We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view to enjoy a cream tea”

Boscastle Farm Shop
Ranked #2 of 18 Restaurants in Boscastle
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We sat outside overlooking the stunning coastline. Such a lovely view and peaceful setting.
We had a cream tea which was 2 scones each and lovely clotted cream and jam with big strawberries in! We then took a little walk out of the back of the shop to the cliff, overlooking a cove, spotted a seal hunting down there which was great to see!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Lu123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoscastleFarmShop, Owner at Boscastle Farm Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

We are glad you enjoyed your cream tea! It's a perfect place to enjoy such a treat. Thanks for taking the time to post a review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (975)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

811 - 815 of 975 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed in a cottage in Boscastle just down the road and popped in on our second day of the holiday - we liked it so much we came back twice more! The outdoor seating behind the shop is ideal for dog owners like ourselves as the tables aren't too close together and you do not feel like you are in anyone's way. The view out over the sea is breathtaking especially in the lovely weather we had last week and we could have stayed all day. As vegetarians we don't always have much of an option on menus but we were very happy with the Homity Pie and Cheese and Onion pasties both of which were delicious and had plenty of lovely fresh salad with them too.
We also went in the shop to buy a few things take home and found plenty of choice and great quality.The staff were all very friendly and polite on all our visits and even remembered us on our second and third visits :) .We will definitely come again next time we are lucky enough to be in the area. Thank You.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank julia_rigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoscastleFarmShop, Owner at Boscastle Farm Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you Julia, we are glad you had such lovely weather during your visit, it really is a lovely place for dog walking and we are glad you found us a dog friendly place. Unlike what some may expect from a beef farm, we pride ourselves on our vegetarian options also, ensuring there are exciting options on our menu for all.
Come rain or shine the views are breathtaking and the staff always have smiles on their faces.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Treated to lunch by my lovely Dad ,my husband and I enjoyed locally smoked salmon sandwiches,a ploughmans with delicious local cheeses, a fisherman's ploughmans -both with freshly baked bread and all washed down with delicious house white and local Duloe lemonade!
Dad was so impressed with the food, views and friendly staff that we had to purchase some excellent Red Ruby steaks to take home to Launceston! Can't rate this marvelous place highly enough! A must for holiday visits and us locals!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoscastleFarmShop, Owner at Boscastle Farm Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

We are so glad you and your Dad enjoyed your visit. I am sure the steaks you took home were fantastic also. We have such great local produce on our doorstep it makes such simple meals like a ploughman's taste so great. Hopefully we may see you again soon. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We didn't know that this place was there, but we were driving along, saw the sign, it was lunchtime, so we thought we'd stop. We're very glad that we did - it turned out to be a very serendipitous discovery!

This isn't one of those places that has a hundred different options on the menu, each corresponding to a bland, pre-prepared mass-made packet in the freezer that they heat up for you. Instead, there was a lovely, varied selection of proper home-made food on offer, with something for everybody. It took us quite a while to decide what to have, but personal preferences aside, I don't think we could have made a bad choice anyway.

This is a rare, traditional place that reminds you of just how good proper British food can still be, despite the march of the chain pubs and fast-food joints which, whilst often perfectly OK, leave no lasting impression on you, having met the basic requirements of your human need for sustenance.

There's a decent-sized car park and, from the outside, it looks like an unassuming barn, but the decor and atmosphere inside were very pleasant indeed. Everything about the place made it abundantly clear that the owners cared and took a real pride in their business. They could probably get enough passing one-off trade even if it was mediocre, but that most definitely is not their style.

You can often tell a lot about a the ethos of an eating establishment by the toilets and these were spotless, with posh soap and moisturisers on offer, as well as a very good baby-change facility.

There are plenty of tables inside and outside (roomy and not at all cramped), including different options for children - high chairs and booster seats. There isn't the normal kids' fare of chicken nuggets or turkey dinosaurs (boo hoo!), but there are several specific options for the children; although I expect a lot would also find something they liked on the main menu or specials board. And they (like their parents!) would certainly love the selection of home-made cakes and several flavours of truly delicious creamy ice-cream.

The table service is a nice touch and the wait for the food very reasonable (bearing in mind it isn't a chain fast-food joint with the food sitting there going cold before you've even ordered it).

The food was very tasty and really satisfying. The portions were very generous and you'd have to have rather large hands to be able to hold a chunk of excellent home-made bread in just one! (and, unusually, this came with more than enough proper butter, served just soft enough to spread straightaway).

All of the staff were very friendly and efficient, without making you feel at all rushed. We genuinely felt like valued customers and that the price that we paid was extremely reasonable for the amount and quality of food that we'd had. We barely needed anything else for the entire rest of the day!

We definitely plan to return next time we're in north Cornwall and would highly recommend it to anybody. Our one disappointment: it's 200 miles away from where we live; otherwise it would become our regular local haunt without a doubt!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MidlandMan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoscastleFarmShop, Owner at Boscastle Farm Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review, it's very kind of you to take the time. We are so pleased you understood our ethos and recognised the effort we go to in order to stock our shop and cafe with excellent quality, locally sourced, homemade, real food. We are passionate about our business, a love of the country side that surrounds it , and real pride in what we do. It's lovely to hear that you enjoyed your visits to us. We hope you get to visit this beautiful area soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

What a great addition to Boscastle. This farm shop offers really good food which is great value and served by efficient, cheerful staff. Plenty of tables, inside and outside. Blankets available for outside if needed. Ample free parking and on the walking route between Boscastle and Crackington.

Thank LeoandSagittarius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoscastleFarmShop, Owner at Boscastle Farm Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit. We are pleased you found the staff friendly and the place welcoming. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boscastle Farm Shop also viewed

 

Been to Boscastle Farm Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing