We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fantastic bed and breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Valency B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boscastle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Valency B&B
Ranked #10 of 17 Boscastle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
south east
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic bed and breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is the best bed and breakfast we have ever stayed in. The hosts John and Denise are extremely sociable, without being intrusive. The four poster room is decorated superbly and the views from the bedroom are lovely. The whole establishment is very clean and presentable.
John is a superb cook, even though we did not see him in his frilly apron, which he says he wears!
The Valency is situated within easy walk of the river/harbour. There are several public houses and plenty of eating places within the area.
On our arrival Denise made tea and cake for us and during our stay a lovely cream tea whilst we sat in their well kept garden.
There is nothing to fault this well run establishment and the way the hosts look after their guests is a joy, especially in this day and age.
Well done Denise and John in ensuring guests are well catered for and for letting us share your beautiful home. We will return.

Room Tip: Two beautiful double rooms. The four poster is rustic whilst the blue room is more modern. Both are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank euniceSouthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
107
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Whilst looking for a B&B in boscastle earlier in the year for our holiday in June I found this wonderful oasis called "Valency" with all "excellent" reviews (which in today's world I found hard to believe), but the valency b&b is a excellent place to stay whilst staying in boscastle I could not fault the service and attention to detail given by our excellent hosts John & Denise, we were not able to enjoy Denise's world famous cream tea this visit hopefully on our next visit.
John cooked to order breakfasts were also very very good, as for the accommodation that to was very good and clean with everything you needed for a "home from home" feeling.
Thank you again to John and Denise for a wonderful stay.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Thank you Denise and John for a fantastic stay of three lovely relaxing nights over the May Bank holiday. Perfect B and B, the hosts have thought of everything! Lovely four poster room with all the luxurious comforts associated with a top class hotel rather than a B and B. Fantastic breakfast everything perfectly cooked and to order. We would recommend this to everyone and we will be back for another visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbaraP270959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Spent 3 nights at the lovely Valency mid May. As the weather was gorgeous we were able to take full advantage of the seating areas available in the garden. We stayed in the self catering annexe but on bed and breakfast basis, with our friends in the main house. As others have said John and Denise are the perfect hosts, and John certainly deserves his award for the best breakfast in Boscastle. The annexe is ideal if you like a bit more room, with its own very well equipped kitchen and lounge section. The whole place is beautifully presented and it is such a quiet spot too, yet an easy walk to several good places for dinner. We would love to go back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThelmaBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We had a two night stay in this wonderful B+B run by Denise and John. The windswept Cornish Coast lived up to its name with rain and wind, but we were cosy. Nothing is too much trouble for the owners, the room set up, expensive bed linens, and all amenities. Lots of fluffy towels. We could sit in the sunny conservatory and relax after a hilltop walk, we brought in a bottle of wine to have a pre dinner drink in the late afternoon sun.

The hosts were charming but not intrusive, very helpful. The cooked to order breakfasts were superb, even we could not manage a full English breakfast. I would highly recommend this B+B as a lovely place to stay for two nights and recharge. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in the blue room, very calming and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Just returned from another lovely week staying at Valency B & B where we have stayed many times before. This small but excellent b & b has everything you want, lovely food with a wide range of choice, comfortable rooms with wi-fi,t/v, i-pod docking and tea or coffee making facilities. A place for you to sit and relax after a day exploring Cornwall either in the lounge or surrounding gardens. Close to local pubs and restaurants the property lies at the mouth of the Valency valley near to the harbour and has the added benefit of parking (which many places nearby do not have)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank terry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uckfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We have enjoyed 2 to 3 breaks a year for the last 8 years at Valency.
Denise and John are perfect hosts, making you welcome and relaxed
in their lovely home. Superb breakfasts cooked by John are a great start
to the day in this very special place called Boscastle. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boscastle
0.2 mi away
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
#1 of 2 in Boscastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
3.3 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Riverside
The Riverside
#2 of 17 in Boscastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Boscastle House
Boscastle House
#3 of 17 in Boscastle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lower Meadows House
Lower Meadows House
#5 of 17 in Boscastle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Old Coach House
The Old Coach House
#1 of 17 in Boscastle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valency B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valency B&B

Property: Valency B&B
Address: Valency Penally Hill, Boscastle PL35 0HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Boscastle
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Boscastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely eighteenth-century home, central to beautiful Boscastle, Area of Outstanding National Beauty. Stroll to the famous Harbour, scenic old village, Valency Valley or dramatic coast path. Excellent base for the West Country with Moorlands, Gardens, Heritage sites, Galleries, Rivers and Beaches all within easy reach. Choose a local restaurant, pub, Michelin graded restaurant or drive to an amazing array of venues serving Cornish cuisine. In the evening you might catch one of our glorious sunsets from the rocks at the dramatic harbour entrance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Valency B&B Boscastle, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing