We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very interesting.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smugglers Museum

Smugglers Museum
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Bolventor
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very interesting.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

A lot of information on smuggling and the vessels used for transporting contraband goods. I found it very interesting. All items well labelled.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Charlton G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    58
    32
    16
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Museum interesting.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

The museum itself, although small, had a lot of information to look at and read. Not much for younger children. The gift shop was excellently stocked and reasonably priced. My only criticism is of the staff. The lady on the entrance barely spoke, didn't make us feel welcome, and was verging on very rude. Looking at other reviews this seems to be normal, but what a shame for a beautiful building, full of history and in a lovely area of England. Du Maurier would be so disappointed!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Museum that could be in a Museum!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

An interesting place-lots about Daphne Du Maurier which I wasn't expecting and lots of artefacts to do with smuggling which are well labelled and interesting and we did learn a lot especially about how to smuggle goods in all sorts of everyday items!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank bilbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I'm glad I've been but will not go again, I was impressed but a little disappointed too, I thought there would be more spooky facts about smugglers

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dipcah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absorbing museum in an Iconic Inn.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We loved the museum in the Jamaica Inn. In particular, the various methods of smuggling used throughout the ages. We particularly enjoyed the part of the museum dedicated to Daphne du Murier, including items of furniture purchased at auction after her death.
Certainly worth a visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Smugglers Museum also viewed

Bolventor, Cornwall
Bodmin, Cornwall
 

Been to Smugglers Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing