We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lower Meadows House
Ranked #4 of 16 Boscastle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“FANTASTIC...”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is a great hotel in a fantastic location. Paul and Jackie are very welcoming and helpful and the rooms are very clean and exceptionally well appointed. The breakfast choice and quality is also excellent. Having parking on site is very useful in this small village. As a regular visitor to Cornwall I would definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel without reservation. Thanks Paul and Jackie - Brian

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
67
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Lower Meadows on our way home from Parr in Cornwall. We are long time visitors and lovers of Boscastle, but usually only stay for the day.
Last year we decided to enjoy our time a bit more and stay overnight. Regrettably the stay was not what we hoped for, with a very controlling B&B owner and despite the place being very pleasant as a building, we couldn't wait to leave.
As a result we where somewhat apprehensive as to what we would find this time .
We need not have worried, as Paul and his wife could not have been more welcoming or attentive. Nothing was too much trouble, be it offering to chill our wine or accommodating my gluten free needs !
The room was clean and bright and the veranda an ideal place to relax after dinner.

Lower Meadows is very central, being situated right next to the local stores and seconds from all the main attractions.
breakfast is extemely comprehensive covering all bases from vegetarian to fish to meat eaters.( and small children with a love of Marmite!)
All in all a very enjoyable stay highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scorpiomurtlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

A warm welcome by excellent hosts. Very clean and comfortable, excellent breakfast. A great location in the heart of the village with ample parking. A regular visitor to Boscastle, but the first stay here. I will definitely book again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrissiePenzance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Paul & Jackie the new owners were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The room was exceptionally clean with a comfortable bed and great shower. There was a good choice at breakfast with local produce. It was also very useful to be able to park at the house. We would definitely stay again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadway, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2014

A wonderful short stay at a beautiful location - the price, room and hospitality were excellent. Our room was clean, cosy and bright and the bed very comfortable! A great night's sleep. The hosts made us feel straight at home and were most attentive.

The locally sourced breakfast was fresh, tasty and set us up for the day!

We will definitely be staying again and have already recommended Lower Meadows to our friends and family.

Thank you Paul and Jackie!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea_Mark2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We have stayed at Lower Meadows for a number of years and if your staying in the area it can not be bettered in our view. Ann and Adrian are lovely, welcoming and friendly hosts who will help in any way to make your stay memorable. For a B&B the rooms are well equiped and all very clean. The area is outstanding in its beauty and the coastal path is only 300mts away so leave your car in their car park and walk for miles.

Room Tip: The more expensive rooms are slightly larger for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parko79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Everything was perfect in our opinion: the hospitality, the food, the room, the price and the location. We stayed in the twin room for a few nights and it was very relaxing. It was a lovely welcome and a friendly goodbye. I definitely recommend Lower Meadows, you will enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boscastle hotels
0.1 mi away
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
#1 of 2 in Boscastle
460 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Riverside
The Riverside
#2 of 16 in Boscastle
537 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Old Coach House
The Old Coach House
#1 of 16 in Boscastle
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Boscastle House
Boscastle House
#11 of 16 in Boscastle
19 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tregatherall Lodge
Tregatherall Lodge
#8 of 16 in Boscastle
53 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lower Meadows House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lower Meadows House

Property: Lower Meadows House
Address: Penally Hill, Boscastle PL35 0HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Boscastle
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Boscastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lower Meadows House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime, lower village location, with ample parking, ideal for the historic harbour, dramatic coastal path, unique inns/restaurants and quaint shops . We offer perfect accommodation, a warm welcome and relaxing stay. We pride ourselves on attention to detail from fresh crisp linen through to fresh local produce at breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Lower Meadows House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lower Meadows House Boscastle, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing