We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cafe in nice location!”

National Trust Cafe
Ranked #8 of 17 Restaurants in Boscastle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Great cafe in nice location!”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We visited on a very sunny afternoon after returning from Tintagel. It was very busy in Boscastle but the cafe was actually a bit quiet which meant we'd have chance of getting a seat. We weren't sure about the selection, mushroom soup and some of the sandwich choices didn't appeal. Therefore cream tea for 2 it was!

The staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient, so much better than any other National trust cafe I've been too which usually involves a chaotic lunch service and lots of queuing. The clotted cream was properly refrigerated and the scones were fresh, couldn't have asked for a better cream tea! I don't mind a takeaway tea cup but tea is always better to drink tea out of china. National trust cafes are a little expensive but actually felt it wasn't bad considering the food and drinks were nice and the service was excellent.

We sat outside, where the staff brought out our warmed up scones. Nice little area to sit and people can bring their dogs too. It was a bit breezy though so we nearly lost our paper plates and serviettes a few times!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1066girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    73
    31
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely place for a cup of coffee.”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Lovely place to have a cup of coffee ( and a bit of cake if you're so tempted). Nice little courtyard area, full of plants for sale, to sit in and enjoy the sunshine over a first class cup of coffee. Friendly staff added to the pleasure

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ianeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boscastle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A Boscastle "must visit"!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Probably the nicest National Trust Cafe I've been to. Very nice, friendly & efficient staff, good quality food and drinks. Dog friendly. There is also a well stocked shop, together with an area showing video footage of the horrifying 2004 Boscastle flood.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kayelef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camelford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hurray for tea in a china cup”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Popped in on Friday with my husband and dog, which we often do. We had a lovely cup of tea, I do agree with everyone is, it would have been nicer served as a pot of tea. I mentioned this to the young lady serving, Emma I think her name was and she poured me another tea in a china cup - thank you :o)))))

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Terrible and very expensive for what we had!......must do better N.T !”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stopped by for lunch, had a cream tea, slice of cake and two coffees. Scone was not fresh, cake was not fresh and had to be sent back ( when I did, the woman who served it to me earlier said, "yes, I thought it was past it's best".....and then asked her colleague to take it off the counter. Why serve it to me if she knew it was past it's best????). The coffees were served in paper cups, which felt cheap and nasty.....but were not at £2.60 a cup,! .....atrocious experience and one not to return to ....or to recommend on here!....disappointed National Trust!!...must do better!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Trust Cafe also viewed

 

Been to National Trust Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing