We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic youth hostel!”
Review of YHA Boscastle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
YHA Boscastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2013

What a fantastic place, great staff and a beautiful room with an amazing window! Having had a long walk to Boscastle it was the perfect welcome, very easy to find and a great location, we will definitely be returning for longer next time!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pendraggon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
There are newer reviews for YHA Boscastle
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2013

After a long day's walk from Bude, I found the hostel easily as I arrived in Boscastle. The lady looking after it made me welcome and got me a glass of water as I completed a registration form. I was in room one, a dormitory with one bunk unit and 3 single beds. The room was very comfortable and extremely clean in fact the whole place was spotless. This was my first stay at a YHA in 25 years and I will certainly be using them a lot more. A duvet cover, pillowcase and bottom sheet were provided which you remove on departure putting them in the laundry bin at reception. The shower rooms/toilet were along the corridor nearby and on the ground floor were the common room and kitchen. Towels can be hired and toiletries can be purchased in small amounts. There are a good choice of cafes, restaurants and pubs close by as well as a Spar, bakery etc.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

I stayed at this hostel for 2 nights with a friend. We had a lovely stay. The hostel is in a beautiful location down by the harbour and is quite modern internally following a renovation after the floods. Upstairs the rooms and bathrooms were warm, cosy and spotlessly clean. Downstairs there was a well equipped kitchen and a large common room/lounge which was ideal for keeping warm on a cold January night.

The warden was very friendly and was keen to ensure we were comfortable, and she also arranged discounted tickets for the Eden Project for us.

There are a couple of places in the village which sell food if you cant be bothered to cook, possibly worth noting the shops in the village were all shut by 6pm. I look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rtl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Everything about this hostel is excellent, the surroundings, the staff, the facilities and the dorm. The woman who was running the place and who's name unfortunately escapes me was very pleasant and showed a genuine interest in helping the guests, of which there were few. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ebzilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

It's a pity but I only had a one night stay here. I arrived after dark, so found it a little hard to find, so if you plan to arrive after dark, check the map carefully! The hostel has excellent facilites, the self catering kitchen is great. The whole hostel was very clean, and the room I stayed in was very spacious, with great views. It was also excellent value for money. I hope to stay again (out of season) to enjoy the great walks and sceneary without the crowds. A massive thumbs up goes YHA Bostcastle's way. i also noticed that you can hire the whole hostel rather cheaply - great for a group get away.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silly_Auntie_Amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

High quality refurbishment after 2004 floods. Toilets and showers excellent. Very clean throughout. Dormitory storage space is limited but it is a hostel and you should expect that! We were well looked after by helpful staff. Secure spacious bike store. The location is excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ken s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

What an amazing location! Some twin rooms available which is good. Very clean & the facilities are excellent. Lovely walks along this part of the coastline. Friendly staff. Cannot wait to stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Esperanto-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boscastle
0.1 mi away
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
#1 of 2 in Boscastle
487 reviews
3.1 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
1,295 reviews
3.8 mi away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tintagel
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Bossiney House Hotel
Bossiney House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
184 reviews
18.3 mi away
YHA Treyarnon
YHA Treyarnon
#3 of 14 in St Merryn
165 reviews
22.7 mi away
YHA Eden Project
YHA Eden Project
#6 of 37 in St Austell
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Boscastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Boscastle

Address: Palace Stables The Harbour | Access via B3263 Tintagel to Bude road. Walk from Bridge on the B3263 towards harbour alongside River. Hostel is last building on right at top of slipway., Boscastle PL35 0HD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Boscastle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Boscastle
Price Range: £33 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Boscastle 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovely spot in a steep-sided valley on the rugged north Cornwall coast, this National Trust-owned rural retreat is on the harbour edge. Here, on your Cornish coast break, you can sit and watch this pretty, bustling fishing village come to life during the day and return to a sleepier pace in the evenings. For a more energetic activity break, you’ll also find excellent surfing and sailing plus miles of coastal footpaths to explore - great for walking holidays. It's self-catering only here, but you can get to know the locals in the nearby pubs while sampling some tasty Cornish food and local ales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your YHA Boscastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Boscastle Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing