We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to stay!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lower Meadows House
Ranked #4 of 16 Boscastle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Normally when we go to Cornwall we would stay in a caravan, however this year we opted for a B&B as we wanted to try something different. I cannot complement Lower Meadows enough. We stayed for two nights and booked two rooms which cost £224. The rooms were clean, spacious and very comforting. There is a tv with freeview available in the room. They also provided us with plenty of sachets including many varieties of tea, coffee and hot chocolate. On top of that was a bottle of Cornish spring water, a packet of Cornish fudge and a mini packet of biscuits each. They also provided bathroom essentials such as body wash, face and hand wash and a shower cap. The rooms have an en- suite with a shower, toilet, and sink, all of which worked fine and had no problems with. The rooms are cleaned every morning and used towels are washed and replaced with new ones.The hosts, Anne and Adrian were spectacular! They were very warm and welcoming during our stay and made it feel like home. There is plenty of choice for breakfast whether it be: toast, cereal and fruit or a full English, to which you can choose what you wish to have. They also provide a vegetarian breakfast. Drinks that are served at breakfast are orange juice and tea, which is also optional. Breakfast is served in the conservatory which has a lovely view and feels very homely. The full English breakfast is generously served and is of a very high standard. Absolutely delicious! Opposite Lower Meadows is the Cobwebb Inn which is a free house pub where you can eat in the evenings so you don't have to travel anywhere. There is a guest lounge which is available for you to use, which has three sofas and a tv. It also provides a rack of leaflets and brochures for places to visit in Cornwall. Internet connection is available, however it is most effective when situated in the guest lounge. There is free private parking available on location. Overall an absolutely fantastic stay, we have already planned to stay there again next year. Thank you Anne and Adrian!! OUTSTANDING!

Room Tip: Room 5 is a large double room on the front and a little noisy. Room 4 has two single beds and is on...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
There are newer reviews for Lower Meadows House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2013

This was our first visit to Cornwall and we needed a base to explore the surrounding towns from. Boscastle fitted this criteria perfectly and Lower Meadows was our accommodation choice.
We were extremely happy with the spacious room, very comfortable bed & high standard of cleanliness throughout the property. The breakfasts are both generous & delicious served in a conservatory overlooking a lovely courtyard garden.
Our hosts, Anne & Adrian made us feel welcome & are very informative, able to answer all our questions.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

I don't often write reviews but my husband and I were so impressed with the value for money; location and standards of lower meadows I felt the need to.

I frequently use hotels but felt that because of the type of holiday that I was on that it would be more in keeping to stay in a local centrally based guest house. I was not disappointed by my choice and the standard that Anne and Adrian offer has certainly encouraged me to consider this type of accommodation again in the future.
We stayed for 5 nights and found it an excellent base for discovering the north of Cornwall. Boscastle offers an excellent selections of pubs and restaurants, all just a stones throw from lower meadows which is ideal after a day out and about.
The rooms were fresh and well equipped with home comforts, including cornish fudge! Breakfast was of a very high standard.
Would like to thank Anne and Adrian again for their hospitality and look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheBlakes_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

This B & B is in an excellent location right in the heart of Boscastle and as we were attending a family wedding we needed to be staying close to the transport pick up point for church/reception etc. Anne is welcoming and obliging. Car parking is available. The breakfasts were of a good standard and freshly cooked. The accommodation is very clean. We had two rooms and so our three day stay was quite expensive (£454). In view of this I was rather surprised that despite how cold the weather was when we were staying the heating only came on about tea time and took ages to heat up the rooms. The TV lounge was also rather cold. Our bathroom was cold and draughty. The shower in our bathroom was inadequate. The water flow was poor and it took ages to heat up. On one occasion it did not work at all - on enquiry I was told that since the hosts had just had a bath there was no water flow and that it would work now! On another occasion, in mid shower, the water just stopped flowing! In retrospect I think that maybe we should have booked a hotel but options in the lower part of Boscastle are limited - the tariff at the Wellington Hotel would have been slightly dearer so I guess you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne-Adrian, Owner at Lower Meadows House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

We thank you for taking the time to review your families stay, we are really sorry your visit fell below your expectations and would have welcomed the opportunity to correct your concerns at the time. We can confirm the water flow has been addressed and acknowledge the weather was exceedingly cold. We really apologise we didn't ensure the heating was on constant and will take care to ensure this happens in the future if guests decide to stay in during the day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

This is our second stay at Lower Meadows and will definitely be back again next year. It's perfectly situated a couple of hundred yards from the scenic harbour (with the amazing Museum of Witchcraft) and right opposite the Cobweb Inn.
Adrian and Anne give a warm Cornish welcome, the rooms are spacious and clean (room 2 has a nice balcony) and the breakfast... Fantastic. Certainly deserves the best breakfast award displayed in the hallway. Great for vegetarians too as they do a wonderful veggie breakfast as well as their (all locally sourced) full English. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveF_600_Ki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Lower Meadows is in a very good position close to all the facilities Boscastle has to offer, with private parking. Our stay was in one of the smaller double rooms at the front of the property, the room was very clean with a comfortable bed assuring you of a good night’s sleep, good WiFi connection, tea & coffee making facilities, including some very nice fudge on arrival. Breakfast, I had the full English, which was very well prepared and made for a good start to the day.
Anne and Adrian are both friendly and welcoming and helpful if you require assistance with any problems you may have (they put me in touch with the local garage when the car suffered a puncture).
We had a very pleasant stay, so I would be very happy to recommend Lower Meadows to people visiting Boscastle in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mulch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Perfect location directly in Boscastle - near harbour, restaurants and shops - central but quiet. Cosy nicely decorated and clean room - water, fudge and biscuits provided at arrival in addition to very nice selection of teas, coffee and hot chocolate in the room. Warm welcome from Anne and Adrian - great selection for breakfast - nothing left to wish for!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boscastle
0.1 mi away
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
#1 of 2 in Boscastle
487 reviews
3.2 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
1,296 reviews
3.8 mi away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tintagel
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Riverside
The Riverside
#3 of 16 in Boscastle
569 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Old Coach House
The Old Coach House
#2 of 16 in Boscastle
382 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Old Parsonage
The Old Parsonage
#6 of 16 in Boscastle
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lower Meadows House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lower Meadows House

Address: Penally Hill, Boscastle PL35 0HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Boscastle
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Boscastle
Price Range: £88 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lower Meadows House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime, lower village location, with ample parking, ideal for the historic harbour, dramatic coastal path, unique inns/restaurants and quaint shops . We offer perfect accommodation, a warm welcome and relaxing stay. We pride ourselves on attention to detail from fresh crisp linen through to fresh local produce at breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lower Meadows House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lower Meadows House Boscastle, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing