We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wait, but worth it”
Review of Sails Cafe - CLOSED

Sails Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Highchairs Available
Description: Sold up and under new ownership under a new name, thank you to all our loyal customers for your custom.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A wait, but worth it”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

As a party of six we arrived early afternoon and decided that we would stop at Sails for a bite to eat. The café was very busy including a small coach party of German tourists. There is seating outside, but the day we visited it was rather chilly. We still managed to find a couple of tables and the staff asked us to hold on whilst they cleaned up. Most of us ordered a pasty, after all we were in Cornwall, and its the law !! We were told that we would have to wait a quarter of an hour, as the pasty's were still in the oven. The staff were very friendly and it was nice to be told that there would be a wait instead of just being left there wondering where the food was. When the food arrived it was a small portion, but don't be fooled it was plenty. The pasty was worth the wait and in fact we had to give it a few minutes as it had just come out of the oven.
The café is nice and clean, and if you are on a stop off well worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sails-Cafe C, Manager at Sails Cafe, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
That was a crazy busy day, so glad you enjoyed our efforts, thank you for taking the time to leave such lovely feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    38
    17
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brackley
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not as good as expected.”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

I gave it four stars because it was reasonable value and the service was good and cheerful.
However in view of the mainly excellent reviews I think a more detailed criticism is justified.
My chicken parmigiani was OK, seemingly based on a breaded chicken fillet (presumably frozen), with a topping of a  tomato sauce and cheese.
The hand cut skin-on chips seem a bit controversial. I've no problem with skin on but if you do skin-on chips I think you still need to ensure there are no black bits in the potatoes and there should still be an attempt to make them crisp. Mine were soggy and had lots of blackened areas.
My wife's tuna bake was a bit dry and needed more sauce but the garlic bread was excellent.
So come on Sails. A bit more attention to detail and you would be in the five star category, rather than "you get what you pay for".
If I was looking for lunch in Boscastle tomorrow I would probably look around else where rather than coming straight back

Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bude, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quality food at reasonable prices”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I decided to eat at Sails Cafe for our evening meal. We couldn't decide what to have so the friendly owner helped choose. My husband opted for the chilli dog and chips and I the chicken Parmigiana and chips. The meals arrived promptly and we were very pleasantly surprised at the generous portion size for the reasonable cost. Both meals came with side salad and homemade coleslaw. We thoroughly enjoyed our meals, so much so that we decided to sqeeze in a dessert, which was equally as tasty!
Would thoroughly recommend to anyone visiting Boscastle, especially budget conscious families that want reasonable priced food but dont want to compromise on quality!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rf19822014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sails-Cafe C, Manager at Sails Cafe, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Wow!

Thank you for your kind words, we are delighted to have made such a great impression, we hope you hurry back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect for lunch”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We called in at Boscastle hoping to find a cafe for lunch and spotted Sails. What a find! Friendly, clean, good selection of home cooked food at good value for money. My girls are still talking about the 'foot long hot dog' with chilli, chips and cheese. Generous portions, tasty Davidstowe cheese and tea that you can taste. So glad we had walked off quite a few calories before our visit!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lynbo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sails-Cafe C, Manager at Sails Cafe, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, we are so happy that you enjoyed your visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Well worth a bite to eat here”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Really friendly and welcoming staff, nothing was too much trouble and they made a lunch time bite a well worth stop off.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allinette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sails-Cafe C, Manager at Sails Cafe, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review, we are so glad you enjoyed what we do!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sails Cafe also viewed

 
Boscastle, Cornwall
Boscastle, Cornwall
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing