We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LEBANESE FAWLTY TOWERS!”
Review of Babylonia - CLOSED

Babylonia
Cuisines: Lebanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“LEBANESE FAWLTY TOWERS!”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Is it possible to give a zero rating??We went here before The Wall gig at Wembley on Saturday.The service was absolutely terrible - four of us waited 30 minutes even to be approached for the drinks order (we tried endlessly to attract the waitresses attention0-about 45 minutes for meal order to be taken - then when the starters arrived they were not ours and were whisked away... meanwhile the staff and the manager seemed very busy but were achieving nothing -the place was busy by now but nobody had eaten anything.
We were told finally that 2 of our starter were not available so the manager suggested a 'special' prawn and mushroom dish that was 'exceptionally tasty' -so rather than wait another 20 minutes for the menu to reappear we accepted -very foolish!!The starters appeared and the 'specials' were disgusting and left 3/4 unfinished.
After 1 hour the main food finally arrived -well one dish did -a plate of cold rice with some pita and a tiny bit of lamb in it -no sign of the 3 other dishes.The manager disputed the coldness of the rice so we put a spoonful onto his palm!!The whole restaurant was full of disgruntled customers with no food and staff disappearing into the kitchen and re-appearind with no food but looking so busy.The manager was strolling around avoiding looking at anyone or speaking to his staff.
Following a discussion with the manager we offered to pay for our drinks but the manager was so flustered he just told us to leave!!So we did ......if we hadn't we would have been there 'til midnight! 5 minutes later we spoke to some Norwegians who had been in there at the same time and they told us the manager had finally lost it and sacked one of the waitresses who had shown the greatest talent for aimlessly wandering up and down without carrying a menu,a glass,plate or speaking to anyone.Perhaps this was a step in the right direction.Fortunately they thought this was hilarious and at least we have a funny story to tell.The other real good news was that the gig was fantastic -thanks Roger.Avoid this place at all costs!!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KENBESTY2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    4
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Babylonia...”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

My partner and I were at the recent Robbie Williams concert and we booked a table at this restaurant.

The place was very empty when we arrived, with all the concert revellers walking by.

What a real shame for the public, as this place's food was very good. The service was slow at start with an eastern European young lady struggling to understand our requests for a drink, which got so frustrating we nearly walked out.

One of the managers stepped in and took charge of our drinks. I was glad as when we eventually had the food, it was of an excellent standard. Fresh, tasty and good value for money.

If you are ever in Wembley and like food where you can share and enjoy the taste of Lebanon cuisine, I would strongly recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingley
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Delicious and inexpensive.”
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

Four of us decided to give this a try based on reviews. The restaurant doesn't look much from the outside so we were a bit nervous and there were only two other tables even though it was Saturday evening. We had a selection of ten starters which were all delicious, especially the bread to accompany them. We all ad different main courses of either meat or fish-again all really tasty. We had our coffee upstairs in the Shisha garden and tried the coconut flavour which was lovely. We all had three drinks too. The total came to 124 pounds and was well worth it. We would definitely go again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank BingleyLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Delicious meal”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We visited Babylonia for lunch before an event at Wembley, the restaurant is ideally located for this purpose, only a 5-10 minute walk along High road to the stadium.
We had a selection of 7 starters which we shared between the 6 of us plus 5 main meals and drinks, the bill came to £94 including a 10% service charge. This was excellent value as the dishes were all freshly prepared and tasted delicious with a variety of flavours. The waiting staff were all very pleasant and regularly checked that we were happy with our meals.
Will definitely return when in the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank KatrinaUK_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“babylonia”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Lovely resturant. Delicious food. Everything so fresh & the very best quality. If you are ever in the Wembley area well worth a visit. Excelent service & very reasonably priced. Will deffinatly visit next time we are in london just wish we had such a place in Plymouth. The shisha area on the roof was delightful too, lovely atmosphere to sit & relax in after a lovely meal

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank margaret a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Babylonia also viewed

Wembley, Greater London
Wembley, Greater London
 
Wembley, Greater London
Wembley, Greater London
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing