We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing, sophisticated yet simple place to stay”
Review of The Old Parsonage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Old Parsonage
Ranked #6 of 16 Boscastle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A relaxing, sophisticated yet simple place to stay”
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We stayed at The Old Parsonage for 4 nights in August 2012. The room was fantastic and the owners showed us round some of the other rooms before the change over to new guests on our final day. The en suites are luxurious and a place to relax in a hot bath or shower at this B&B.

Even the basic double has a place to sit with a table, for a drink, watching a dvd from the extensive dvd library at The Old Parsonage (a real plus if you don't want to stay out late !) or just a chat with your partner. A real bonus compared to a basic double hotel room.

The attention to detail in the decor, the facilities and the style of the place is amazing at The Old Parsonage. Not a trick is missed, so you know exactly what this place is. It is a place for relaxing. There's no skimping on finishing the look and feel of the place here. It's a place that knows what is is and you can see that in all the details. From the king sized bed to the decor, the lovely garden, right down to the bathroom supplies from St Kitts Herbery at nearby Camelford.

The food was done VERY well by 2 good cooks in our hosts, Morag & Margaret. The small honesty bar is very nice and modestly priced for drinks and snacks. And there is a corkscrew if you bring your own wine (no corkage charge !).

No evening meals, but this is not a problem as there are many places just a 10 minute walk away in Boscastle if you want a drink with your meal. Or at the lovely restaurant at Trevigue, 15 minutes' drive away (Thurs, Fri and Sat). Don't bother with the pub at Crackington Haven - if The Old Parsonage is the place for you, the pub there won't be !

To top it off, our hosts Morag and Margaret are lovely & welcoming

A lovely B& to spend a few days in. Much better rooms than a hotel, more relaxing and much better value.

Room Tip: All rooms have a lovely view over the nearby hills. The luxury doubles are particularly spacious and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    7
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
158
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We stayed for two nights as a birthday celebration. The owners were amazing. Great room, great views, lovely decor, great hospitality (both a lovely welcome and attention to detail throughout our stay) fresh, locally sourced food, lovely, plenty of good healthy menu choices for breakfast and a great effort to ensure you had the breakfast you wanted. Clean spacious room, lovely products to use and even their DVD collection was to our taste! So wonderful we want to stay every month...

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egham Surrey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We stayed for 4 nights and had a truly relaxing comfortable stay. The owners were very welcoming and friendly. When we arrived we were offered tea and cake, The breakfasts were beautifully cooked with locally sourced products and plenty of choice. The toiletries in the bathroom were excellent and smelt lovely.

Everything a good B and B should be.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GingerGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

The good - The room was spacious, clean, tasteful, had a lovely view over the rolling fields. The bed was big and comfortable, and the breakfast was divine with food of the highest quality. We had the full English one morning and couldn't possibly eat it all! The local products in the bathroom were a very thoughtful touch.
The bad - Difficult to find any faults, it was so well organised with such attention to detail. I must warn though that the local pubs are a (short) steep walk away, but if you don't want steep walks - don't go to Cornwall! The local pubs are, of course, well worth the walk!
The lovely - The owners make you feel so at home! You are welcome to use the spacious dining room and conservatory at any time and they have a good library of games, books, guides and movies to borrow. They were attentive and friendly and a mine of good advice.
This is just what all guest houses should be!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joeroy03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

The Old Parsonage B&B is in a perfect location just off the South West coastal path above the village of Boscastle. Morag and Margaret are great hosts - welcoming and helpful but not over intrusive. The room we stayed in on the ground floor was very spacious and comfortable. Breakfast included a choice of home baked bread, local produce and a first rate "Full English" and other options too - all of which were delicious. Recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for the room on the ground floor opposite the dining room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WindermereBoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Beautiful, quiet location with a fabulous room, great breakfast and lovely hosts. Margaret and Morag were a delight - helpful and they paid attention to detail. The room and private bathroom were large and spotless. Breakfast in the dining area consisted of fresh bread, local produce and everything was delicious. What a treat to stay in this lovely house on a quiet little lane within a five minute walk to the sea.

Room Tip: We did not see the other rooms but I think every room in the house would be perfect. The location o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCXXIB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

A beautiful old house in a quiet country lane at the top of Boscastle (near the church) that has been well decorated and appointed by Margaret and Morag. The beds were extremely comfortable, towels and toiletries of the highest order and the ambience absolutely perfect. Breakfasts were superb; home made fruit salads and breads, and local produce that was cooked to perfection (bacon and eggs to die for!). Margaret and Morag are perfect hosts, and nothing was too much trouble. An excellent place to relax and chill out, use as a base for walks (there is a boot area in the porch and drying facilities if required) or just getting out and about in the north Cornwall area. Cannot fault anything, and would recommend The Old Parsonage to anyone. Will be going back myself!

Room Tip: Rooms are different but all are well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigmalkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boscastle
0.3 mi away
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
#1 of 2 in Boscastle
459 reviews
2.8 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
1,218 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Riverside
The Riverside
#2 of 16 in Boscastle
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tregatherall Lodge
Tregatherall Lodge
#7 of 16 in Boscastle
53 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boscastle House
Boscastle House
#11 of 16 in Boscastle
19 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Coach House
The Old Coach House
#1 of 16 in Boscastle
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Parsonage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Parsonage

Property: The Old Parsonage
Address: Forrabury, Boscastle PL35 0DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Boscastle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Boscastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Parsonage 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Georgian house at the top of Boscastle village, just a 5 minute walk across flower-strewn ancient farming 'stitches' to the south west coast path and close to Boscastle harbour. 5 spacious rooms with luxury en-suite, one on the ground floor. Rooms furnished in an eclectic style that blends the antique and contemporary to give an uncluttered and harmonious feel. Parking on site and a good range of pubs and restaurants within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Old Parsonage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Parsonage Boscastle, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing