We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Algotels
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Daniela K

Magical Hotel with a Princess Tower

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Apr 2024
We had a wonderful time at The Wellington in Boscastle. The people were lovely, the food fantastic, and our tower room very cute. I was amazed by the British Design of the hotel - it was very authentic. The hotel is perfectly located in a small town surrounded by overwhelming nature and a lot of magic (The Museum of witchcraft, crystal stores, etc). I'd love to come back on the day. ... and I loved the fluffy cushions.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
St Austell Brewery, Marketing at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 12 Apr 2024
Hi Daniela,
Thank you for your review of The Wellington Hotel.
We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us, reviews like this give us motivation and help us ensure we provide high-quality care.
All feedback is greatly appreciated, and we love to hear that guests have enjoyed their visit.
We’re looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kindest regards,
The Welly Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
eDreams
  • Vio.com
  • Lol.travel
0.3 miles from The Wellington Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.3 miles from The Wellington Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.0 miles from The Wellington Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
0.0 miles from The Wellington Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.4 miles from The Wellington Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.1 miles from The Wellington Hotel
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
4.4 miles from The Wellington Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Picture of B&B, The Old Rectory.
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
1.6 miles from The Wellington Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lana Barry Lodge
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
4.3 miles from The Wellington Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Bed
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    £74
  • eDreams
1.5 miles from The Wellington Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Boscastle
Reviews (891)
Filter reviews
891 results
Traveller rating
555
214
61
35
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
555
214
61
35
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews turret room mussels folk songs booked a table single room staff were so friendly lovely hotel hardy room pudding sunday lunch visiting boscastle lovely room well worth a visit cannot fault high standard the pub excellent food
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 891 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2024

We stayed in one of the apartments in the water mill, which is opposite the main hotel.
Huge main room with kitchen/dining and lounge. Cosy, very comfortable double room and nice large bathroom (there was another bedroom with bunk beds if needed). All of the staff were excellent, there was a good menu and the food was great. We really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norton J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
St Austell Brewery, Marketing at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2024

Hi Norton J,

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review for your recent visit to The Wellington Hotel.
We always strive to deliver a great experience for our guests . We're very pleased you enjoyed the apartment and food.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards,
The Welly Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2024 via mobile

A beautiful old hotel we have enjoyed visiting over the years but unfortunately we had a disappointing evening this time. Our party of 8 had a very slow evening meal with no communication from staff over potential waiting times or problems. The meals were tasty but some were not hot. We were however refunded some of our bill at the end of the evening.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank MarieB854
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
St Austell Brewery, Marketing at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2024

Hi Marieb854,
We appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves.
We regret that you had a negative experience, and will use this as an opportunity to improve.
Kindest regards,
The Welly Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2024

This hotel is absolutely lovely. From the first phone call I made to book a room (we ended up staying for 3 nights) the lady who took the booking was so accommodating. We came with our dog and upon arrival she was catered for with a cute bag with doggy treats, poo bags etc. Breakfast every morning was delicious. We ate in the restaurant for 2 nights and the food was amazing with an interesting and well thought through menu.
The highlight of our stay however was the discovery of a nail in one of the beams on the ceiling of our room. (Room 10). On a windy, rainy day whilst deciding what to do with ourselves we ended up playing ‘ping the hairband onto the nail’. It took a while but we managed to each get a hairband on the nail! We have left them in situ and we challenge the next occupants the same game!!!! Good luck and have fun!
All staff have been fantastic. Thank you for a really lovely stay.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amymollieandevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
St Austell Brewery, Marketing at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2024

Amymollieandevie, thank you for your review of The Wellington Hotel.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and had fun in spite of the rain.
All feedback is greatly appreciated, and we love to hear that guests have enjoyed their visit.
We’re looking forward to welcoming you all back soon.
Kindest regards,

The Welly Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2024

The restaurant seating was a little strange. All the hanging pictures had been removed from the wall. The staff were great. The food was good. 5 stars for the steak. 3 stars for the whiting. Parking was poor. Got it if you were lucky. We were lucky.

Room tip: Book ahead. Parking is very limited.
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
St Austell Brewery, Marketing at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2024

Hi A L,

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review for your recent visit to The Wellington Hotel.
We had an art exhibition which was removed, we now have our own pictures on the walls to replace them.
Our parking is limited due to our position in the village.
We encourage you to get in touch to discuss your feedback on the whiting.
We always strive to deliver a great experience for our guests and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kindest regards,
The Welly Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2024

We loved this historic hotel. Our turret room was big and the bed huge and comfortable. There were bathrobes and a good shower. plus comfortable chairs. We slept soundly.

The included breakfast was excellent in a lovely airy room. Fresh croissants and coffee in a cafetiere accompanied our full Cornish. Having had an excellent meal in the restaurant the previous night we were not surprised by the good food.

All the staff were great and really friendly, offering advice on the area and where to go next. Special shout out to Karen who was so helpful.

Will definitely return.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
St Austell Brewery, Marketing at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2024

Thank you for leaving The Wellington Hotel a review!
We are all delighted you enjoyed dinner and breakfast, and karen send her best wishes.
We hope you had a great visit and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kindest regards,

The Welly Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews