at Intercourse. We stayed in the Pineapple Room which was very small but clean. Our room was the only one without a bathroom ensuite, but we had a private bathroom immediately across the hall which was very clean and comfortable. Gordon would clean the bathrooms while everyone was at breakfast. We had access to the living room/common area as well as to his second refrigerator to store food purchases we made.

Breakfast was family-style at 8:30AM, and it was the best food we had all weekend! One morning Gordon made oat and blueberry pancakes with sausage and fruit, and the other he made a frittata with squash, ham, fruit, tomatoes, and cinnamon swirl toast on the side. Both meals were like feasts - there was always food left over. We had never eaten family-style at a B&B before, and we were pleasantly surprised at how much fun we had meeting the other lodgers and hearing about what they found to do in the area.

If you want something fancy or luxurious and plan on spending most of your time in your room, then you might want to look elsewhere (and be prepared to pay a lot more). That said, I think Gordon's rates are fantastic for the quality he provides his guests, and we would definitely visit again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patti G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

When I go to Bed and Breakfast the first thing I look for is friendliness and hospitality. I did not get any here. I felt I am in someones house uninvited rather then in a welcoming place. The first thing I did not like right on arriving, was that the Inn keeper ask for the money. I mean in the first 5 minutes (even he already had our credit card info). We got OK room, nothing special or cozy about it. The bathroom was clean, towels old with odd smell. You can hear everything and everybody when there are walking around. No much privacy. I did not like the fact that you have to be at breakfast at 8:30 sharp or you will feel like child late for school and be punished. Selection was very basic with no much to choose from. The owner/inn keeper was very frugal with everything. Just an odd guy in the wrong business for his personality. Overall I felt like there are way to many restrictions and not enough hospitality.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheKritk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My 14 year old daughter and I stayed at Carriage Corner last week and had a great time. Gordon was super helpful in guiding us on what to do and where to go. He was a lovely host and made a delicious breakfast. The room and bathroom were beautiful and very clean. This was a VERY good deal. Amish country is just beautiful. We will be back and stay at Carriage Corner for sure.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natascha V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Intercourse
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Intercourse Village Inn & Suites
1.0 mi away
Harvest Drive Family Inn
Harvest Drive Family Inn
#3 of 3 in Intercourse
271 reviews
2.1 mi away
AmishView Inn & Suites
AmishView Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Bird in Hand
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Bird-in-Hand Village Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
Inn at Kitchen Kettle Village
0.4 mi away
The Inn & Spa at Intercourse Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage Corner Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage Corner Bed and Breakfast

Address: 3705 E. Newport Rd., Intercourse, PA 17534
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Intercourse
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Intercourse
Price Range: £90 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carriage Corner Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carriage Corner is a Bed and Breakfast located just outside the village of Intercourse in Lancaster County, PA. We bring a unique blend of hospitality, laughter and kindness to your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Carriage Corner Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing