We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Rectory St. Juliot
Ranked #9 of 16 Boscastle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Wonderful food sourced from their own walled garden. Lots of local walks through the valley or along the cliffs. Sally, Anna and Chris are perfect hosts. Just like staying with friends in their own house. Beautiful location if a bit off the beaten track. So quiet all you can hear is the birds singing. OK there is an occasional tractor but this is the countryside. Optional dinner is cooked to a very high standard and very reasonable priced. Bringing your own wine saves as a fortune as well.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew_and_Anita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
There are newer reviews for The Old Rectory St. Juliot
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

We arrived at St Juliot to a most pleasant cup of tea in the conservatory, a tour of the magnificent gardens, a visit to the piglets and the most comfortable room and peaceful night imaginable. Sally and her family have a real vision and a passion for this place and it shows.
Anna's culinary skills with her fresh, sustainable, local ingredients made for a memorable dinner, and the walking maps and books were a treat. Breakfast was fabulous and the view over the valley will stick with you for ever. The cliff walk to Boscastle and back up the river was wonderful. The Old Rectory is a Masterpiece

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Canadacalling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Had a 3 night stay in Thomas Hardy room. Sally and Chris make you feel like you are staying in your home. Lovely cup of tea and homemade biscuits when you arrive. Wonderful rural setting. Fab. We were also treated to a wonderful meal, courtesy of Anna. All their food is sourced either from their own garden, or locally. They try and be as green as possible too. Millie the dog- could take her home!!!!! We really had a wonderful time.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank harrypotter055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Have stayed here several times and on arrival I said to Sally it was like 'coming home'. Really comfortable room, delicious food and on this trip the weather was good too. Sally and her family are welcoming hosts and are happy for guests to come and go during the days of their stay. The gardens are a delight. Nearby a new farm shop and cafe has opened. If you have space, after a full Cornish breakfast at The Old Rectory, the food is splendid at the cafe. Both of us returned home carrying a few more pounds! Diet a already started - again!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeoandSagittarius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

One of those places that "does exactly what it says on the tin". A very warm welcome and we were free to come and go as we pleased. Lovely big room (Emma's) with double shower and view over the garden. Plenty of choices for breakfast. It was nice to be able to get fresh milk for our drinks in the room from the fridge. If you are looking for a peaceful location not too far from Boscastle then this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: look at the website as it is accurate.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This was our second visit and from the time that we entered over the cattle grid and saw the enchanting garden and house it was breathtaking. We were immediately greeted by Sally and Milly and invited into the conservatory for tea coffee and home made biscuits. We spent 8 days in the Stables which is ideal for us with our 2 dogs, very homely and comfortable with plenty of space for the dogs. We have often travelled with our dogs and find it difficult to exercise them and keep them cool in hot weather. Staying here we can walk the dogs on leads straight from the house around the extensive gardens, the dogs loved seeing the baby pigs and enjoyed morning and evening walks. There is a cool shady spot where we parked the car and the dogs relaxed in the car while we enjoyed a relaxed leisurely breakfast. We were lucky enough to stay for 8 days this year and enjoyed the sumptuous breakfasts and evening meals. Anna excelled herself with delicious evening meals and even managed to deliver sugar free puddings, crumbles and custard and fruit sundaes for me which was amazing as being diabetic I often have to go without a dessert at most restaurants. Many thanks to Sally Chris and Anna for another relaxing holiday in their beautiful home, we can't wait to come back next year.

Room Tip: The Old Stables are ideal for dog owners being partly tiled and at the back of the house where there...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janetcovacic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This was our 3rd stay,it was as wonderful as the first. The greeting from Sally,Chris and Anna
felt as though you were being welcomed by long lost friends. Tea,home made shortbread and warm conversation to begin our stay,what more could you ask for! We have stayed in Emma's room and the Rector's room,both are very comfortable, the furnishings make it feel like you have stepped back to the days when
life was so much more tranquil but with all the mod cons. The breakfasts would keep you going all day. The walks from the Rectory were
a delight,rolling hills,stunning cliff tops and beautiful scenery. Boscastle, one and a half miles away,can be reached by walking through the stunning Valency valley. If you want a break with all of this,then its the place to go!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garneta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boscastle
1.7 mi away
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
#1 of 2 in Boscastle
487 reviews
4.8 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
1,299 reviews
4.8 mi away
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
#4 of 6 in Tintagel
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Riverside
The Riverside
#3 of 16 in Boscastle
569 reviews
2.7 mi away
Caroe Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast
2.0 mi away
The Old Parsonage
The Old Parsonage
#6 of 16 in Boscastle
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory St. Juliot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory St. Juliot

Address: St Juliot, Boscastle PL35 0BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Boscastle
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Boscastle
Price Range: £75 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Rectory St. Juliot 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory is in a quiet and secluded area offering four luxurious en-suite rooms in a historic house with Thomas Hardy connections close to the picturesque village of Boscastle. We are surrounded by 3 acres of our mature gardens including a productive walled Victorian kitchen garden, producing fruit and vegetables for breakfast and evening meals (by arrangement). Guests can enjoy our viewing deck over looking the sea and Valency Valley. Hardy wrote he left with "Magic in his eyes" and we hope you will do the same! Dog allowed in The Old Stable Room only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your The Old Rectory St. Juliot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory St. Juliot Boscastle, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing