We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 16 Boscastle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We spent 3 nights staying here back in June and had a wonderful time, we had the Crows Nest room and the views were great over the valley, our only very small criticism of this room was no blind in the bathroom and window was not frosted, easily fixed by putting hand towel over window while showering.
Heather and John were great hosts and spent time telling us about the area and things to see and do. Breakfasts were great and freshly cooked to order.
We ate in the evenings down in the main town at the Riverside which was very good, the only downside was the steep walk back up the hill afterwards. on our last night the weather was terrible so we popped next door to the Napoleon which was equally good with a great atmosphere.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExileQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeatherTheBottreaux, Manager at Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thank you for writing a review for us it is most appreciated. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us and hope you return in the future. I have taken note of your comment about the bathroom window not being frosted or a blind but with it being so high up we have never realised that it may be a problem for some of our guests so we will remedy that very soon for anyone who is not absolutely happy. Many thanks Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

For the second year running, myself and my fiance, had a exellent stay at the bottreaux , the food, service, was great, the room was really comfortable with great views, parking is no problem, and it's in the old part of boscastle, set in a great atmosphere. I strongley reccomend it!.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeatherTheBottreaux, Manager at Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thank you for writing a review for us it is most appreciated. It is so lovely for us when guests enjoy being here and then they return again. Looking forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards
Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We always love to spend time in Cornwall and we compared prices in the area and found Bottreaux to have an excellent deal of 3 nights for 2.

We had the "Crows Nest" which was incredibly clean and comfortable, not to mention that absolutely massive and extremely comfortable bed. The bathroom was very clean and very large and we wanted for nothing. It was a little bit of luxury.

Heather was always available and we were free to come and go as we had a key to the front door. Heather even photocopied a page from one of their recommended walks guide. She was a great host, very warm and inviting.

Breakfast was very nice and always tasted good. Hot toast is a perk you don't often get in a B&B.

I will be recommending Bottreaux to everyone I know, excellent accommodation.

Room Tip: "Crows Nest" and excellent room, very quiet and ample space (super kingsize bed), lovely l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClareWestoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeatherTheBottreaux, Manager at Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us it is most appreciated. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind regards Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Stayed here with friends for a weekend break, and cannot find any fault with this excellent guest house. The rooms were clean and tidy and beds very comfortable (As I am 6ft 5 tall this isn't always the case ). Hosts Heather & John were very friendly and attentive,The choice and quality of the breakfast were also very good. The lounge bar and rest areas were great for chilling out and relaxing after a long day sightseeing. There was also plenty of information on things to do and places to visit, and Heather was always happy to answer any questions or queries we might have. I would return, and am happy to recommend the Bottreaux to anyone visiting this part of the Country.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeatherTheBottreaux, Manager at Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us it is most appreciated. It was lovely to have you and your group of friends here for the weekend. Hoping to see you all in the near future. Kind regards Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

THis was our third stay at this super hotel.Heather is so welcoming and friendly as are all the staff.The bedrooms are spotless.We stayed in crows nest.The bed is very large and so comfortable.Breakfast is delicious so much to choose from.We will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeatherTheBottreaux, Manager at Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us it is most helpful for future guests who are looking at where to stay. It is so lovely to have returning guests who appreciate all we do and it is our pleasure to be of assistance and help in any way. Looking forward to seeing you next year. Kind regards
Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We recently stayed at the Bottreaux and the experience was great. The room was amazing; very comfortable and clean, we always had a good nights sleep. Heather greeted us with a warm welcome and always asked us how our day had been, her welcoming manner certainly added to the overall experience of staying in this beautiful part of the country. We will definitely return and recommend this house as a place to stay. Thank you very much.
Niam and David

Stayed: August 2013
1  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeatherTheBottreaux, Manager at Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us it is most appreciated. We are all very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us and we hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards Heather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We recently stayed at the Bottreaux for the first time. We usually stop in the lower part of Boscastle.
We found the accommodation excellent, clean and tidy.
The only slight downside was that our room "smugglers" was right next to the local pub and as the weather was hot we had to have the windows open. One night we were treat to cornish shanty songs until gone midnight.
I must stress that we were warned about this and offered a different room.
This will not be our last visit to this lovely b&b although we may choose a different room as we both need our beauty sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeatherTheBottreaux, Manager at Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us we do appreciate it. Sorry for your disturbed nights from the Napoleon Inn but next time you come we will make sure you are in a different room. Hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards Heather Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boscastle
0.4 mi away
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
#1 of 2 in Boscastle
507 reviews
3 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
1,344 reviews
3 mi away
The Avalon
The Avalon
#7 of 24 in Tintagel
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Boscastle House
Boscastle House
#9 of 16 in Boscastle
31 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Coach House
The Old Coach House
#2 of 16 in Boscastle
383 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Riverside
The Riverside
#3 of 16 in Boscastle
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Service Station Camelford Road, Boscastle PL35 0BG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Boscastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Boscastle
Hotel Class:4 star — Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lovely 200 year old building is situated within a ten minute walk through quaint cottages to the famous Elizabethan harbour. Boscastle is situated on the glorious coastline of North Cornwall and offers guests an unrivaled base to explore the very beautiful scenery and places of interest. Every bedroom is en-suite and each one is decorated individually with white linen, colour coordinated accessories and the mattresses are of the best quality. Our lounge is spacious with deep leather sofas and chairs in which to relax. Breakfast - We pride ourselves in serving delicious choices from our extensive menu offering either full English breakfast or a lighter meal, for example Smoked Salmon on scrambled free range eggs plus vegetarian options. We have a private car park for the use of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bottreaux Hotel Boscastle
Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast Boscastle, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing