We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Old Rectory St. Juliot
Ranked #8 of 16 Boscastle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just perfect!!”
Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

We have been visiting The Old Rectory for 3 years now and we absolutely love it. We can't wait to turn down that driveway to find our little haven - it's just perfect in every way. If you're looking for somewhere where you feel at home instantly, where you relax as soon as you go through the front door, then a stay at The Old Rectory is for you. Already looking forward for our next visit towards the end of the summer.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank StevieGrimmett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
100
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

In the late 1960s, studying Hardy for "A" level, I promised myself that one day I'd visit St Juliot; having waited four decades, the fact that I could stay at the place where Thomas met his first wife made my accommodation selection for me, really. Tea and home-made biscuits on arrival, and a paw-shake from Millie the dog, added to the general feeling of staying with good friends, but without ever once feeling my privacy compromised.
Emma's room, with the lovely view of the garden, was all spotless comfort and complete tranquillity, adorned with a posy of flowers fresh from the garden (quietly renewed on my second day, I noticed); the vast ensuite power shower - with instant and limitless hot water - sparkling clean as new. My hosts were welcoming and chatty without being in any way intrusive, and the convivial atmosphere around the meal table added to my enjoyment - and I'm usually a loner!

Supper of lemon sole, creamy mash, and seasonal vegetables was simply delicious, excelling in both quality and quantity; I finished with the fruit pavlova with the Rectory's own strawberries (like strawberries USED to taste) and blueberries, and regretfully had to pass on the proffered accompanying Cornish clotted cream - or pudding would have been to die OF, rather than just to die FOR.
Tea in the drawing room before sinking into a comfy bed with billowing, starched snowy-white-covered pillows ensured two of the best nights' sleep I've had in ages (and a late afternoon doze, with dappled sunshine and birdsong pouring in through the open window on a warm flower-scented breeze, proved irresistible.)

The Cornish breakfast, with meaty sausages from their own pigs, set me up for the day to the point that I needed only a snack supper. The guided tour of the garden - just bursting into giddy profusion after the longest winter in my memory - was worth the trip alone, if only for the charm of the view from "Hardy's seat" (where my romantic soul couldn't help but wonder if the lovers' first kiss might have taken place?) It was cheering to learn that the tree planted there on the day of Churchill's funeral had been joined by one planted to mark Baroness Thatcher's funeral on the day of my arrival; politics aside, it's good to see significant events in history marked in a "green" way.
Also of significance from my viewpoint - the collection of Hardy memorabilia in the Rectory's drawing-room archive, including material I'd not seen before, despite decades as a Hardy scholar and tutor, the amassing of which Chris was happy to detail; it was a delight to be left alone to dip into these files at my leisure - Hardy is not forced on you against your will, here! A very happy two-night break, one that did not disappoint after those long years of anticipation, and I left St. Juliot with genuine reluctance, and a thorough understanding of what had so bewitched Hardy's heart in this still-idyllic spot. Long may it remain so!

Room Tip: Emma's room is very spacious, and faces south, so it catches the evening sunlight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cherry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Have just returned from a wonderful stay at 'The Old Rectory', St Juliot, where we were met with a wonderful warm welcome from Sally and an amazing tour around the garden and the walled garden by Chris. We knew from the beginning this was not going to be the average stay at a B&B.

After settling in, Sally took us through to a beautifully, south-facing lounge, and answered all our questions about the house. It had been her Grandparents house, built in 1847 and had first been a property for 9 Rectors to live in and then a family home.

Sally made us feel like one of the family immediately and deftly answered our questions as she poured tea and coffee and offered us homemade biscuits.

The house is full of wonderfully evocative memorabilia, not just about the Thomas Hardy connection, but photos and watercolours of how it had looked at various times through the centuries.

Our bedroom overlooked the beautiful garden, with rhododendrons coming into bloom, behind which you had mature trees and amazing views onwards to the rolling Cornish hills.
The antique bed was lovely and soft and the duvet was wonderfully cosy, Tea and coffee facilities and biscuits were on display, and the beautiful shower room had lovely liquid shower gells...the shower was huge and easily coped with my 6'4" build! We slept amazingly and although the house was full we never heard a noise from any of our fellow guests.

Breakfast was served on a beautiful, long, antique dining table, which we shared with other guests and we were offered delicious choices of Full Cornish Breakfast, or variations on the theme, 'Cornish Rarebit' made from locally made cheese and an array of yogurts, cereals, bread and a toaster so everything was lovely and fresh. It was all delicious and beautifully cooked.

There were books and guides from all over Cornwall and Sally and Chris were a mine of information and were always on hand to answer all our questions.

'The Old Rectory' was wonderful to return to after a day of sightseeing...it was so quiet and you genuinely felt you were returning home 'Far from the Madding Crowd'. We will definitely return as it had all been such a relaxing and invigorating stay.

Room Tip: Take advantage of Sally and Chris's experience of Cornwall...it really will make your stay that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

A warm welcome awaits you at The Old Rectory. Our room was spacious and comfortable, breakfast was excellent, and the eco-friendly credentials of the establishment much in evidence. We had a lovely tour of the garden featuring pigs, ducks and chickens. Add in the connection with Emma and Thomas Hardy and excellent coastal walks and you have the makings of a memorable break.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david_warden2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2013 via mobile

The welcome from Chris , Sally, Anna and Bieron could not have been warmer. Having Mr Hardy's comfortable room overlooking the garden with modern en suite suited us perfectly. Their home cooked and home produced food is a rarity in the places we have stayed around the country... And it was delicious! We definitely recommend the full English breakfast with bacon and sausages from their own pigs!
The comfortable ambience of the house and the stunning garden make this a most excellent yet unpretentious place to stay. Chris and Sally have a wealth of local knowledge to help you enjoy Cornwall at its best.
This is the rectory where Thomas Hardy met his first wife and their story blends perfectly with the history of St Juliot.
Our thanks to the Searles .. and Millie the dog..for their generous welcome and hospitality. We shall return!

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2013

This was a long weekend to recharge the batteries and do some walking. We have stayed in two other places in Boscastle, and this was the best by far! It is a lovely house and while it has all the great mod cons like jacuzzi bath, and flat screen tv, this does not detract from the timeless feel it has. With the combination of lovely antique furniture, and local paintings and wall hangings, it makes for a wonderfully soothing and comfortable atmosphere. Also there is plenty of history with the story of Sally's Grandfather who owned the house and who was a pilot in the war, with paintings and memorabilia.

Everything was spotlessly clean and the family do everything they can to make your stay just what you want it to be, from relaxing in front of the open fire in the guest lounge, to lots of local knowledge of walks and things to do.

Finally, the food was terrific, lots of selection for breakfast, and delicious dinner meaning you can walk all day, and come back to a lovely hot meal, and then just put your feet up!

We really look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eldonovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 23 December 2012

We stayed at the Old Rectory for two nights for our tenth anniversary. We wanted something special and we were not disappointed. A beautiful house in a stunning location, even filthy weather could not put a dampener on our stay. The way the B&B is run as a family business makes sure that you feel welcome at all times of the day and the sustainably produced home reared and locally sourced food served both at breakfast and for the pre-arranged dinners were a delicious part of our stay. We would thoroughly recommend this B&B to anyone looking for great accommodation in the North Cornwall area.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonCreamTea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sally225, Owner at The Old Rectory St. Juliot, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We're glad you enjoyed the Beeny walk and peace and quiet and didn't let the winter rain dampen your spirits! Wishing you a Happy New Year and 2013. Sally and Co.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boscastle
1.7 mi away
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
#1 of 2 in Boscastle
468 reviews
4.8 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
1,250 reviews
19.5 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Riverside
The Riverside
#2 of 16 in Boscastle
546 reviews
2.7 mi away
Caroe Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast
1.8 mi away
Boscastle House
Boscastle House
#10 of 16 in Boscastle
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory St. Juliot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory St. Juliot

Property: The Old Rectory St. Juliot
Address: St Juliot, Boscastle PL35 0BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Boscastle
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Boscastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Rectory St. Juliot 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory is in a quiet and secluded area offering four luxurious en-suite rooms in a historic house with Thomas Hardy connections close to the picturesque village of Boscastle. We are surrounded by 3 acres of our mature gardens including a productive walled Victorian kitchen garden, producing fruit and vegetables for breakfast and evening meals (by arrangement). Guests can enjoy our viewing deck over looking the sea and Valency Valley. Hardy wrote he left with "Magic in his eyes" and we hope you will do the same! Dog allowed in The Old Stable Room only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Old Rectory St. Juliot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory St. Juliot Boscastle, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing