We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fabulous”
Review of The Old Parsonage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Old Parsonage
Ranked #5 of 16 Boscastle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Spent a weekend at this fabulous B&B and though its pricier than some B&B's in the area its worth every penny. Its in a quiet area, extremely clean and spacious rooms and the hosts are a lovely couple who make fantastic breakfasts all locally sourced and trust me, you can really taste the difference. We also loved the fresh bread and ginger cookies they made every day, yummy!!! Only negative is that you must have a car if staying here but most people have cars these days anyway so not a biggie.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glunn11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2013

The Old Parsonage is a quiet and luxurious b & b in Boscastle. The owners are friendly and helpful. The room was very pleasant with double aspect windows and a large bathroom with loads of space. Breakfast is a delight with a varied menu and freshly cooked and appetising food. This is one of the best b & bs we have ever stayed in..

Room Tip: worth asking for a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OldtravellerDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

My partner and I had the pleasure of 3 nights at The Old Parsonage in Boscastle for the Easter weekend as a well needed escape from London. We were extremely happy with all elements of our stay food/hospitality/cleanliness/comfort - I would call out the high quality of everything, from the actual bed and 'The White Company' bedding to beautiful products in the bathroom, home made biscuits replenished daily in the room and oh wow the breakfasts (and there are so many to choose from) were all delicious - all ingredients thoughtfully sourced as locally as possible. Morag and Margaret are friendly and knowledgeable about things to do locally whilst warm at the same time very professional. I would highly recommend this special place.

Room Tip: I loved Room 2 - as it had a huge bed (I think can also be made into twin singles) and dual aspect w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CityGirlOnTour79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We are not usually bed and breakfast people and tend to prefer nice hotels. However this place easily matches the standards of top tier establishments in so many ways: the room and bathroom were well-appointed and beautifully clean; the food was largely locally sourced and superb, and the location was unbeatable in terms of view and accessibility to coastal walks and the town. I could not recommend more highly.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank E G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Morag & Margaret have thought of everything to make your stay a home away from home. Very comfortable beds, great views, tea, coffee & cookies in your room, bergamot & rosemary toiletries and lots of choices for breakfast. The Old Parsonage has a wonderful ambiance, is close to village centre and lovely garden to sit in. Boscastle is charming and easy access to coastal walks. We were fortunate to have lovely weather to enjoy the coastal walk to Tintagel. Originally our destination was Port Issac of Doc Martin fame but Boscastle is a gem.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Candice52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

I can't recommend this place highly enough. Everything that has been previously written about its high and polished standards and delightful hosts is true. Five stars in every regard and so welcoming! We only hope our other UK accommodation comes close.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosalyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We stayed at The Old Parsonage for 4 nights in August 2012. The room was fantastic and the owners showed us round some of the other rooms before the change over to new guests on our final day. The en suites are luxurious and a place to relax in a hot bath or shower at this B&B.

Even the basic double has a place to sit with a table, for a drink, watching a dvd from the extensive dvd library at The Old Parsonage (a real plus if you don't want to stay out late !) or just a chat with your partner. A real bonus compared to a basic double hotel room.

The attention to detail in the decor, the facilities and the style of the place is amazing at The Old Parsonage. Not a trick is missed, so you know exactly what this place is. It is a place for relaxing. There's no skimping on finishing the look and feel of the place here. It's a place that knows what is is and you can see that in all the details. From the king sized bed to the decor, the lovely garden, right down to the bathroom supplies from St Kitts Herbery at nearby Camelford.

The food was done VERY well by 2 good cooks in our hosts, Morag & Margaret. The small honesty bar is very nice and modestly priced for drinks and snacks. And there is a corkscrew if you bring your own wine (no corkage charge !).

No evening meals, but this is not a problem as there are many places just a 10 minute walk away in Boscastle if you want a drink with your meal. Or at the lovely restaurant at Trevigue, 15 minutes' drive away (Thurs, Fri and Sat). Don't bother with the pub at Crackington Haven - if The Old Parsonage is the place for you, the pub there won't be !

To top it off, our hosts Morag and Margaret are lovely & welcoming

A lovely B& to spend a few days in. Much better rooms than a hotel, more relaxing and much better value.

Room Tip: All rooms have a lovely view over the nearby hills. The luxury doubles are particularly spacious and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boscastle hotels
0.4 mi away
The Riverside
The Riverside
#2 of 16 in Boscastle
577 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Coach House
The Old Coach House
#3 of 16 in Boscastle
383 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boscastle House
Boscastle House
#9 of 16 in Boscastle
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Old Rectory St. Juliot
The Old Rectory St. Juliot
#7 of 16 in Boscastle
136 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
#1 of 2 in Boscastle
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Parsonage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Parsonage

Address: Forrabury, Boscastle PL35 0DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Boscastle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Boscastle
Price Range: £120 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Parsonage 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Georgian house at the top of Boscastle village, just a 5 minute walk across flower-strewn ancient farming 'stitches' to the south west coast path and close to Boscastle harbour. 5 spacious rooms with luxury en-suite, one on the ground floor. Rooms furnished in an eclectic style that blends the antique and contemporary to give an uncluttered and harmonious feel. Parking on site and a good range of pubs and restaurants within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Old Parsonage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Parsonage Boscastle, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing