We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising quality of food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wellington Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Boscastle
Certificate of Excellence
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Surprising quality of food”
Reviewed 22 February 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

North Cornwall needs a top restaurant. I visited the Wellington for the first time- it was advertising a new chef. It was a bit quiet in the middle of a wet winter but there was a real fire and they have obviously thought hard about dining room decoration. I had the duck confit with pickled vegetables which was excellent. Excellent quirky service full of character,

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    142
    34
    11
    9
See reviews for
82
261
27
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Camborne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Stayed there for my boyfriends birthday, absolutely lovely. From the service to the room to the food to the choices and decor and friendliness. Couldn't fault it. We had an evening meal and breakfast which both were perfect. Would definitely recommend it and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed for a short break the week before Christmas. It was really quiet in Boscastle and surrounding spectacular Cornish coast. We had not been here for some years and it was good to re-acquaint ourselves. We cannot fault the hotel staff for their friendliness and courtesy. Nothing was too much trouble. Comfortable quiet room (23) that needs refurbishment in the bathroom but was none the less good enough. Just one thing, in the guest lounge there is a good open fire, but the seating is so very hard and uncomfortable, you cannot sit in there for long. Really cannot fault the cooked breakfast, was just splendid after spending the previous evening in the local pub, the Cobweb. Which is very atmospheric with great real ales. All told, a really good relaxing break at the Wellington.

Room Tip: Watch out for the ghosts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonnieNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

With Kit Davis in plac as Head Chef one can be assured that the cuisine will be excellent and on our first visit we were not let down. As always Kit and his Team served an outstanding fine dining experience at an very reasonable price. The menu and wine list will suit almost everyone taste.

The only thing which let's down the overall experience of staying at the Wellington is the accommodation it self which was found to be rather poor and outdated.

We'll done Kit, sorry I couldn't award 5 stars but the hotel is a little bit of a let down. We will definitely dine with you again but we will look for alternative accommodation unless reassured changes have been made.

Best regards
Richard & Gillian.

Room Tip: Look at the room before you commit to more than one nights stay. Talk to the Head Chef as he is v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhodopsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durrington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here last weekend, a surprise break, staying in one of the tower rooms. The hotel looks fabulous from the outside, and this is matched fully on the inside. Reception is a bit utilitarian, but the rest of the hotel is, well, fabulous. Well designed, tastefully furnished without being twee, very comfortable, with plenty of quiet places to relax in comfort. The staff were universally friendly and efficient, and seemed to enjoy what they were doing.
The food was simply excellent. The choice was small - always a good sign, I think - and what we had was cooked to perfection. It was also served quickly, efficiently and unobtrusively.
The room itself was huge, with a bed to match, and was comfortably furnished and clean, with everything working just as it should.
Outside, there is a garden and beyond that are a number of woodland walks, one of which leads to the Artists Chair - which gives terrific views down the harbour to the sea.
The price was low for the level of accommodation, and we can't find a single negative about the place.
We will come back to the Wellington in the Spring, hoping for better weather and a bit more green. We will probably return in the Summer and Autumn too, just because.
We truly recommend this hotel to anybody wanting a quiet, comfortable, relaxing, scenic break with the bonus of wonderful food.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We've just had a delicious 3 course meal in the bar at the Wellington. The food was fantastic - pickled pear, cambozola and spiced walnut salad followed by chicken and chorizo stir fry and orange cheesecake . Each course was wonderful. The staff are very welcoming and friendly, came to the pub quiz last night and had great fun. The beer is very good and dogs welcome!

Room Tip: We didn't stay so can only review the food and service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobsterWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Well positioned, clean and comfortable. Staff friendly restaurant excellent. Only downside was the restaurant was closed on the Monday of our visit which we didn't know about. However, plenty of other places to eat in the village.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RandS688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boscastle
3.1 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
1,248 reviews
3.7 mi away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tintagel
117 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bossiney House Hotel
Bossiney House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Hebasca
Hebasca
#1 of 9 in Bude
614 reviews
13.1 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
940 reviews
24.7 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wellington Hotel

Property: The Wellington Hotel
Address: The Harbour, Boscastle PL35 0AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Boscastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Boscastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wellington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the harbour in the Cornish fishing village of Boscastle and surrounded by the beautiful North Cornwall coastline, the Wellington Hotel has benn providing a warm welcome to its guests for many years. A Listed 16th Century Coaching Inn, the Hotel has 14 bedrooms, a traditional pub serving Cornish real ales and home cooked food and a fantastic 2 AA rosette restaurant. There are 10 acres of private woodland walks and the Hotel is in an ideal location for walking the Coastal Path and for discovering Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel Boscastle
The Wellington Hotel Boscastle, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing