We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fine restaurant food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Wellington Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Boscastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This is a review solely of the restaurant. Having dined a The Wellington many times before it never disappoints. The service is always impeccable, friendly and not overly formal and the setting comfortable with good views out to the harbor and hills. The meal is good value for money and includes an amuse bouche and pre-desert so be prepared to be very full! As vegetarians we are well catered for: We had an asparagus starter, and as a main fried polenta, goats cheese and spring vegetables, of which I particularly appreciated the ransom (wild garlic) oil element which was subtly done. All this was washed down with a very fresh tasting bottle of prosecco that I can recommend.

We managed desert, both of which were surprisingly good (orange cheesecake and a rhubarb tart). Coffee is freshly ground and comes with delicious petit fours (the freshly made chewy honey comb was particularly good). All in all some of the best dinning available in this area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 509 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel a few times now and returning again in May with are dog staff are very friendly and helpfull very clean hotel and food great and location excellent .
We will be using this hotel again in the near future well reccomended .

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Pauldillon1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stopped in for dinner and without reading any reviews were just expecting your average pub food menu but what we got certainly wasn't standard pub grub. The quality of the food was outstanding, proper restaurant food. Beautifully baked bread, tasty cured meats and the Eton mess dessert was the best I've ever had. What made the experience even better was the exceptional service we received. Both staff members were so friendly, accommodating and knowledgeable. Would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olivia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Our room was very clean and comfortable, and rather roomy for a British hotel! The food was also excellent. I had read reviews on Hotels.com and Trip Advisor that mentioned the quality of the restaurant. Unfortunately, either they didn't mention the level of formality (and level of price) or I missed it. Basically, the restaurant was much classier than we are - we should have eaten at the bar instead! However, it was delicious, if a bit more formal than the places we normally frequent, particularly following a day of climbing the cliffs in Cornwall!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tmoore48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed for 2 nights for husbands birthday, just us and the dog who was made very welcome with dog towel, bowl and biscuit left in the room which was a lovely touch. We stayed in room 14 in the turret which has great big windows all round, a real sense of history, huge bed and nice en suite with separate shower and bath. The staff at the hotel were fantastic and always so helpful, the food was superb - we had the set dinner in the restaurant which whilst meant to be 3 courses was actually 5 as little extras were brought between meals. I'm coeliac so allergic to gluten but nothing was too much trouble. Food was pricey but excellent so felt good value. Location is great being right down the bottom near the harbour and shops. Beautiful village.
Would definitely stay again and would recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zmrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JSWellington, Owner at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thanks for your review. We read every review whether positive or not and, although we do not respond to each one, we appreciate the feedback. Our daughter is Coeliac and we understand the difficulties associated with eating out. We are therefore working hard at being able to offer one of the best gluten free menus in Cornwall. Our use of freshly cooked local produce means that we can cater for most dietary requirements on the day. However, with a bit of notice, our Chef will happily provide something special - as often requested by my daughter!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

My wife treated me to a stay at The Wellington for my birthday in April, we have visited Boscastle many times, staying often in the vicinity, this was our first time at The Wellington. We shall certainly be returning.
All of the staff were friendly and welcoming, but not in the least overbearing, the room was one of the best I have ever stayed in, (at the top of the turret) and the food was superb.
We both felt thoroughly spoiled and welcome at this lovely comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ferrari296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We were given a gift of bed breakfast and evening meal at the hotel of our choice and picked the Wellington added another day and it was lovely all staff were friendly and helpful the hotel was clean, bed was so comfy and the 3 course evening meal was lovely they have a good chef which is a must these days all in all lovely

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 128Wendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boscastle
3.1 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
1,355 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
#4 of 6 in Tintagel
287 reviews
8.8 mi away
Port Gaverne Hotel
Port Gaverne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Gaverne
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
The Slipway B & B
The Slipway B & B
#3 of 4 in Port Isaac
439 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bossiney House Hotel
Bossiney House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
193 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wellington Hotel

Address: The Harbour, Boscastle PL35 0AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Boscastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Boscastle
Price Range: £83 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wellington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the harbour in the Cornish fishing village of Boscastle and surrounded by the beautiful North Cornwall coastline, the Wellington Hotel has benn providing a warm welcome to its guests for many years. A Listed 16th Century Coaching Inn, the Hotel has 14 bedrooms, a traditional pub serving Cornish real ales and home cooked food and a fantastic 2 AA rosette restaurant. There are 10 acres of private woodland walks and the Hotel is in an ideal location for walking the Coastal Path and for discovering Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel Boscastle
The Wellington Hotel Boscastle, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing